The Parliament of Bodies: VOICE-O-GRAPH
by Panos Charalambous with Vassilis Charalambidis, Angelos Krallis, Panayotis Panopoulos

JUL
7
Part 1: Installation and Sonic Happening
8–10 pm
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel

Panos Charalambous, Flatus Vocis, 2017, audio happening, Parko Eleftherias, Athens Municipality Arts Center, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis

VOICE–O–GRAPH is a vinyl work of discovery, preservation, reuse and manipulation. A happening that manifests itself with objects of immediate urgency. Coming from either forgotten, censored, or disintegrated vinyl discs from individuals, families, groups, and moments of urgency, this sonic happening is adjusted to the exigencies of the found discs themselves. Panos Charalambous conceptualizes an intervention using his vinyl turntables while playing salvaged “illegal disks” that were censored during historical times of urgency. The disks have been accumulating the history of a political past, and have been exposed in a process of conceptual and physical aging as they have been damaged and scarred during times of sociopolitical and cultural repression.

The voices, the recorded voices of the dead, the whiffs of voices—in this instance, the famous voce passionale of Demetrio Stratos, the voce divina of Maria Callas, the voice of agro-rocker Takis Karnavas, the voice of émigré Costas Chronis—are more than mere recordings on vinyl records: They are aural components that subvert the temporary lull… they produce shimmering, circles, waves… they scare us as voices of a crisis at work… they frighten the wild birds as they migrate to the south… the fog recedes, the landscape is cut in two…

The black vinyl record (locus) awaits a pointed edge to sound, to resurrect the voice without biblical glorifications. With a carnivore’s fang, a predator’s claw, the spike of a rose, a sisal leaf for a needle… The records emerge as loci of liberation. A rite of disenchantment through affection.

On July 7 and July 8 from 12 noon–8 pm the installation VOICE–O–GRAPH will be open to the public.


Panos Charalambous is a visual artist and currently the Rector of the Athens School of Fine Arts.

Vassilis Charalambidis is a designer and musician and the artistic director of BIOS.exploring urban culture.

Angelos Krallis was born in 1988 and has progressively lost his trust in art ever since.

Panayotis Panopoulos is Assistant Professor – Anthropology of Music and Dance, Department of Social Anthropology and History, University of the Aegean.

Posted in Public Programs
Related

VOICE-O-GRAPH

by Panos Charalambous with Vassilis Charalambidis, Angelos Krallis, Panayotis Panopoulos

July 8, 2017, 8 pm
Fridericianum, Kassel
Live stream available…

 More
Calendar

Flatus Vocis

by Panos Charalambous with Vassilis Charalambidis, Angelos Krallis, Panayotis Panopoulos

The voices, the recorded voices of the dead, the whiffs of voices—in this instance, the famous voce passionale of Demetrio Stratos, the voce divina of Maria Callas, the voice of agro-rocker Takis Karnavas…

 More
Calendar

Das Parlament der Körper: VOICE-O-GRAPH
von Panos Charalambous mit Vassilis Charalambidis, Angelos Krallis, Panayotis Panopoulos

JUL
7
Teil 1: Installation und Sonic Happening
20–22 Uhr
Fridericianum, Friedrichsplatz 18, Kassel
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

VOICE–O–GRAPH ist eine Vinyl-Arbeit, bei der es um Entdeckung, Bewahrung, Wiederverwendung und Manipulation geht. Es handelt sich um ein Happening, das sich in Objekten von unmittelbarer Dringlichkeit manifestiert. Von den vergessenen, zensierten oder zerbrochenen Langspielplatten, die einst Einzelpersonen, Familien, Gruppen oder zu Ausnahmesituationen gehörten, ist dieses Sonic Happening auf die Erfordernisse der gefundenen Platten selbst zugeschnitten. Panos Charalambous konzeptualisiert eine Intervention unter Verwendung seiner Plattenspieler sowie der geretteten „illegalen Platten“, die in historischen Ausnahmesituationen zensiert worden waren. Die Scheiben haben die Geschichte einer politischen Vergangenheit akkumuliert und waren dem Prozess der konzeptuellen und physischen Alterung ausgesetzt, da sie in Zeiten gesellschaftspolitischer und kultureller Unterdrückung beschädigt wurden und Narben davongetragen haben.

Die Stimmen, die aufgezeichneten Stimmen der Toten, der Hauch von Stimmen – im vorliegenden Fall die berühmte voce passionale des Demetrio Stratos, die voce divina der Maria Callas, die Stimme des Aggro-Rockers Takis Karnavas, die Stimme des emigrierten Costas Chronis – sind mehr als bloße Aufzeichnungen auf Vinyschallplatten: Sie sind auditive Bestandteile, die eine vorübergehende Windstille unterlaufen… sie bringen Flirren, Kreislinien, Wellen hervor ... sie erschrecken uns als die Stimmen einer Krise in vollem Gange ... sie ängstigen die Wildvögel auf ihrem Zug gen Süden … der Nebel lichtet sich, die Landschaft ist entzweigeschnitten …

Die schwarze Schallplatte (Locus) erwartet eine Spitze, damit sie erklingen kann, damit sie die Stimme ohne biblische Verherrlichungen wiederauferstehen lassen kann. Mit dem Reißzahn des Fleischfressers, der Klaue des Raubtiers, dem Dorn einer Rose, einer Sisalfaser als Nadel … Die Platten erscheinen als Loci der Befreiung. Ein Entzauberungsritus der auf Affektion basiert.

Am 7. und 8. Juli ist die Installation VOICE–O–GRAPH von 12 bis 20 Uhr der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

Panos Charalambous, Flatus Vocis, 2017, Audio-Happening, Parko Eleftherias, Städtisches Kunstzentrum Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Panos Charalambous ist bildender Künstler und derzeit Rektor der Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen.

Vassilis Charalambidis ist Designer und Musiker sowie künstlerischer Leiter von BIOS. exploring urban culture.

Angelos Krallis wurde 1988 geboren und hat seither immer mehr an Vertrauen in die Kunst eingebüßt.

Panayotis Panopoulos ist festangestellter Assistenzprofessor am Institut für Anthropologie von Musik und Tanz am Fachbereich Ethnologie und Geschichte an der Universität der Ägäis.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
Verwandte Einträge

VOICE-O-GRAPH

von Panos Charalambous mit Vassilis Charalambidis, Angelos Krallis, Panayotis Panopoulos

8. Juli 2017, 20 Uhr
Fridericianum, Kassel
Als Livestream verfügbar…

 Mehr
Kalender

Flatus Vocis

von Panos Charalambous mit Vassilis Charalambidis, Angelos Krallis, Panayotis Panopoulos

Panos Charalambous conceptualizes a sonic intervention using his vinyl turntables while playing salvaged “illegal disks” that were censored during the Greek Military Junta. From 1 pm to 8 pm, the installation…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.