The Apatride Society of the Political Others: Piraeus Port as Entry Point of Global Capitalism
with Sandro Mezzadra, Brett Neilson, and Pavlos Hatzopoulos

JAN
14

The Apatride Society of the Political Others invites you to an evening of talks and discussions with Sandro Mezzadra and Brett Neilson about the impact of financial capitalism and logistics within the movement of goods and human bodies in the Mediterranean. After years of research on the proliferation of borders as a characteristic of contemporary global capitalism, Mezzadra and Neilson currently focus on the ongoing transformation of Piraeus Port after a concession agreement with the Chinese state-owned company COSCO. At Parko Eleftherias, in dialogue with Pavlos Hatzopoulos, they will explore the concept of a new mobility paradigm enabled by the so-called logistics revolution of the 1960s and epitomized by the port as a crucial site of neocolonial production, as well as the image of containers as crucial units of contemporary global movements of capital and labor.

7–9 pm
Logistics, Extraction, and Finance in Contemporary Capitalism
Sandro Mezzadra and Brett Neilson discuss their forthcoming book The Politics of Operations.

9–10:30 pm
Bodies, Machines, Infrastructures: The Port of Piraeus After the COSCO Concession
Discussion
With Sandro Mezzadra, Brett Neilson, and Pavlos Hatzopoulos
During the debate there will also be a presentation of the video game Cargonauts, created by Anna Lascari and Ilias Marmaras as part of the “Logistical Worlds Project”.

Cargonauts, Creative Commons Licence 4.0, 2015

Sandro Mezzadra teaches Political Theory at the University of Bologna and is one of the founders of the website “EuroNomade”. His widely recognized research specializes on the critique of border management, migration, the postcolonial condition, and the transformation of society within contemporary capitalism. Mezzadra lives and works in Rome.

Brett Neilson is a professor at the Institute for Culture and Society, Western Sydney University. His extensive research and writing aims to provide alternative ways of conceiving globalization, with particular emphasis upon its social and cultural dimensions. He is currently working on the Australian Research Council’s project “Logistics as Global Governance: Labor, Software, and Infrastructure Along the New Silk Road,” with partner researchers from Greece, India, Chile, Italy, Canada, and the UK. Neilson is based in Sydney.

Mezzadra and Neilson started an intensive exchange and collaboration in 2002, which resulted in several joint projects and writings, including Border as Method, or, the Multiplication of Labor (2013).

Pavlos Hatzopoulos is affiliated to Panteion University, working on the digitalization of labor and migration. He is part of the international project “Logistical Worlds. Infrastructure, Software, Labour,” conducting research on Chinese investments around Piraeus Port, and focusing on the optimization of production, labor relations, and technologies of governance. Hatzopoulos is based in Athens.

Posted in Public Programs
Related

Boats of History

with Giorgos Maniatis, Servanne Jollivet, Pavlos Hatzopoulos, Anna Papaeti, and Nelli Kampouri
Live from Piraeus

The session of talks and debates surrounding the political history of the Mediterranean takes place on a boat sailing along the coast of Athens and the Piraeus Port. There is no better place than a boat…

 More
Calendar

The Apatride Society of the Political Others

The Apatride Society of the Political Others:
Integrated World Capitalism and the Ithageneia Condition

Coordinated by: Max Jorge Hinderer Cruz, Nelli Kambouri, and Margarita Tsomou

In Greek the word most…

 More
Public Programs

Die Apatride-Gesellschaft des politischen Anderen: Piraeus Port as Entry Point of Global Capitalism
mit Sandro Mezzadra, Brett Neilson und Pavlos Hatzopoulos

JAN
14
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Die Apatride-Gesellschaft des politischen Anderen lädt zu einem Abend mit Vorträgen und Diskussionen mit Sandro Mezzadra und Brett Neilson ein. Thema sind die Auswirkungen von Finanzkapitalismus und Logistik auf die Beförderung von Waren und menschlichen Körpern im Mittelmeer. In langjähriger Forschung beschäftigten sich Mezzadra und Neilson mit der Vermehrung von Grenzen als Charakteristikum des gegenwärtigen Globalkapitalismus. Derzeit konzentrieren sich Mezzadra und Neilson auf die fortschreitende Transformation, die der Hafen von Piräus erfährt, seit er durch einen Lizenzvertrag in den Besitz der chinesischen volkseigenen Firma COSCO übergegangen ist. Im Parko Eleftherias diskutieren die beiden Wissenschaftler im Gespräch mit Pavlos Hatzopoulos das Konzept eines neuen Mobilitätsparadigmas, das die sogenannte „logistische Revolution“ der 1960er Jahre möglich gemacht hat. Innerhalb dieses Paradigmas, das das Bild des Containers als wesentliche Einheit gegenwärtiger globaler Bewegung von Kapital und Arbeitskraft hervorgebracht hat, verkörpert der Hafen den entscheidenden Ort neokolonialer Produktion.

19–21 Uhr
Logistics, Extraction, and Finance in Contemporary Capitalism
Brett Neilson und Sandro Mezzadra sprechen über ihr in Kürze erscheinendes Buch The Politics of Operations

21–22:30 Uhr
Bodies, Machines, Infrastructures: The Port of Piraeus After the COSCO Concession
Diskussion
Mit Sandro Mezzadra, Brett Neilson und Pavlos Hatzopoulos
Während der Diskussion wird es eine Präsentation des im Kontext des "Logistical Worlds Project" von Anna Lascari und Ilias Marmaras produzierten Videospiels Cargonauts geben.

Cargonauts, Creative Commons Licence 4.0, 2015

Sandro Mezzadra lehrt Politische Theorie an der Universität Bologna und ist einer der Mitbegründer der Website „EuroNomade“. Seine viel beachteten Forschungsarbeiten widmen sich der Kritik der Grenzverwaltung, der Migration, dem Postkolonialen und der gesellschaftlicher Transformation innerhalb des heutigen Kapitalismus. Mezzadra lebt und arbeitet in Rom.

Brett Neilson ist Professor am Institute for Culture and Society an der Western Sydney University. Seine umfangreichen Forschungsarbeiten und zahlreichen Publikationen versuchen alternative Betrachtungsweisen von Globalisierung zu eröffnen, wobei das besondere Augenmerk deren sozialen und kulturellen Dimensionen gilt. Zurzeit arbeitet er gemeinsam mit Kolleg_innen aus Griechenland, Indien, Chile, Italien, Kanada und Großbritannien an einem Projekt des Australian Research Council mit dem Titel „Logistics as Global Governance: Labor, Software, and Infrastructure Along the New Silk Road“. Neilson lebt und arbeitet in Sydney.

Mezzadra und Neilson begannen 2002 mit einem intensiven Austausch und einer engen Zusammenarbeit. Daraus ergaben sich zahlreiche gemeinsame Projekte und Veröffentlichungen, unter anderem Border as Method, or, the Multiplication of Labor (2013).

Pavlos Hatzopoulos ist Mitarbeiter der Pantion-Universität und arbeitet an der Digitalisierung von Arbeit und Migration. Er ist Mitglied des internationalen Projekts „Logistical Worlds: Infrastructure, Software, Labour“, leitet Forschungsarbeiten zu den Investitionen Chinas rund um den Hafen von Piräus und beschäftigt sich mit Produktionsoptimierung, Arbeitsverhältnissen und Technologien der Gouvernementalität. Hatzopoulos lebt und arbeitet in Athen.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
Verwandte Einträge

Boats of History

mit Giorgos Maniatis, Servanne Jollivet, Pavlos Hatzopoulos, Anna Papaeti und Nelli Kampouri

Tagung mit Vorträgen und Diskussionen zur politischen Geschichte des Mittelmeeres. Die Veranstaltung findet auf einem Boot statt, das an der Küste Athens und am Hafen von Piräus entlangsegeln wird…

 Mehr
Kalender

Die Apatride-Gesellschaft des politischen Anderen

Die Apatride-Gesellschaft des politischen Anderen:
Integrierter Weltkapitalismus und der Ithageneia-Zustand

Koordiniert von Max Jorge Hinderer Cruz, Nelli Kambouri und Margarita Tsomou

Auf Griechisch benutzt…

 Mehr
Öffentliche Programme
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.