Performance Program at Henschel-Hallen
Closing Concert of the Ali Farka Touré Band​

Concert | Sold out
9 pm
Henschel-Hallen, Wolfhager Straße 109, Kassel

Igo Diarra and La Medina, Installation of objects and archival materials related to Ali Farka Touré and his band, photo: Michael Nast

The Ali Farka Touré Band is the orchestra of the late Ali Farka Touré (1939–2006). The band is made up of musicians who have toured the world several times over, often sharing the stage with this legend of West African music culture. Committed to preserving the works of Touré, his musicians have joined forces to commemorate the work of the bluesman from Niafunké.

Ali Farka Touré was born in the village of Kanau on the Niger River in 1939. A short time later, his family moved to Niafunké near Timbuktu in Mali. Music took hold of him when he was only five years old. Having succumbed to a fever, it was the healers in Hombori that introduced him to the traditional monochord. Later, in 1956, he discovered the guitar in Bamako with the Guinean virtuoso Fodeba Keita. His experience was enriched by his extensive explorations of “roots” music thanks to the great Malian writer Amadou Hampaté Bâ. In 1960, after Mali gained independence, Ali Farka Touré became an ambulance driver for the hospital in Niafunké while simultaneously serving as the Orchestra Director of the National Broadcasting Radio in Mali until when he recorded his first unreleased tracks. Two of the seven records pressed for the Sonodisc label between 1973 and 1988 were released on CD in 2004 under the name Red & Green. In 1987, everything changed for Ali Farka Touré with the London-based label World Circuit and producer Nick Gold. In 1995 he received his first Grammy Award for the album Talking Timbuktu, which also features Ry Cooder, and his second and third together with Toumani Diabaté: in 2006 for the album “In the Heart of the Moon” and in 2011 for Ali and Toumani.

The concert, which is being held thanks to Afel Bocoum and the Ali Farka Touré Foundation, is the closing event of the program at Henschel-Hallen and is also a highlight of the project Studio Ali Farka Touré by Igo Diarra. The exhibition Proud and Well is on view at the documenta Halle as part of documenta 14. It consists of a gradually growing installation of the African musician’s unpublished works as well as photos, awards, medals, and personal objects.

Hamadoun Bocoum dit Afel (vocals)
Hamma Sankaré (calebasse and vocals)
Oumar Diallo (bass guitar and vocals)
Mahamoudou Kelly (guitar and vocals)
Aly Magassa (guitar and vocals)
Souleymane Kané (djembe and vocals)

Tickets: 10 € / 2 € with valid a documenta 14 ticket.
Tickets available at documenta 14 sales counters and at the entrance.

Posted in Public Exhibition

Performance-Programm in den Henschel-Hallen
Abschlusskonzert der Ali Farka Touré Band

JUL
22
Konzert | Ausverkauft
21 Uhr
Henschel-Hallen, Wolfhager Straße 109, Kassel
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Igo Diarra and La Medina, Installation of objects and archival materials related to Ali Farka Touré and his band, photo: Michael Nast

Die Ali Farka Touré Band ist das Orchester des verstorbenen Ali Farka Touré (1939–2006). Zu verschiedenen Zeiten haben sich die Musiker der Band die Bühnen der Welt mit der Legende westafrikanischer Musikkultur geteilt. Entschlossen, die Werke von Ali Farka Touré weiterleben zu lassen, haben sich seine Musiker zusammengetan, um dem Werk des Bluesman aus Niafunké ein Denkmal zu setzen.

Ali Farka Touré wurde 1939 in Kanau am Niger geboren. Kurz darauf zog die Familie weiter nach Niafunké bei Timbuktu in Mali. Bereits im Alter von fünf Jahren wurde Tourés Begeisterung für die Musik geweckt. Heiler_innen aus Hombori brachten ihm, als er an einem Fieber erkrankt war, das traditionelle Monochord nahe. Die Gitarre entdeckte er für sich 1956 bei einem Auftritt des brillanten Guineers Fodéba Keïta in Bamako. Auch die „Roots“-Musik, mit der Touré dank des großen malischen Autors Amadou Hampâté Bâ in Kontakt kam, beeinflusste seinen Stil. Nach Malis Unabhängigkeit 1960 wurde Touré am Krankenhaus von Niafunké Sanitätsfahrer und arbeitete zugleich als Leiter des Orchesters des Nationalen Rundfunks Mali, bis er 1973 seine ersten Titel aufnahm. Zwei der sieben Vinylplatten, die zwischen 1973 und 1988 für das Label Sonodisc gepresst worden waren, wurden 2004 unter dem Namen Red & Green als CD veröffentlicht. 1995 wurde er für das Album Talking Timbuktu, an dem Ry Cooder mitgewirkt hatte, mit dem ersten Grammy Award ausgezeichnet, die zweite und dritte Auszeichnung erhielt er gemeinsam mit Toumani Diabaté: 2006 für das Album In the Heart of the Moon, und 2011 ein weiteres Mal für Ali and Toumani.

Das Konzert, dass dank Afel Bocoum und der Stiftung Ali Farka Touré zustande kam, ist die Abschlussveranstaltung des Programms in den Henschel-Hallen und bildet zugleich einen der Höhepunkte des Projektes Studio Ali Farka Touré von Igo Diarra. Die Ausstellung Proud and Well ist im Rahmen der documenta 14 in der documenta Halle zu sehen. Sie besteht aus einer schrittweise wachsenden Installation unveröffentlichter Werke sowie aus Fotos, Auszeichnungen, Medaillen und persönlichen Gegenständen des afrikanischen Musikers.

Musiker
Hamadoun Bocoum dit Afel (Gesang)
Hamma Sankaré (Kalebasse und Gesang)
Oumar Diallo (Bassgitarre und Gesang)
Mahamoudou Kelly (Gitarre und Gesang)
Aly Magassa (Gitarre und Gesang)
Souleymane Kané (Djembe und Gesang)


Eintritt: 10 € / 2 € mit gültigem documenta 14 Ticket.
Karten für die Abendveranstaltungen an den documenta 14 Verkaufsstellen und an der Abendkasse.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.