Collective Exhibition for a Single Body

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, performance, Archaeological Museum of Piraeus, documenta 14

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body is proposed by documenta 14 curator Pierre Bal-Blanc in collaboration with the Greek choreographer Kostas Tsioukas, and performers and dancers Myrto Kontoni and Tassos Koukoutas. A body is dissected into distinct parts, as in an anatomical study. Each part, limb, muscle, or organ becomes the medium of an action overseen by the curator and the choreographer and created by a selection of documenta 14 participating artists who work in a variety of disciplines. The proposed gestures are translated into scores and performed by three dancers among the visitors to the museum in an aleatory fashion, continuously repeated.

Scores by Pierre Bal-Blanc, Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Yael Davids, Maria Eichhorn, Anna Halprin, Maria Hassabi, David Lamelas, Prinz Gholam, Ashley Hans Scheirl, Kostas Tsioukas, Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan), Lois Weinberger, and Artur Żmijewski (2017)

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, performance, Archaeological Museum of Piraeus, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, performance, Archaeological Museum of Piraeus, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, performance, Archaeological Museum of Piraeus, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, performance, Archaeological Museum of Piraeus, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, performance, Archaeological Museum of Piraeus, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body
Pierre Bal-Blanc, Athens, August 2015
(Score based on an earlier version from 2011)

A body is dissected into distinct parts, as in an anatomical study.

Each part (limb, muscle, or organ) becomes the medium of an action overseen by a supervisor and created by different invited authors. The authors can use the same limbs, muscles, body parts, or organs (arms, torso, fingers, legs, genitals, eyes, etc.) and their function (to speak, press, swallow, spit, etc.); the supervisor should, however, see to it that the entire body is used and the maximum variety of actions undertaken. Authors do not consult each other. The supervisor is responsible for determining the combination of gestures. Each author must determine a gesture or action (simple or complex) and transcribe it as a score. Each action should be reversible. Gestures or actions can subvert the normative behavior of the body in public, but they must also aim to demonstrate the perverse character of the norm itself, as society imposes it on the body.

Each score should already exist or be conceived as an independent entity; its duration or repetition should not be excessive so as not to exceed the duration of the other scores (when executed independently, as the project allows in certain circumstances, the action can be executed indefinitely). The number of authors is not limited; the higher the number, however, the more difficult it becomes to memorize all the gestures, which, in turn, requires engaging qualified persons to execute them. The series of gestures that make up Collective Exhibition for a Single Body should not be performed one time alone, but should be repeated at least once during the performance. Each performer whose body serves as the medium in which the project takes place (dancer, life model, actor, or individual) must be capable of following the score from memory. Gestures or actions should be easy enough for anyone to perform. In the case of amateur performers, however, the number of scores can be limited. Amateur performers can thus choose an extract of the exhibition and arrange the chosen scores in an alternative order as they wish.

When Collective Exhibition for a Single Body is staged in an interior or exterior public space by an unlimited number of paid professional or amateur performers (dancers, life models, actors, etc.), the performance should either take into account or resist the given context; and can take place within fixed parameters or follow a given schedule and itinerary. In all cases, performance should happen among the audience in an aleatory fashion; during each performance, the supervisor should make sure that the tempo remains aleatory, appearances unpremeditated, and the repetition continuous.

The project is planned to be premiered or presented and commented in an anatomical theater or in a comparable configuration. This special public performance will entail as many persons performing each gesture, at a slow pace, as there are contributing authors. Each member of the group, aligned in a row, a circle, or otherwise, will take turns performing her gesture. Finally, a member of each sex will perform the entire series of gestures from beginning to end (the entire group are then free to perform the succession of gestures, in entirety or in part and at varying speeds, while progressively putting their clothes back on, if they are naked, and eventually mixing with the audience).

Persons who have learned the various gestures or actions can perform Collective Exhibition for a Single Body in part or entirety, naked or dressed, in exchange for a fee, in the case of a commission in an interior or exterior public space by a third party, or alternatively, wherever they please, on a voluntary basis. As with the “premiere,” performers can perform the gestures or actions in their entirety and/or in succession or simultaneously with others who alternatively perform a single gesture by each author, in which case the combinations can in principle be long in duration. In cases where the score is made available to the public, participants are free to adapt it as they wish, in the form of a contamination of gestures.

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body is also presented in the form of a general score, which also provides a general explanation of the project. The exhibition is composed of a set of scores for individual gestures or actions classified by author in a given order, which nevertheless remains open to other combinations. The score can include written, visual, or time-based notation. Each gesture or action can be presented as a separate performance, in which case information on the author and the context of the collective exhibition from which it originates should be made available.

The performance of each Collective Exhibition for a Single Body can be subsequently restaged either by engaging performers or freely by anyone; in both cases information on the authors and the context in which the exhibition was conceived should be given.

The number of Collective Exhibitions for a Single Body is not limited; each exhibition should, however, vary as much as possible in the choice of authors, who should document the exhibition in the form of a published score, to be made available to anyone.

The first presentation of Collective Exhibition for a Single Body has been realized in the frame of documenta 14 and performed every Friday to Sunday from 12 to 2:30 pm at the Archaeological Museum of Piraeus from April 6 to July 16. From June 8 to September 17, 2017, all scores are presented at the Museum für Sepulkralkultur in Kassel together with material related to the performance.

Curated by Pierre Bal-Blanc with the assistance of Eleni Riga and Lou Forster. Commissioned by documenta 14 and coproduced by the Kadist Foundation and Kontakt: The Art Collection of Erste Group and Erste Foundation.

Posted in Notes on 08.29.2017
Related

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body
Pierre Bal-Blanc, Athens, August 2015
(Score based on an earlier version from 2011)

A body is dissected into distinct parts, as in an anatomical study.

Each part (limb…

 More

Isadora Duncan and Nelly’s

by Kostas Tsioukas, Myrto Kontoni, and Tassos Koukoutas

Lecture performance by Kostas Tsioukas, Myrto Kontoni, and Tassos Koukoutas, with the students of the Duncan Dance Research Center

Introduction by Penelope Iliaskou, Director of the Duncan Dance Research…

 More
Calendar

Croquis & Agaceries D’un Gros Bonhomme En Bois / Collective Exhibition for a Single Body

with Pierre Bal-Blanc, Myrto Kontoni, Tassos Koukoutas, Beata Pincetic, and Kostas Tsioukas

Croquis & Agaceries D’un Gros Bonhomme En Bois (Sketch and Teasing of a Big Wooden Man) is inspired by the eponymous piano piece by Erik Satie (1866–1925) and is followed by a commented ballet…

 More
Calendar

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body

with Pierre Bal-Blanc, Kostas Tsioukas, Myrto Kontoni, and Tassos Koukoutas

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body is a proposal by documenta 14 curator Pierre Bal-Blanc in collaboration with the Greek choreographer Kostas Tsioukas and the dancers and performers Myrto Kontoni…

 More
Calendar
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, Performance, Archäologisches Museum Piräus, documenta 14

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body wurde von Pierre Bal-Blanc, einem der Kuratoren der documenta 14, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem griechischen Choreographen Kostas Tsioukas sowie den Performern und Tänzern Myrto Kontoni und Tassos Koukoutas entwickelt. Wie in einer anatomischen Studie wird ein Körper in seine Einzelteile zerlegt. Jedes Teil, jedes Körperglied, jeder Muskel, jedes Organ wird zum Medium einer Aktion unter der Leitung des Kurators und des Choreographen und von einer Auswahl der Künstler_innen der documenta 14, die in verschiedenen künstlerischen Disziplinen tätig sind, geschaffen. Die vorgeschlagenen Gesten werden in Partituren übersetzt und von drei Tänzer_innen aufgeführt. Dies geschieht inmitten der Museumsbesucher_innen und wird auf aleatorische Weise ständig wiederholt.

Partituren von Pierre Bal-Blanc, Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Yael Davids, Maria Eichhorn, Anna Halprin, Maria Hassabi, David Lamelas, Prinz Gholam, Ashley Hans Scheirl, Kostas Tsioukas, Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan), Lois Weinberger und Artur Żmijewski (2017)

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, Performance, Archäologisches Museum Piräus, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, Performance, Archäologisches Museum Piräus, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, Performance, Archäologisches Museum Piräus, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, Performance, Archäologisches Museum Piräus, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body, Performance, Archäologisches Museum Piräus, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body
Pierre Bal-Blanc, Athen, August 2015
(Partitur basierend auf einer früheren Version aus dem Jahr 2011)

Ein Körper wird in seine Einzelteile zerlegt, wie in einer anatomischen Studie.

Jedes Teil (Körperglied, Muskel oder Organ) wird zum Medium einer Aktion unter der Leitung eines Supervisors und von verschiedenen eingeladenen Autor_innen geschaffen. Die Autor_innen können dieselben Körperglieder, Muskeln, Körperteile oder Organe (Arme, Rumpf, Finger, Beine, Genitalien, Augen, usw.) und deren Funktionen (Sprechen, Drücken, Schlucken, Spucken, usw.) verwenden; der Supervisor sollte jedoch darauf achten, dass der gesamte Körper verwendet wird und eine möglichst große Vielfalt an Aktionen durchgeführt wird. Die Autor_innen besprechen sich nicht untereinander. Der Supervisor ist für die Festlegung der Kombination der Gesten verantwortlich. Jede Autorin muss eine Geste oder eine Aktion (einfach oder komplex) festlegen und in eine Partitur umsetzen. Jede Aktion sollte umkehrbar sein. Gesten oder Aktionen können das normative Verhalten des Körpers in der Öffentlichkeit unterlaufen, ihr Ziel muss aber sein, den perversen Charakter der Norm selbst darzustellen, die die Gesellschaft dem Körper auferlegt.

Jede Partitur sollte bereits als unabhängige Einheit existieren oder als solche konzipiert werden; ihre Dauer oder Wiederholung sollte nicht zu viel Zeit einnehmen, damit die Dauer der anderen Partituren nicht überschritten wird (werden diese selbstständig aufgeführt, wie es in dem Projekt unter gewissen Umständen möglich ist, kann die Aktion unbegrenzt durchgeführt werden). Die Anzahl der Autor_innen ist nicht begrenzt; je mehr Autor_innen jedoch teilnehmen, desto schwieriger wird es, sich alle Gesten einzuprägen, so dass dann für die Darstellung dieser Gesten qualifizierte Personen nötig sind. Die Abfolge der Gesten, aus denen Collective Exhibition for a Single Body besteht, sollte nicht nur einmal dargestellt werden, sondern mindestens einmal während jeder Aufführung wiederholt werden. Jede Performerin, dessen Körper als Medium für das Projekt dient (Tänzer_in, Modell, Schauspieler_in oder Einzelperson) muss in der Lage sein, der Partitur aus dem Gedächtnis zu folgen. Gesten oder Aktionen sollten für jeden leicht darzustellen sein. Bei Amateurdarsteller_innen kann die Anzahl der Partituren jedoch begrenzt werden. Amateurdarsteller_innen können so einen Auszug aus der Ausstellung auswählen und die gewählten Partituren nach ihren Vorstellungen in einer alternativen Reihenfolge anordnen.

Wenn Collective Exhibition for a Single Body in einem Innenraum oder unter freiem Himmel öffentlich von einer unbegrenzten Anzahl bezahlter professioneller Darsteller_innen oder Amateurdarsteller_innen (Tänzer_in, Modell, Schauspieler_in, usw.) aufgeführt wird, sollte die Aufführung die bestehende Umgebung entweder berücksichtigen oder ein Gegenstück dazu bilden; sie kann innerhalb festgelegter Parameter stattfinden oder einem vorgegebenen Plan oder Ablauf folgen. In jedem Fall sollte die Aufführung inmitten der Zuschauer_innen in aleatorischer Reihenfolge stattfinden; bei jeder Aufführung sollte der Supervisor sicherstellen, dass das Tempo aleatorisch bleibt, die Auftritte nicht vorbereitet sind und die Aufführung ständig wiederholt wird.

Das Projekt soll in einem Anatomischen Theater oder einer vergleichbaren Einrichtung uraufgeführt oder vorgestellt und kommentiert werden. Diese besondere öffentliche Aufführung umfasst so viele Personen, die die einzelnen Gesten bedächtig darstellen, wie Autor_innen mitgewirkt haben. Jedes Mitglied der Gruppe, die in einer Reihe, im Kreis oder auf andere Weise aufgestellt ist, führt der Reihe nach seine Geste vor. Abschließend führt ein Mitglied jeden Geschlechts die gesamte Reihe von Gesten vom Anfang bis zum Ende vor (der komplette Gruppe steht es frei, die Abfolge der Gesten ganz oder teilweise in unterschiedlichen Geschwindigkeiten darzustellen, während sie nach und nach ihre Kleidung wieder anziehen, falls sie unbekleidet sind, und sich schließlich unter das Publikum mischen).

Personen, die die verschiedenen Gesten oder Aktionen erlernt haben, können Collective Exhibition for a Single Body ganz oder teilweise, bekleidet oder unbekleidet, aufführen, gegen eine Gebühr, falls es sich um eine Beauftragung durch Dritte in öffentlichen Innenräumen oder auf öffentlichen Außenplätzen handelt, oder alternativ, wann immer sie möchten, auf freiwilliger Basis. Was die „Premiere“ anbelangt, können Performer_innen die Gesten oder Aktionen entweder vollständig und/oder der Reihe nach oder gleichzeitig mit anderen, die alternativ eine einzelne Geste von den jeweiligen Autor_innen aufführen, darstellen; in diesem Fall können die Kombinationen prinzipiell länger dauern. In Fällen, wo die Partitur der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht wird, können die Teilnehmer_innen sie nach ihren Wünschen verändern, in Form einer Verunreinigung der Gesten.

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body wird auch in Form einer allgemeinen Partitur vorgetragen, die auch eine allgemeine Erläuterung des Projekts enthält. Die Ausstellung besteht aus einer Reihe von Partituren für die einzelnen Gesten oder Aktionen, die von der Autorin in eine feste Reihenfolge klassifiziert werden, die aber dennoch offen für andere Kombinationen bleibt. Die Partitur kann schriftliche, optische oder zeitbasierte Notation beinhalten. Jede Geste oder Aktion kann als eine separate Performance aufgeführt werden, bei der dann Informationen zum Autor und zum Kontext der gesamten Ausstellung, aus der sie jeweils stammt, zur Verfügung stehen sollten. Jede Performance von Collective Exhibition for a Single Body kann später entweder von den teilnehmenden Performer_innen oder umsonst von jedermann wieder aufgeführt werden, wobei in beiden Fällen Informationen zu den Autor_innen und dem Kontext, in dem die Ausstellung konzipiert wurde, erhältlich sein sollte.

Die Anzahl von Collective Exhibitions for a Single Body ist unbegrenzt; jede Ausstellung sollte, jedoch, so viel wie möglich in der Auswahl der Autor_innen variieren, die die Ausstellung in Form einer veröffentlichten, für jeden zugänglichen Partitur dokumentieren sollten.

Die erste Präsentation von Collective Exhibition for a Single Body wurde im Rahmen der documenta 14 realisiert und vom 6. April bis 16. Juli 2017 freitags bis sonntags zwischen 12 und 14: 30 Uhr im Archäologischen Museum Piräus aufgeführt. Vom 8. Juni bis 17. September 2017 werden alle Partituren zusammen mit Material, das mit der Performance in Verbindung steht, im Museum für Sepulkralkultur in Kassel präsentiert.

Kuratiert von Pierre Bal-Blanc mit Unterstützung durch Eleni Riga und Lou Forster. In Auftrag gegeben durch die documenta 14 und koproduziert von der Kadist Foundation und Kontakt: The Art Collection of Erste Group and Erste Foundation.

Gepostet in Notizen am 29.08.2017
Verwandte Einträge

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body
Pierre Bal-Blanc, Athen, August 2015
(Partitur basierend auf einer früheren Version aus dem Jahr 2011)

Ein Körper wird in seine Einzelteile zerlegt, wie in einer…

 Mehr

Isadora Duncan and Nelly’s

von Kostas Tsioukas, Myrto Kontoni und Tassos Koukoutas

Vortrag und Performance von Kostas Tsioukas, Myrto Kontoni und Tassos Koukoutas mit den Schüler_innen des Duncan-Zentrums für Tanzforschung

Einführung von Penelope Iliaskou, Direktorin des Zentrums

 Mehr
Kalender

Croquis & Agaceries D’un Gros Bonhomme En Bois / Collective Exhibition for a Single Body

mit Pierre Bal-Blanc, Myrto Kontoni, Tassos Koukoutas, Beata Pincetic und Kostas Tsioukas

Croquis & Agaceries D’un Gros Bonhomme En Bois ist vom gleichnamigen Klavierstück von Erik Satie (1866–1925) inspiriert. Im Anschluss folgt eine kommentierte Ballettaufführung mit den Student_innen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body

mit Pierre Bal-Blanc, Kostas Tsioukas, Myrto Kontoni und Tassos Koukoutas

Collective Exhibition for a Single Body ist eine Arbeit, die Pierre Bal-Blanc, einer der Kuratoren der documenta 14, zusammen mit dem griechischen Choreografen Kostas Tsioukas und den Tänzer_innen und…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.