The Noospheric Society: 6th Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood
with Angelo Plessas

MAY
5
6–9 pm
Lebensbogen eG, Auf dem Dörnberg 13, Zierenberg

Promo for the 6th Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood, video 4:45 min

 

The fifth gathering of the Noospheric Society since its initiation in October 2016 is both its first appearance in and around Kassel and an invitation to join the 6th Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood for a Noospheric realness multi-session—hosting communalism talks, poetry readings, cosmic presentations, otherhood nutrition, elixir giveaways, quantum meditation, ultra-laser projection, and music euphoria.

The Noospheric Society is a communal society conceived by artist Angelo Plessas for people to rest in contemplation, an altar of digital detox, a therapy session, a place to explore our bodies and minds, a social environment surrounded by ideas and particles, and an attempt to float freely in space and time.

The Society illuminates issues of spirituality, cultural heterogeneity, cosmic life, and education in the open-air.

This year’s participants of the Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood include: Andreas Angelidakis, Miriam J. Carranza, Bill Kouligas, Caspar Jade Heinemann, Kolbeinn Hugi, Stephanie Kretowicz, Imaad Majeed, Angelo Plessas, Luca Pozzi, as well as the communes Lossehof e.V., Lebensbogen eG, Villa Locomuna, gASTWERKe e.V., and Kommune Niederkaufungen.

For the statement of the 6th Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood please see below.

Please register by Thursday May 4, at 6 pm at the following address: neumann[at]documenta.de.

Due to limited capacity, participation is limited to forty people. Bus transportation to and from Kassel is provided. Admission is free, and the exact location will be sent to participants by email.

Statement for the 6th Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood

The ubiquitous gaze of the statue of Hercules over all of Kassel seems to be caught up in a mood of deep contemplation. No one can guess the thoughts and fantasies of this mythical macho superhero. Is he thinking of his glorious past in the South or contemplating the future in the North? The Herculean ambivalence is as emblematic in his muscular posture as in his actions. The guilty laborer of the cave of the Lernean Hydra, the cosmopolitan colonizer of the Amazons of Phrygia, the tolerant crossdresser in Omphale’s palace, and the story goes on … What would this Hercules think if he had to contemplate the present? Would he be questioning the relationship between his birthplace and his adopted country?

Before answering too quickly let’s remember that nowadays it is easy to surrender to a nostalgic past or an unattainable future. Our mind is conquered by these two mental hegemonies. The PAST and the FUTURE are the milk and honey of contemporary intellectuals who are obsessed with re-interpreting the former and re-inventing the latter.

Consequently the PRESENT has become a happy fiction. This is why we need a pragmatic and practical plan for self-actualization in such a way that the “physical,” “spiritual,” and “social” will be truly and triumphantly unified. These three golden functions are the foundations for an individual to live. This is the splendid right now!

An attempt to reclaim these three golden functions is the annual Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood, joyful temporary gatherings in different places: Anafi, Las Posas, the Dead Sea, Castello di Fosdinovo, Sigiriya.

This year’s Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood will take place in the Dörnberg Nature Reserve just outside of the city of Kassel during the first week of May 2017. Surrounded by beautiful rock formations, this area has been historically regarded as the sacred heartland of Germany. A place of pilgrimage in prehistoric Celtic times, but also a meeting place of Romantic poets during the 19th century for the revival of an “indigenous” German culture.

In this setting, different scenarios of the physical, spiritual, and social ascend. Experiences are shared collectively and mutually with the highest levels of autonomy. We take local knowledge into account, interfering with our esoteric impulses, expressed in immediate actions and gestures.

The gathering elaborates on themes such as pagan and primitive philosophies, open-source communalism, geomantic rituals and solar enchantments, transgender occultism, and noospheric naturalness.

We perform Sisterhood Commemorations, Ceremonies of Friendship, and Monumentalization of Otherness for a whole week.

Stay tuned: we will convey several stories concurrently.



Angelo Plessas is an artist. The focus of his work is on networking the offline with the online in ways that help us understand both conditions. Plessas’s activities range from performances to artist residencies; from self-publishing to interactive websites; from sculptures to live-stream events and educational projects. Over the last five years he has organized annual, weeklong gatherings of the Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood and most recently of the Experimental Education Protocol. Plessas’s work has been exhibited internationally at venues including Centre Pompidou and Jeu de Paume, Paris; the DESTE Foundation for Contemporary Art and National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens; and Frieze Projects 2013, London. He is a Fulbright alumnus and the 2015 recipient of the DESTE Prize. Plessas lives and works in Athens.

Posted in Public Programs
Related

Angelo Plessas

As I walked back from the communal showers, I paused at the gate to take in the scene. It looked like a kid’s drawing of a small village, straw huts on the edge of the desert. The sun was rising over…

 More
Artists

The Inner Outer Circle

with Communes from the Kassel region and Angelo Plessas

Never before have so many people lived on this planet, and at the same time we’ve reached an unprecedented degree of individualization. Capitalism and in fact any kind of exploitation are based on separating…

 More
Calendar

Experimental Education Protocol

with Angelo Plessas

The Experimental Education Protocol is an alternative educational model founded by artist Angelo Plessas. Every edition takes place in a new location. Participants are asked to create educational models…

 More
Calendar

Tantra Rising

with Angelo Plessas and Mihalis Filinis

The fourth and last meeting of the Noospheric Society at Parko Elefterias is titled Tantra Rising. During this session artist Angelo Plessas invites meditator Mihalis Filinis to teach the Noospheric tantric…

 More
Calendar

The Making of Brotherhood/Sisterhood and Tantra Rising

with Mihalis Filinis and Angelo Plessas

The third meeting of the Noospheric Society at Parko Elefterias is titled The Making of Brotherhood/Sisterhood and Tantra Rising. During this session artist Angelo Plessas presents the latest edition of…

 More
Calendar

Cosmic Meditation

with Mihalis Filinis and Angelo Plessas

For the second meeting of the Noospheric Society the artist Angelo Plessas invites meditator Mihalis Filinis for an hour-long noospheric meditation session. The Noospheric Society is a communal place created…

 More
Calendar
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Die Noosphärische Gesellschaft: 6th Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood
mit Angelo Plessas

MAI
5
18–21 Uhr
Lebensbogen eG, Auf dem Dörnberg 13, Zierenberg
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Promo für die 6th Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood, Video 4:45 Min.

 

Das fünfte Treffen der Noosphärischen Gesellschaft seit ihrer Gründung im Oktober 2016 ist auch ihr erstes Auftreten in Kassel und in der Umgebung von Kassel; und zugleich eine Einladung, an der 6. Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood für noosphärische Wirklichkeit in vielfältigen Sitzungen teilzunehmen, die kommunalistische Vorträge, Dichter_innenlesungen, kosmische Präsentationen, Ernährung mit Andersheit, das Verschenken von Elixieren, Quantenmeditation, Ultralaserprojektionen und musikalische Euphorie umfassen.

Die Noosphärische Gesellschaft ist ein gemeinschaftlicher Ort kontemplativer Ruhe, der vom Künstler Angelo Plessas geschaffen wurde. Sie ist Altar digitaler Entgiftung, Therapiesitzung, Ort der Erkundung unseres Körpers und unseres Geistes, soziale Umgebung, die ihrerseits von Ideen und Partikeln umkreist wird, und ein Versuch, frei durch Zeit und Raum zu treiben. Die Gesellschaft beleuchtet Anliegen der Spiritualität, kulturellen Heterogenität, kosmischen Lebens und der Bildung unter offenem Himmel.

Zu den Teilnehmer_innen des diesjährigen Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood gehören:

Andreas Angelidakis, Miriam J. Carranza, Bill Kouligas, Caspar Jade Heinemann, Kolbeinn Hugi, Stephanie Kretowicz , Imaad Majeed, Angelo Plessas, Luca Pozzi sowie die Gemeinschaften Lossehof e.V., Lebensbogen eG, Villa Locomuna, Gastwerke e.V. und Kommune Niederkaufungen.

Bitte lesen Sie unten die Erklärung zum 6. Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood (auf Englisch).

Bitte melden Sie sich bis zum 4. Mai 2017 bis 18 Uhr unter dieser Adresse an: neumann[at]documenta.de.

Aufgrund eingeschränkter Platzmöglichkeiten können nur 40 Personen an der Veranstaltung teilnehmen. Sie werden von einem Bus aus Kassel Mitte abgeholt und auch wieder dorthin zurückgebracht (keine Eintrittskosten, der genaue Veranstaltungsort wird Ihnen in der Email mitgeteilt).


Erklärung zur 6. Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood

Der allgegenwärtige Blick, den die Statue des Herkules über ganz Kassel wirft, scheint von tiefer Nachdenklichkeit getragen. Doch keiner errät die Gedanken und Fantasien dieses mythischen Macho-Superhelden. Denkt er über seine glorreiche Vergangenheit im Süden nach oder sinniert er über die Zukunft des Nordens? Diese herkulische Zweideutigkeit drückt sich sowohl durch sein Muskelspiel wie auch durch seine Taten aus. Schuldiger Arbeiter in der Höhle der Hydra von Lerna, kosmopolitischer Kolonisator der Amazonen von Phrygien, toleranter Crossdresser im Palast der Omphale … und sie lässt sich immer weiter so fortsetzen, diese Geschichte. Was dächte sich dieser Herkules, wenn er über die Gegenwart nachzudenken hätte? Würde er die Beziehung zwischen seinem Geburtsort und dem Land, das er sich als Heimat auserkoren hat in Frage stellen?

Ehe wir vorschnell antworten, wollen wir daran erinnern, dass es heute ein Leichtes ist, angesichts einer nostalgischen Vergangenheit oder einer unerreichbaren Zukunft zu kapitulieren. Unser Geist ist von diesen beiden mentalen Hegemonien besessen. VERGANGENHEIT und ZUKUNFT sind Milch und Honig für die zeitgenössischen Intellektuellen, die obsessiv die erstere neu interpretieren und die letztere neu erfinden.

Folgerichtig wurde die GEGENWART zur fröhlichen Fiktion. Und deshalb benötigen wir einen pragmatischen und praktischen Plan für unsere Selbstverwirklichung, der in der Lage ist, das „Physische“, „Spirituelle“ und „Gesellschaftliche“ wahrhaft und triumphal zu vereinigen. Diese drei goldenen Funktionen sind die Lebensgrundlagen jedes Individuums. Darin liegt gerade jetzt seine ganze Pracht!

Ein Versuch diese drei goldenen Funktionen für uns zurückzugewinnen ist die jährlich stattfindende Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood, freudige kurzzeitige Zusammentreffen an verschiedenen Orten: Anafi, Las Posas, am Toten Meer, Castello di Fosdinovo, Sigiriya.

Dieses Jahr wird die Eternal Internet Brotherhood/Sisterhood in der ersten Maiwoche 2017 im Dörnberger Naturparkzentrum stattfinden, das sich direkt vor der Stadt Kassel befindet. Umgeben von wunderschönen Gesteinsformationen hat man dieses Gebiet historisch stets als das heilige Kernland Deutschlands begriffen. Eine Pilgerstätte der Kelten in vorgeschichtlichen Zeiten und ein Treffpunkt für romantische Dichter im 19. Jahrhundert, die sich für die Erneuerung der „indigenen“ deutschen Kultur einsetzten.

In einem solchen Setting entstehen verschiedene Szenarien des Physischen, Spirituellen und Gesellschaftlichen. Erfahrungen werden kollektiv und gegenseitig, aber auch mit größtmöglicher Autonomie geteilt. Wir nehmen uns dem lokalen Wissen an und bringen uns mit unseren esoterischen Impulsen ein, die durch unmittelbare Aktionen und Gesten ihren Ausdruck finden.

Das Zusammentreffen widmet sich dem Paganismus, primitiven Philosophien, dem Open-Source-Kommunalismus, geomantischen Ritualen und Sonnenzauber, Transgender-Okkultismus und noosphärischer Natürlichkeit.

Eine Woche lang halten wir Erinnerungsfeierlichkeiten für die Sisterhood ab und feiern Zeremonien der Freundschaft und Monumentalisierung der Andersheit.

Bleibt dran! Wir vermitteln verschiedene Geschichten gleichzeitig.


Angelo Plessas ist Künstler. Im Zentrum seines Schaffens steht die Vernetzung dessen was offline ist mit dem was online ist; dies geschieht auf eine Weise, die uns beide Zustände verständlich macht. Plessas’ Aktivitäten reichen von Performances zu Künstler-Residencies, vom Self-Publishing zu interaktiven Webseiten, von Bildhauerei über live-stream events hin zu Bildungsprojekten. In den letzten vier Jahren organisierte er die, einige Wochen dauernden, jährlichen Zusammenkünfte der Eternal Internet Brother/Sisterhood und erst kürzlich das Experimental Education Protocol. Plessas’ Arbeiten wurden international ausgestellt, u. a. im Centre Pompidou am Jeu de Paume in Paris; bei der DESTE Foundation for Contemporary Art und am National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athen; sowie bei den Frieze Projects 2013 in London. Er war Fulbright Stipendiat und erhielt 2015 den DESTE Prize. Plessas lebt und arbeitet in Athen.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
Verwandte Einträge

Angelo Plessas

Auf dem Weg zurück von den Gemeinschaftsduschen blieb ich am Tor stehen, um die Szenerie auf mich einwirken zu lassen. Sie erinnerte an die Kinderzeichnung eines kleinen Dorfs: Strohhütten am Rande der…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

The Inner Outer Circle

mit Kommunen aus der Region Kassel und Angelo Plessas

Noch nie zuvor haben so viele Menschen auf diesem Planeten gelebt, während wir gleichzeitig einen nie dagewesenen Grad an Vereinzelung erleben. Kapitalismus, wie eigentlich jede Form der Ausbeutung, basiert…

 Mehr
Kalender

Experimental Education Protocol

mit Angelo Plessas

Das Experimental Education Protocol ist ein alternatives Bildungsmodell, das vom Künstler Angelo Plessas entwickelt wurde. Jede Ausgabe findet an einem anderen Ort statt. Die Teilnehmer_innen werden aufgefordert…

 Mehr
Kalender

Tantra Rising

mit Angelo Plessas und Mihalis Filinis

Das vierte und letzte Treffen der Noosphärischen Gesellschaft im Parko Elefterias hat den Titel Tantra Rising. Während dieser Sitzung lädt der Künstler Angelo Plessas den Meditationslehrer Mihalis…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Making of Brotherhood/Sisterhood and Tantra Rising

mit Mihalis Filinis und Angelo Plessas

Das dritte Treffen der Noosphärischen Gesellschaft im Parko Eleftherias trägt den Titel The Making of Brotherhood/Sisterhood and Tantra Rising. Während der Sitzung stellt der Künstler Angelo Plessas…

 Mehr
Kalender

Cosmic Meditation

mit Mihalis Filinis und Angelo Plessas

Für das zweite Treffen der Noosphärischen Gesellschaft lädt der Künstler Angelo Plessas den Meditationslehrer Mihalis Filinis zu einer einstündigen noosphärischen Meditationsübung ein. Die Noosphärische…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.