The Society of Friends of Halit: SPOTS
with Aysun Bademsoy, Mareike Bernien, Madeleine Bernstorff, and Cana Bilir-Meier

SEP
1
Presentation and film screening
8–10 pm
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel
Live stream available

belit sağ, (against) randomness, 2017

The Society of Friends of Halit presents a selection of short films—known as spots— which, through the politics of film and images, enable a new (counter)narrative about the NSU Complex.

From May 17–21, 2017 the Tribunal: Unraveling the NSU Complex took place in Cologne-Mülheim. The SPOTS are short audiovisual interventions into various facets of the NSU Complex and are intended to mobilize the Tribunal. The term “NSU Complex” seeks to describe the interdependence of Nazi terror, racism, and state involvement.

To this day, the series of murders and attacks by the National Socialist Underground (NSU) has not been completely clarified. There are still open questions related to, for instance, the right-wing radical environment around the NSU, as well as to the role of the German Verfassungsschutz (domestic secret service), which had numerous informants in the perpetrators’ world.

What has become clear, however, is how deeply racism is entrenched in German society. This condition has not only enabled the actions of the NSU, but also produced methods of investigations and public discourses, which have been described by victims and concerned persons as “the bomb after the bomb.”

How can we change the field of what is visible so that racist structures can be called out? How can (post)migrant realities and perspectives be made loud and clear?

SPOTS regards aesthetics as political action. These aesthetics counter the dominant visual politics and their fixation on the perpetrators as well as the media’s disinformation about the NSU complex. They reverse what is visible, represent gestures of resistance, and formulate questions and accusations. In doing so, they seek to initiate a wider debate within society.

SPOTS is presented at The Parliament of Bodies by Aysun Bademsoy, Mareike Bernien, Madeleine Bernstorff, Cana Bilir-Meier, and Ayşe Güleç. A selection of the twenty-three SPOTS provides a framework for talking about their background and reports on the Tribunal.

Coordinated by Ayşe Güleç, Initiative 6. April, and kassel postkolonial


Aysun Bademsoy studied journalism and theater. She is currently working as a documentary filmmaker and the author of film scripts on the second and third generation of Turkish immigrants. In such films as Mädchen am Ball (Girl on the Ball, 1995), Nach dem Spiel (After the Game, 1997), Ich gehe jetzt rein (I’m going in now, 2008), Am Rande der Städte (On the Urban Fringe, 2005/2006) and Zyklop (Cyclops, 2015/16), she presents images of Germany that reflect the changes wrought by migration. Bademsoy is now doing research for a documentary film on the NSU.

Mareike Bernien is an artist and teacher who works in the media of performative film, sound. and text. Her works based on an archeological approach to the media question ideological certainties underlying representation, its material and technological preconditions, and historical continuities. Her most recent films include Tiefenschärfe (Depth of Field, 2016/17), produced in collaboration with Alex Gerbaulet; and Rainbow’s Gravity (2014), produced in collaboration with Kerstin Schroedinger.

Madeleine Bernstorff is an author and film curator. She has been involved in (often) collaborative and research-based journalistic and artistic projects devoted to avant-garde cinema and resistance movements as they relate to feminist film theory. Bernstorff is a member of the selection committee for the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen and teaches cinema history.

Cana Bilir-Meier studied art/digital media and art education at the Akademie der bildenden Künste in Vienna. She is currently working as an educator, filmmaker, and curator in Vienna and Munich and also as a guest instructor at several different institutions, including the University of Cologne, the Weißensee Art College, and the Art University in Linz.

Ayşe Güleç, documenta 14 Community Liaison, is a social and cultural worker and educator. Since 2016, she has focused on establishing social and sociopolitical relationships between various (trans-)local communities and contexts with documenta 14. Since 1989, Güleç has been working as a social educator at the Kulturzentrum Schlachthof in Kassel, focusing on migration, education, and cultural education. In addition, she is active in self-organized initiatives and networks in the fields of anti-racism, postcolonial studies, and critical migration studies.

Posted in Public Programs

Die Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Halit: SPOTS
mit Aysun Bademsoy, Mareike Bernien, Madeleine Bernstorff und Cana Bilir-Meier

SEP
1
Presentation und Filmvorführung
20–22 Uhr
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel
Als Livestream verfügbar
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Die Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Halit präsentiert einige SPOTS-Filme, die filmisch und bildpolitisch eine (Gegen-)Erzählung über den NSU-Komplex ermöglichen.

Vom 17. bis 21. Mai 2017 fand in Köln-Mülheim das „Tribunal NSU-Komplex auflösen“ statt. SPOTS sind kurze audiovisuelle Interventionen zu Facetten des NSU-Komplexes, die unter anderem zur Mobilisierung für das Tribunal entstanden sind. Der Begriff „NSU-Komplex“ zielt auf die Verflechtung von Nazi-Terror, Rassismus und staatlicher Involviertheit.

Bis heute ist die Mord- und Anschlagsserie des sogenannten Nationalsozialistischen Untergrunds (NSU) nicht vollständig aufgeklärt. Offene Fragen gibt es unter anderem zum rechtsradikalen Umfeld des NSU sowie zur Rolle des Verfassungsschutzes, der zahlreiche Informanten im Umfeld der Täter hatte.

Deutlich geworden ist hingegen, wie tief Rassismus in Deutschland verankert ist. Dieser Zustand hat nicht nur die Taten des NSU ermöglicht, sondern auch Ermittlungsmethoden und öffentliche Diskurse hervorgebracht, die von den Betroffenen als „die Bombe nach der Bombe“ bezeichnet wurden.

Wie können wir das Feld des Sichtbaren so verändern, dass rassistische Strukturen anklagbar und (post-)migrantische Realitäten und Perspektiven unübersehbar und unüberhörbar werden?

SPOTS verstehen Ästhetik als politisches Handeln. Sie setzen der dominanten täterfixierten Bildpolitik und den medialen Überschreibungen rund um den NSU-Komplex etwas entgegen. Sie drehen Sichtbarkeiten um, stellen Widerstandsgesten dar, formulieren Fragen und Anklagen. Und wollen so eine breitere gesellschaftliche Debatte anstoßen.

Zur Präsentation im Parlament der Körper werden SPOTS vorgestellt durch Aysun Bademsoy, Mareike Bernien, Madeleine Bernstorff, Cana Bilir-Meier und Ayşe Güleç. Eine Auswahl der 23 SPOTS bietet den Rahmen für das Gespräch über ihre Hintergründe und für Berichte vom Tribunal.

Koordiniert von Ayşe Gülec, Initiative 6. April, und Kassel postkolonial

belit sağ, (against) randomness, 2017

Aysun Bademsoy studierte Publizistik und Theaterwissenschaften. Sie arbeitet als Dokumentarfilmerin und Drehbuchautorin über die zweite und dritte Generation der türkischen Migranten. Mit Filmen wie Mädchen am Ball (1995), Nach dem Spiel (1997), Ich gehe jetzt rein (2008), Am Rande der Städte (2005/2006) oder Zyklop (2015/16) zeichnet sie Bilder Deutschlands, die durch Migration verändert werden. Derzeit arbeitet Bademsoy an der Recherche zu einem Dokumentarfilm zum NSU.

Mareike Bernien arbeitet als Künstlerin und Lehrende zwischen performativem Film, Sound und Text. Mit einem medienarchäologischen Ansatz hinterfragen ihre Arbeiten ideologische Gewissheiten von Repräsentation, ihre materiell-technologischen Voraussetzungen und historischen Kontinuitäten. Zu ihren letzten Filmen gehören: Tiefenschärfe (2016/17) gemeinsam mit Alex Gerbaulet; Rainbow's Gravity (2014) gemeinsam mit Kerstin Schroedinger.

Madeleine Bernstorff, Autorin und Filmkuratorin, beschäftigt sich in publizistischen, künstlerischen - oft kollaborativen und Recherche-basierten Projekten - mit dem Kino der Avantgarden und den Widerstandsbewegungen in Verbindung mit feministischer Filmtheorie. Sie ist Mitglied der Auswahlkommission der Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen und unterrichtet Filmgeschichte.

Cana Bilir-Meier studierte Kunst/Digitale Medien und Kunstpädagogik an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. Sie arbeitet als Pädagogin, Filmemacherin und Kuratorin in Wien und München und lehrte an mehreren Orten als Gastdozentin wie an der Universität zu Köln, Weißensee Kunsthochschule sowie Kunstuniversität in Linz.

Ayşe Güleç, bei der documenta 14 verantwortlich für die Kooperation mit Communities, ist eine Sozialpädagogin und Kulturarbeiterin. Seit 2016 hat sie sich darauf konzentriert, soziale und sozialpolitische Beziehungen zwischen der documenta 14 und verschiedenen (trans-)lokalen Communities und Kontexten zu schaffen. Güleç arbeitet seit 1989 als Sozialpädagogin im Kulturzentrum Schlachthof in Kassel. Zu den Schwerpunkten ihrer Tätigkeit zählen unter anderem Migration und kulturelle Bildung. Zudem ist sie in selbstorganisierten Initiativen und Netzwerken in den Bereichen Antirassismus, postkoloniale Studien sowie kritischer Migrationsforschung aktiv.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.