Artur Żmijewski

Artur Żmijewski, Erasing (2016), six gravestones from removed/demolished German cemeteries in Wrocław, Poland, six videos, color, sound, 2:17–3:41 min. each, courtesy Foksal Gallery Foundation, Galerie Peter Kilchmann

What is the place of art in the world? What, if anything, can we expect of it? Does art have any real goals or impact on reality? Artur Żmijewski, born in Warsaw in 1966, responds to these questions by defining and adopting places, formulating his expectations, and determining his goals. Bertolt Brecht had faith in the power of montage—in juxtapositions that shatter our certainties, mock authority, and author the impossible. Żmijewski has faith in the power of such a clash.

Initially, his work probed areas culturally out of bounds, forgotten, or repressed. He pulled no punches in addressing such themes when showing the peculiar, multiped, and multiheaded hybrids in An Eye for An Eye (1998)—in which the bodies of amputees are complemented by “healthy” ones. There’s no euphemistic glossing over in Singing Lesson 2 (2003)—a recording of one of Bach’s magnificent cantatas performed by a deaf-mute choir. In 80064 (2004), the artist persuaded a former prisoner of Auschwitz-Birkenau to retouch his faded concentration camp number tattoo.

In his manifesto “Applied Social Arts” (2007), Żmijewski criticizes art’s exaltation, self-satisfaction, and alienation, its amnesia and its wasted potential. He insists that art be a partner for both politics and science, as it has social impact, produces cognition, and has the potential to effect change. He postulates replacing the “virus” theory of art—according to which art produces events “that ‘infect’ various parts of the social system just like viruses infect an organism”—with the constructive method of art as an algorithm that will take the “system from the initial to the desired end phase.”1

As practiced by Żmijewski, this formula relies on the artist setting up a situation that will develop according to the dynamics of the participants. His Repetition (2005) replicates Philip Zimbardo’s 1971 experiment in which volunteers were divided into guards and prisoners and placed in a fictitious prison. In Them (2007), he confronts proponents of four different worldviews, triggering a visual and verbal debate on fundamental social problems.

Whether classified as “social experiments” or “staged documentaries,” these clashing activities are intended, on the one hand, to jolt participants out of their customary reactions and identifications, but on the other—as an algorithm—to achieve a specific (artistic) effect. Controversial and discomfiting, Żmijewski’s works certainly prove a discussion-provoking cognitive tool. At times, they operate like seismographs—sensitive to minute tremors and displacements, they identify and record them, presaging the approaching quakes.

—Marta Dziewańska

1 Artur Żmijewski, “Applied Social Arts,” Krytyka Polityczna 11–12 (2007).

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related
by Artur Żmijewski

The makeshift refugee camp in Calais, in the vicinity of the French port and hulking concrete bunkers, was known as the Jungle. According to different estimates, it gave shelter to nine or ten thousand…

 More
Notes

A Confession of Love

by Artur Żmijewski

On 25 October 2015, Polish parliamentary elections were won decisively by the Law and Justice (PiS) party. A few months earlier, in May of last year, the party’s candidate Andrzej Duda won the presidential…

 More
Notes

Artur Żmijewski

Artur Żmijewski, Erasing (2016), sechs Grabsteine von verschwundenen/zerstörten deutschen Friedhöfen in Wrocław, sechs Videos, Farbe, Ton, 2:17–3:41 Min., courtesy Foksal Gallery Foundation, Galerie Peter Kilchmann

Welchen Platz nimmt die Kunst in der Welt ein? Können wir etwas von ihr erwarten und wenn ja, was? Hat Kunst reale Ziele, hat sie Auswirkungen auf die Realität? Artur Żmijewski, 1966 in Warschau geboren, beantwortet diese Fragen, indem er Plätze definiert und sich aneignet, indem er seine Erwartungen formuliert und Ziele festlegt. Bertolt Brecht glaubte an die Macht der Montage – an Gegenüberstellungen, die Gewissheiten ins Wanken bringen, Autorität verspotten und das Unmögliche bewirken. Żmijewski glaubt an die Macht solcher Konfrontationen.

Anfangs setzte sich der Künstler mit kulturell tabuisierten, vergessenen oder verdrängten Themen auseinander. Er tat dies ohne jede Beschönigung, etwa mit den sonderbaren mehrbeinigen und mehrköpfigen Mischwesen in Auge um Auge (1998) – einer Fotoserie, in der die Körper von Amputierten durch „gesunde“ Körper vervollständigt wurden. Auch Gesangsstunde 2 (2003) – die Aufnahme einer der großartigen Kantaten von Bach, gesungen von einem Gehörlosenchor – verzichtete auf euphemistische Verbrämungen. In 80064 (2004) wiederum überzeugte der Künstler einen ehemaligen Insassen des KZ Auschwitz-Birkenau, die verblasste Tätowierung seiner Lagernummer zu erneuern.

In seinem Manifest „Applied Social Arts“ (Angewandte Gesellschaftskunst, 2007) kritisiert Żmijewski die Überhöhung, Selbstzufriedenheit und Entfremdung der Kunst ebenso wie ihre Amnesie und ihr vergeudetes Potenzial. Er beharrt darauf, dass Kunst ein Partner für Politik und Wissenschaft sein müsse, da sie soziale Auswirkungen habe, Erkenntnisse schaffe und Veränderungen bewirken könne. Er schlägt vor, die „Virus“-Theorie der Kunst – Kunst schafft Ereignisse, die verschiedene Teile des Gesellschaftssystems „infizieren“, ähnlich wie Viren einen Organismus – durch einen konstruktiven Ansatz zu ersetzen, der Kunst als Algorithmus versteht, der das „System von einem bestimmten Anfangszustand zum gewünschten Endzustand“ führt.1

In Żmijewskis künstlerischer Praxis bedeutet dies, dass der Künstler eine Situation schafft, die sich durch die Dynamik der Teilnehmenden entwickelt. Repetition (2005) wiederholt Philip Zimbardos Experiment aus dem Jahr 1971, in dem Freiwillige in Wärter und Gefangene eingeteilt und in ein fiktives Gefängnis versetzt wurden. In Them (2007) konfrontiert der Künstler die Vertreter_innen von vier unterschiedlichen Weltanschauungen und stößt damit eine visuelle und verbale Debatte zu grundlegenden sozialen Problemen an.

„Soziale Experimente“ oder „inszenierte Dokumentationen“ – Ziel dieser konfrontativen Projekte ist es, die Teilnehmer_innen aus ihren gewohnten Reaktions- und Identifikationsmustern zu reißen. Gleichzeitig soll – im Sinne eines Algorithmus – eine bestimmte (künstlerische) Wirkung erzielt werden. Żmijewskis kontroverse, beunruhigende Arbeiten sind zweifellos Erkenntniswerkzeuge, die zu Diskussionen anregen. Zuweilen sind sie wie Seismografen, die winzige Erschütterungen und Verschiebungen wahrnehmen und aufzeichnen und so das bevorstehende Beben ankündigen.

— Marta Dziewańska

1 Artur Żmijewski, „Applied Social Arts“, in: Krytyka Polityczna, 11–12, 2007.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge
von Artur Żmijewski

Das improvisierte Flüchtlingslager in Calais nahe dem Hafen und dem Strand mit den massiven Betonbunkern kannte man als den „Dschungel“. Gemäß Schätzungen soll es zwischen neun- und zehntausend…

 Mehr
Notizen

Eine Liebeserklärung

von Artur Żmijewski

Am 25. Oktober 2015 entschied die Partei Recht und Gerechtigkeit (PiS) die Parlamentswahlen in Polen klar für sich. Ein paar Monate früher bereits, im Mai letzten Jahres, hatte Andrzej Duda, ein Kandidat…

 Mehr
Notizen