Irena Haiduk

Irena Haiduk, Tomas Lov Radi, Kapitel (Thomas Love working, capital) (2016), gelatin silver print, 55 × 44 cm, photo: David Bornscheuer

Irena Haiduk, Tomas Lov Radi, Zov Sirena (Thomas Love Working, Siren Call), 2017. Thomas Love is wearing the Yugoform, manufactured by Yugoexport and consisting of the ABW (Army of Beautiful Women) pattern #2 dress, Borosana labor shoes, and book Seductive Exacting Realism by Marcel Proust 12. documenta 14, Athens, photo: David Bornscheuer

Irena Haiduk, Spinal Discipline, 2016–, walking performance, Neue Neue Galerie (Neue Hauptpost), Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

On January 14, 2015, Irena Haiduk met with her Serbian compatriot Srđa Popović at Harvard University. This former leader of the Otpor! student movement, which helped depose Slobodan Milošević in 2000, now heads the consultancy Canvas (Center for Applied Non-Violent Action and Strategies), founded in 2003. The artist, born in Belgrade in 1982, walked the consultant from Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government, where Popović lectures, to the Carpenter Center, where the university’s art department is housed. There they spoke, gradually establishing a correspondence between consultancy and (Western) art. The interview was recorded, transcribed, edited, and rerecorded with two female voices that masked the interlocutors’ (Eastern European) accents. The resulting sound work, to be heard in darkness, became the centerpiece of Seductive Exacting Realism (SER) (2015). And like all true realism, this art shaped reality. Thereafter, Haiduk knew if she was to incorporate it was best done in the U.S., where corporations are people.

About nine months later, Yugoexport was born. Blind, non-aligned, and modeled after the self-managed factories and experimental clubs of the former Yugoslavia, she is alive and growing. As part of this process of incorporation, existing works by Haiduk take on new dimensions. Two such works bookend the presence of Yugoexport at documenta 14: Nine Hour Delay begins in Athens and spreads to Kassel, where the aforementioned SER is installed. Nine Hour Delay (dated 2012–58) defers the disappearance of Yugoslavia by putting the Yugoslav Borovo factory in Vukovar (now Croatia) to work to produce enough black Borosana shoes to outfit the entire female workforce of the bi-located exhibition. Shoes with superior arch support, developed by Borovo’s own women workers over the course of nine years to guarantee nine hours of comfortable standing labor, demonstrate Yugoexport’s founding motto: “How to surround yourself with things in the right way.

The story of this oral corporation shadows the territory of the Via Militaris, an army and trade route dating back to 33 AD and snaking through Thracia, Dacia, and Macedonia, from Constantinople to Singidunum, now Belgrade. En route, through the use of remaining Yugoslav infrastructure and of talents that hark back to the time before nations, things are being made for an army of beautiful women. They move with poise and comfort. Cities they cross become catwalks and assembly lines. And there are also lines etched into marble and spoken with the precision of Siri to guide the way. Forward to the ancient definition of heroism: the equivalence of word and deed.

—Monika Szewczyk

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Spinal Discipline

by Irena Haiduk

How to surround yourself with things in the right way—in accordance with Yugoexport’s founding maxim, these women’s elegant movements turn the city into a runway and a production line.

 More
Calendar

Members of the Army of Beautiful Women Read the In-corporation Documents of Yugoexport

by Irena Haiduk

Each Friday, as night falls, a member of the Army of Beautiful Women reads aloud in Greek from the in-corporation documents of Yugoexport, demonstrating the full use of this oral corporation’s principles.

 More
Calendar

Borosana Shoe Issue

with Irena Haiduk

Yugoexport is a “blind non-aligned oral corporation” established by documenta 14 artist Irena Haiduk in 2015. Incorporated in the United States (where corporations are people), launched in Paris and…

 More
Calendar

#34 The Epic of Eleftheria

by Irena Haiduk and Eirini Vakalopoulou

In the East and Far East, the South, deep South, the other side of North, and the Far and the Deep West, history is mostly an oral technique. The poet is a witness. She records and weaves history and allows…

 More
Calendar

d14 Sessions #5

with Monika Szewczyk and Irena Haiduk

The future of Europe as a present. During this session, students are invited to make a present together. A present for the composer Fredric Rzewski in the form of a recorded conversation. Rzewski is an…

 More
Calendar

Irena Haiduk

Irena Haiduk, Tomas Lov Radi, Kapitel (Thomas Love Working, Capital) (2016), Silbergelatineabzug, 55 × 44 cm, Foto: David Bornscheuer

Irena Haiduk, Tomas Lov Radi, Zov Sirena (Thomas Love Working, Siren Call), 2017. Thomas Love trägt die Yugoform, gefertigt von Yugoexport und bestehend aus dem ABW (Army of Beautiful Women) Kleid Muster Nr. 2, Borosana Arbeitsschuhe und das Buch Seductive Exacting Realism by Marcel Proust 12. documenta 14, Athen, Foto: David Bornscheuer

Irena Haiduk, Spinal Discipline, 2016–, Spazier-Performance, Neue Neue Galerie (Neue Hauptpost), Kassel, documenta 14, Foto: Mathias Völzke

Am 14. Januar 2015 traf Irena Haiduk an der Harvard University mit ihrem serbischen Landsmann Srđa Popović zusammen. Der ehemalige Anführer der Studentenbewegung Otpor!, die im Jahr 2000 Slobodan Miloševićs Absetzung herbeiführte, leitet heute das 2003 gegründete Beratungsunternehmen Canvas (Zentrum für angewandte gewaltlose Aktion und Strategien). Die 1982 in Belgrad geborene Künstlerin begleitete den Berater von der Harvard Kennedy School of Government, wo Popović Vorlesungen hält, zum Carpenter Center, wo sich die Kunstabteilung der Universität befindet. In ihrem Gespräch kristallisierte sich sukzessive eine Übereinstimmung zwischen Beraten und (westlicher) Kunst heraus. Das Interview wurde aufgezeichnet, transkribiert, redigiert und mit zwei Sprecherinnen erneut aufgenommen, um den (osteuropäischen) Akzent der beiden Gesprächspartner zu kaschieren. Das daraus resultierende – in einem dunklen Raum zu hörende – Audiostück bildet den Kern von Seductive Exacting Realism (SER) (2015). Und wie jeder echte Realismus hat auch dieses Kunstwerk die Realität geformt. Danach wusste Haiduk: Wenn sie ein Unternehmen gründen würde, dann in den USA, wo Menschen Unternehmen sind.

Etwa neun Monate später erblickte Yugoexport das Licht der Welt: blind, blockfrei und den selbstverwalteten Fabriken und experimentellen Klubs des ehemaligen Jugoslawien nachempfunden. Yugoexport ist gesund und munter und wächst unaufhörlich. Im Zuge dieser Gründung nehmen auch frühere Arbeiten Haiduks neue Dimensionen an. Zwei dieser Werke bilden den Rahmen für die Präsentation von Yugoexport bei der documenta 14: Nine Hour Delay startet in Athen und macht sich auf nach Kassel, wo das zuvor bereits erwähnte SER zu sehen ist. Nine Hour Delay (datiert auf 2012–2058) zögert das Verschwinden Jugoslawiens hinaus: Es lässt die jugoslawische Fabrik Borovo in Vukovar (heute kroatisch) schwarze Borosana-Schuhe in ausreichender Zahl produzieren, um das weibliche Personal beider Ausstellungsorte damit auszustatten. Das Schuhmodell – es unterstützt das Fußgewölbe optimal und wurde von den Arbeiterinnen des Betriebs in neun Jahren entwickelt, um ein bequemes Stehen bei der Arbeit über neun Stunden hinweg zu ermöglichen – symbolisiert das Gründungsmotto von Yugoexport: „Wie man sich richtig mit Dingen umgibt.“

Die Geschichte dieses mündlichen Unternehmens folgt der Via Militaris, einer antiken Militär- und Handelsroute, deren Anfänge auf das Jahr 33 n. Chr. zurückgehen und die von Konstantinopel über Thrakien, Dakien und Makedonien bis nach Singidunum, die antike Vorläuferstadt des heutigen Belgrad, führte. Unterwegs entstehen, dank verbliebener jugoslawischer Infrastruktur und mithilfe von Talenten aus einer Zeit, als es noch keine Nationen gab, Objekte für eine ganze Armee schöner Frauen. Selbstsicherheit und Komfort zeichnen ihre Bewegungen aus. Die Städte, die sie durchqueren, verwandeln sich in Laufstege und Fließbänder. In Marmor geätzte und mit Siri’scher Deutlichkeit gesprochene Worte weisen den Weg. Immer vorwärts, hin zur antiken Definition von Heroismus – als Entsprechung von Wort und Tat.

— Monika Szewczyk

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Spinal Discipline

von Irena Haiduk

Wie umgibt man sich auf rechte Weise mit Dingen – gemäß der Grundsatzmaxime von Yugoexport, werden die eleganten Bewegungen dieser Frauen die Stadt in einen Laufsteg und eine Fertigungsstraße verwandeln…

 Mehr
Kalender

Members of the Army of Beautiful Women Read the In-corporation Documents of Yugoexport

von Irena Haiduk

Ein Mitglied der Armee der Wunderschönen Frauen trägt die Yugoform-Schuhe, die von Yugoexport hergestellt werden, liest laut auf Griechisch vor und macht weidlich Gebrauch von den Gründungsdokumenten…

 Mehr
Kalender

Borosana Shoe Issue

mit Irena Haiduk

Yugoexport ist ein „blindes, blockfreies, mündliches Unternehmen“, das von der documenta 14 Künstlerin Irena Haiduk 2015 gegründet wurde. In den USA (wo Unternehmen Personen sind) handelsgerichtlich…

 Mehr
Kalender

#34 The Epic of Eleftheria

von Irena Haiduk und Eirini Vakalopoulou

Im Osten und Fernen Osten, im Süden und im tiefen Süden, jenseits des Nordens und im fernen, tiefen Westen ist Geschichte hauptsächlich eine mündliche Kulturtechnik. Die Dichterin ist Zeugin. Sie hält…

 Mehr
Kalender

d14 Sessions #5

mit Monika Szewczyk und Irena Haiduk

Die Zukunft Europas als ein Gegebenes. In dieser Session sind die Teilnehmer_innen eingeladen, gemeinsam ein Geschenk zu fabrizieren: ein Geschenk für den Komponisten Fredric Rzewski in Form eines aufgenommenen…

 Mehr
Kalender