In Between
Image and Movement

with Alexandra Bachzetsis and Lenio Kaklea

Reflecting on the process of becoming a dancing body and on the paradoxes of inventing an autonomous gestural language, Alexandra Bachzetsis performs her first piece Perfect, conceived fifteen years ago, and introduces us to the choreographic practice of Lenio Kaklea, who will also perform a new iteration of her first solo piece, Arranged by Date, made in collaboration with Lou Forster.

The performances will be followed by a dialogue between the artists and a discussion with the audience.

Alexandra Bachzetsis’s piece Perfect (2001) extracts choreographic scripts from different cinematic or photographic scenes (from Jane Fonda’s workout videos, to the discipline of female behavior), transforming culturally codified gestures into an abstract language that is decomposed and re-assemblaged, repeated and interrupted, to create a new grammar for movement.

Lenio Kaklea’s piece Arranged by Date, a Practice (2016) investigates our relation to memory and language and their connection to the immaterial world of finance. In this ongoing choreographic process Kaklea uses found images and embodies them, transcribing her movements into a graphic vocabulary and comparing the symbols of this vocabulary to new images, different from the original.

Alexandra Bachzetsis is a choreographer and visual artist. Her practice unfolds at the intersection of dance, performance, the visual arts, and theater. Collaboration, transference, live feed video, and a plurality of voices and bodies have informed Bachzetsis’s work. Her work has been exhibited in a variety of contemporary art spaces and museums, including the Jumex Museum, Mexico City, 2014; the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, 2015 and 2013; Tate Modern, London, 2014; and Kunsthalle Basel, 2008, as well as a number of international group exhibitions, such as (d)OCUMENTA 13, Kassel, 2012, and the 5th Berlin Biennial, 2008. Her latest work Massacre: Variations on a Theme will be premiered at MoMA, Museum of Contemporary Art in New York in January 2017. Bachzetsis is based in Switzerland and Athens, Greece.

Lenio Kaklea is a choreographer and performer. As a performer she collaborates with Alexandra Bachzetsis, Gerard & Kelly, Claudia Triozzi, and Boris Charmatz among others. Since 2009, she has developed choreographic projects such as Arranged by Date, A Guided Tour, 2016; Margin Release f/f, 2015; Deux • L, 2013, in collaboration with Lucinda Childs; Arranged by Date, 2012; Fluctuat nec Mergitur, 2010, and Matter of Act, 2009. Her work has been presented in institutions and festivals such as the Centre Pompidou, ImpulsTanz, Athens & Epidaurus Festival, Quartz-Scène National de Brest, Latitudes Contemporaines, Onassis Foundation, and La Ménagerie de Verre. Kaklea is based in Paris.

Posted in Public Programs
Related

Alexandra Bachzetsis

Alexandra Bachzetsis takes the emerging systems of communication that have come to define contemporary culture—pop music, the mass media, and the internet—as the true sites within which contemporary…

 More
Artists

Private Song

by Alexandra Bachzetsis

Private Song proposes framing as a perceptual strategy for questioning, underlining or neutralizing the spectator’s relation to moving bodies on stage. These acts of re-framing produce a phantasmatic…

 More
Calendar

School of Gesture - public moments

with Lou Forster, Marina Fokidis, Rasheed Araeen, Gene Ray, Alexandra Bachzetsis, and Mary Zygouri

May 16, 2017, 5 pm: Lou Forster May 17, 2017, 5 pm: Marina Fokidis May 19, 2017, 3 pm: Rasheed Araeen & Gene Ray May 19, 2017, 5 pm: Alexandra Bachzetsis May 21, 2017, 5 pm: Mary Zygouri What is…

 More
Calendar

Private Song

by Alexandra Bachzetsis

Private Song proposes framing as a perceptual strategy for questioning, underlining, or neutralizing the spectator’s relationship to moving bodies on stage. These acts of re-framing produce a phantasmic…

 More
Calendar

In Between
Image and Movement

mit Alexandra Bachzetsis und Lenio Kaklea

Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Welcher Prozess liegt der Entstehung eines tanzenden Körpers zugrunde, und auf welche Paradoxa stößt man, wenn man eine autonome Gestensprache entwickelt? Alexandra Bachzetsis performt ihr erstes, vor fünfzehn Jahren entwickeltes Stück Perfect und führt uns in die choreographische Praxis von Lenio Kaklea ein. Diese wird ihrerseits eine neue Iteration ihres ersten Solostücks Arranged by Date aufführen, das in Zusammenarbeit mit Lou Forster entstanden ist. Im Anschluss an die Performances findet ein Gespräch zwischen den beiden Künstlerinnen und eine Publikumsdiskussion statt.

Alexandra Bachzetsis’ Stück Perfect (2001) extrahiert aus verschiedenen filmischen und fotografischen Bildern und Szenen (angefangen bei Jane Fondas Workout-Videos bis hin zu Darstellungen der Disziplinierung von weiblichem Verhalten) choreografische Skripts und transformiert auf diese Weise kulturell kodierte Gesten zu einer abstrakten Sprache, die zerlegt und neu zusammengesetzt, wiederholt und unterbrochen wird, um so eine neue Grammatik der Bewegung zu generieren.

Lenio Kakleas Stück Arranged by Date, a Practice (2016) geht der Beziehung zwischen Erinnerung und Geschichte sowie deren Verhältnis zur immateriellen Welt des Finanzwesens nach. In diesem fortgesetzten choreografischen Prozess nutzt Kaklea vorgefundene Bilder und verkörpert sie, schreibt ihre Bewegungen in ein grafisches Vokabular um und vergleicht die Symbole dieses Vokabulars mit neuen Bildern, die sich vom Original unterscheiden.

Alexandra Bachzetsis ist Choreografin und bildende Künstlerin. Ihre Arbeiten entstehen an der Schnittstelle von Tanz, Performance, bildender Kunst und Theater. Die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Künstler_innen, Übertragungen, live-feed-Videos sowie eine Vielzahl von Stimmen und Körpern prägen ihre Werke. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in verschiedenen Museen und Räumen für zeitgenössische Kunst ausgestellt, unter anderem im Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam (2015 und 2013), im Museo Jumex, Mexiko Stadt (2014), in der Tate Modern in London (2014) und in der Kunsthalle Basel (2008), und auf zahlreichen internationalen Gruppenausstellungen, darunter (d)OCUMENTA 13, Kassel, 2012, und 5. Berlin Bienniale, 2008. Ihre jüngste Arbeit mit dem Titel Massacre: Variations on a Theme wird im Januar 2017 am MoMA in New York gezeigt. Bachzetsis lebt in der Schweiz und in Athen.

Lenio Kaklea ist Choreografin und Performerin. Als Performerin hat sie unter anderem mit Alexandra Bachzetsis, Gerard & Kelly, Claudia Triozzi und Boris Charmatz zusammengearbeitet. Seit 2009 hat sie eine Vielzahl choreografischer Projekte realisiert, darunter Arranged by Date, A Guided Tour (2016), Margin Release f/f (2015), Deux • L (2013, mit Lucinda Childs), Arranged by Date (2012), Fluctuat nec mergitur (2010) und Matter of Act (2009). Ihre Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen Institutionen und auf einer Reihe von Festivals präsentiert. Dazu zählen das Centre Pompidou, ImpulsTanz, das Athens & Epidaurus Festival, Le Quartz – Scène nationale de Brest, das Festival Latitudes Contemporaines, die Onassis Foundation sowie La Ménagerie de Verre. Lenio Kaklea lebt in Paris.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
Verwandte Einträge

Alexandra Bachzetsis

Für Alexandra Bachzetsis sind die neuen Kommunikationssysteme, die unsere moderne Kultur prägen – Popmusik, Massenmedien, Internet –, die wahren Ursprungsorte des zeitgenössischen Tanzes. Tanz ist…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

Private Song

von Alexandra Bachzetsis

10.–13. Juli, 2017, 22–23 Uhr
​Henschel-Hallen, Kassel…

 Mehr
Kalender

Private Song–Excerpts
von Alexandra Bachzetsis mit Theodora Baca, Sotiris Vasiliou und Evgenios Voulgaris

Private Song Excerpts ist eine Performance von Alexandra Bachzetsis mit Theodora Baca, Sotiris Vasiliou und Evgenios Voulgaris. In Weiterführung ihres Projekts Private Song, einer Auftragsarbeit für…

 Mehr
Kalender

School of Gesture - public moments

mit Lou Forster, Marina Fokidis, Rasheed Araeen, Gene Ray, Alexandra Bachzetsis und Mary Zygouri

16. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Lou Forster 17. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Marina Fokidis 19. Mai 2017, 15 Uhr: Rasheed Araeen & Gene Ray 19. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Alexandra Bachzetsis 21. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Mary Zygouri…

 Mehr
Kalender

Private Song

von Alexandra Bachzetsis

Private Song schlägt die Rahmung als Wahrnehmungsstrategie für Infragestellung, Hervorhebung oder Neutralisierung der Beziehung der Betrachter_innen zu den sich bewegenden Körpern auf der Bühne vor…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.