The Apatride Society of the Political Others: The Whisper of the Jaguar
by Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetau and Thais Guisasola

AUG
31
Film screening and discussion
8–10 pm
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel

Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetau and Thais Guisasola, The Whisper of the Jaguar, 79 min., 2017, Brazil, Colombia, and Germany, photo: Giovanna Pezzo

Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetau and Thais Guisasola, The Whisper of the Jaguar, 79 min., 2017, Brazil, Colombia, and Germany, photo: Giovanna Pezzo

Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetau and Thais Guisasola, The Whisper of the Jaguar, 79 min., 2017, Brazil, Colombia, and Germany, photo: Giovanna Pezzo

The Whisper of the Jaguar is a queer-punk road movie, taking place across the Amazon and investigating indigenous knowledge and the experience of trance states through medicinal plants. By accessing the memories and traumas of her ancestors, the protagonist, Ana, who is carrying the ashes of her kuir (queer) activist brother, is confronted with her own imaginary perceptions of indigeneity, ego, and death in the contemporary political landscape of Brazil.

Between poetic images and performances, the movie deals with issues of youth, hybridity, postcolonial subjects, kuir sexualities, environmental destruction, medicinal plants, jaguars, and loss.

This presentation is the world premiere. The screening is followed by a conversation with Thais Guisasola, Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetau, and Margarita Tsomou.

Director of Photography: Giovanna Pezzo
Art Director/Costume Designer: Alicia Arteaga
Sound Designer/Mixing: Ruben Valdés
Editor: Ilka Miriam Valdés
Assistant Producer/Direct Sound: Daniel Martins
Music by Aérea Negrot, Peaches, Mad Kate I The Tide, Royal Dust, Mercenárias and The Clitor$


Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetau’s artistic projects are located between film and performance and deal with post-migrant subjects and kuir (queer) cultures. Paetau’s works have been featured at Museum of Modern Art, New York, Festival de Cannes, neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst, Studio Я of Maxim Gorki Theatre, and Ballhaus Naunynstrasse in Berlin, among others.

​Thais Guisasola is a Brazilian filmmaker, performer, and award-winning screenwriter working on feature films and philosophical television series. Her work focuses on kuir (queer) experiences, de-colonialized voices, and ancestrality. She co-creates in a feminist political realm, is a practitioner of Candomblé, and a film director at Drama Filmes in São Paulo, Brazil.

​Margarita Tsomou is a Greek author, publisher, dramaturge, and curator. She is the publisher of the pop-feminist Missy Magazine and writes for German newspapers and radio. Her artistic collaborations and curatorial projects have been presented at theaters such as the Hebbel am Ufer, Maxim Gorki Theater, and at the Volksbühne in Berlin; Kampnagel, Hamburg; and the Onassis Cultural Center, Athens. She is currently finishing a book on the “Representation of the Many,” in the context of the Greek Indignados Movement and the occupation of Syntagma Square in Athens in 2011. She is part of the publishing collective b_books in Berlin and the activist/artistic group Schwabinggrad Ballett in Hamburg. Tsomou lives and works in Berlin and on the Greek island of Skiathos.

Posted in Public Programs
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Die Apatride-Gesellschaft des politischen Anderen: The Whisper of the Jaguar
von Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetau und Thais Guisasola

AUG
31
Filmvorführung und Diskussion
20–22 Uhr
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetau und Thais Guisasola, The Whisper of the Jaguar, 79 Min., 2017, Brasilien, Kolumbien und Deutschland, Foto: Giovanna Pezzo 

Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetau und Thais Guisasola, The Whisper of the Jaguar, 79 Min., 2017, Brasilien, Kolumbien und Deutschland, Foto: Giovanna Pezzo 

Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetau und Thais Guisasola, The Whisper of the Jaguar, 79 Min., 2017, Brasilien, Kolumbien und Deutschland, Foto: Giovanna Pezzo 

The Whisper of the Jaguar ist ein Queerpunk-Roadmovie, das in der Region des Amazonas spielt und indigenes Wissen sowie die Erfahrung von Trance-Zuständen, die von Arzneipflanzen ausgelöst werden, erforscht. Die Hauptfigur Ana, die die Asche ihres Bruders mit sich trägt, der ein kuir (queer)-Aktivist war, verschafft sich Zugang zu den Erinnerungen und Traumata ihrer Vorfahren und muss sich in der heutigen politischen Landschaft Brasiliens mit ihren eigenen vorgefassten Meinungen von Indigenität, Ego und Tod auseinandersetzen.

In poetischen Bildern und Darbietungen beschäftigt der Film sich mit Jugend, Hybridität, postkolonialen Subjekten, kuir-Sexualität, Umweltzerstörung, Heilpflanzen, Jaguaren und Verlust.

Es handelt sich um die Welturaufführung des Films. Im Anschluss an die Filmvorführung findet ein Gespräch mit Thais Guisasola, Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetau und Margarita Tsomou statt.

Director of Photography: Giovanna Pezzo
Art Director / Kostümbildnerin: Alicia Arteaga
Sound Designer / Mixing: Ruben Valdés
Filmeditor: Ilka Miriam Valdés
Regieassistent / Direct Sound: Daniel Martins
Musik von Aérea Negrot, Peaches, Mad Kate I The Tide, Royal Dust, Mercenárias und The Clitor$


Simon(è) Jaikiriuma Paetaus künstlerische Projekte sind zwischen Film und Performance angesiedelt und handeln von Subjekten nach der Migration und Queerkultur. Paetaus Arbeiten wurden unter anderem im Museum of Modern Art, New York, auf dem Festival de Cannes, in der neuen Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst, im Studio Я des Maxim Gorki Theaters und im Ballhaus Naunynstraße in Berlin präsentiert.

Thais Guisasola ist eine brasilianische Filmemacherin, Performerin und mehrfach ausgezeichnete Drehbuchautorin von Spielfilmen und philosophischen Fernsehserien. In ihrer Arbeit konzentriert sie sich auf kuir (queere) Erfahrungen, entkolonialisierte Stimmen und Vorfahren. Sie arbeitet in einem feministischen, politischen Umfeld, praktiziert Candomblé und ist Filmregisseurin bei Drama Filmes in São Paulo, Brasilien.

Margarita Tsomou ist eine griechische Autorin, Verlegerin, Dramaturgin und Kuratorin. Sie gibt das pop-feministische Missy Magazine heraus und schreibt für deutschsprachige Zeitungen und Rundfunkanstalten. Ihre künstlerischen Kollaborationen und kuratorischen Projekte wurden unter anderem präsentiert im Hebbel am Ufer, am Maxim Gorki Theater und in der Volksbühne in Berlin; im Theater Kampnagel in Hamburg und dem Onassis Cultural Center in Athen. Zurzeit beendet sie ein Buch über die „Darstellung der Vielen“ im Kontext der griechischen Indignados-Bewegung und die Besetzung des Syntagma Platzes in Athen im Jahr 2011. Sie ist Mitglied des Verlagskollektivs b_books in Berlin und der Aktivisten-/Künstlergruppe Schwabinggrad Ballett in Hamburg. Tsomou lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und auf der griechischen Insel Skiathos.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.