Peppermint

Peppermint, photo: Mathias Völzke

Peppermint is a hybrid plant, one that shoots out transversal roots, growing quickly and fragrantly into various contexts. Peppermint is also the namesake of aneducation’s space for documenta 14 in Kassel—a working, cooking, reading, and meeting house that nourishes relationships between contributors, educators, and students as well as members of neighboring communities since January 2016. Peppermint hosts regular meetings of the student group Membrane, the local community through the House of Commons, and the sewing circle Lose Fäden. It is also the workspace of aneducation.

During documenta 14, the office library of Lucius and Annemarie Burckhardt (1925–2003 and 1930–2012) resides at Peppermint. The practice of these two unconventional thinkers affiliated with the University of Kassel has substantially influenced the development of aneducation’s approach to “walking the city” as a way of learning.

Inside Peppermint you can find Terminal, a space of quietude measuring just a few square meters featuring the simple elements of a chair, a table, a lamp, and a pair of sound-isolating headphones. Visitors may use the space to pause, to breathe, to slow down, to unclutter, to undo, to be silent. These activities—or anactivities—are also part of the complex of strolling, listening, reading, mapping, weaving, storytelling, and eating that form the intricate root system that is Peppermint.

Posted in Public Exhibition

Upcoming Events

AUG
26
by Birgit Dunkel
Performance, social situation
5–7:30 pm, Peppermint, Kassel
SEP
2
by Birgit Dunkel
Performance, social situation
5–7:30 pm, Peppermint, Kassel
Related

Unpacking Burckhardt at Peppermint

by Birgit Dunkel

Guests are taken by car from Peppermint through different time zones, social connections, conditions, and meetings with invited speakers in Kassel’s East, all the while listening to music from the early…

 More
Calendar

Unpacking Burckhardt at Peppermint
with Inge Nabuurs, Erwin van Doorn, and Alicja Melzacka

Nabuurs & van Doorn, Burckhardtstrasse, 2007, Intervention dOCUMENTA 12, photo: ND2+

Nabuurs & van Doorn, I do like the fact that you have been working…

 More
Calendar

Unpacking Burckhardt at Peppermint
with ​Contemporary And (C&) and KUNCI

“School is Dead!” declares the cover of Everett Reimer’s 1971 publication from atop a bookshelf of the Lucius and Annemarie Burckhardt library. In calling for the reassessment of formal knowledge…

 More
Calendar

Open Hours Burckhardt Library

Annemarie and Lucius Burckhardt (1930–2012 and 1925–2003) were two unconventional thinkers affiliated with the University of Kassel. Their library will be gradually unpacked over the course of monthly…

 More
Calendar

Unpacking Burckhardt at Peppermint

with Gerhard Lang and LAGE

Gerhard Lang, Cloud Walk 5 – Entering the Cloud, 21.12.97, photo: Irene Graham, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn

Night stroll with Gerhard Lang, Unpacking Burckhardt…

 More
Calendar

Unpacking Burckhardt at Peppermint
with Helmut Holzapfel, Monika Nikolic, and Martin Schmitz

“And if someone were to dig us up in two thousand years, once all knowledge of our written language had disappeared, the cityscape would be the only thing by which we might be judged.”
—Lucius Burckhardt, Stadtplanung und Demokratie (1957)…

 More
Calendar

Peppermint

Peppermint, Foto: Mathias Völzke

Die Pfefferminze ist eine hybride Pflanze, die flache Wurzeln ausbildet und sich rasch und wohlriechend in verschiedenen Kontexten ausbreitet. Die Pfefferminze ist auch der Namenspatron des Raums, den „eine Erfahrung“ auf der documenta 14 in Kassel belegt – ein Haus zum Arbeiten, Kochen, Lesen und Sich-Begegnen, das seit Januar 2016 nährende Beziehungen zwischen den Mitwirkenden, Pädagog_innen und Studierenden sowie der Nachbarschaft pflegt. Im Peppermint finden regelmäßig Treffen der Studierendengruppe Membrane, der Kasseler Bürger_innen (durch das House of Commons) und des Nähkreises Lose Fäden statt.

Während der documenta 14 befinden sich die Bestände der Bürobibliothek von Lucius und Annemarie Burckhardt (1925–2003 und 1930–2012) im Peppermint. Die Praxis dieser beiden an der Universität Kassel tätigen Querdenker hat den von „eine Erfahrung“ entwickelten Ansatz, sich eine Stadt durch das Spazieren zu erschließen, maßgeblich beeinflusst.

Im Peppermint findet man Terminal, einen nur wenige Quadratmeter großen Raum der Stille, in dem es nur einen Stuhl, einen Tisch, eine Lampe und ein Paar Schallschutz-Kopfhörer gibt. Besucher_innen können den Raum für eine Pause, zum Durchatmen, Entschleunigen, Sich-Ordnen, Sich-Lockern und zur stillen Besinnung nutzen. Diese Aktivitäten – oder Anaktivitäten – sind auch Bestandteil des komplexen Wurzelsystems des Peppermint, das aus Flanieren, Zuhören, Lesen, Kartieren, Weben, Geschichten-erzählen und Essen besteht.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Verwandte Einträge

ανέκδοτο: Erfahrungen am Rande der documenta

ανέκδοτο (Anekdote), ein griechisches Wort mit doppelter Bedeutung, ist der paradoxe Titel einer kleinen Publikation, die die Künstlerin Simranpreet Anand als Praktikantin des Programms „eine…

 Mehr
Kalender

Unpacking Burckhardt

mit Birgit Dunkel

Cruising Tour: Ausflug in die Punk-Ära der frühen 1980er Jahre im Kasseler industriellen Osten

Im Auto schlüpfen die Passagiere durch verschiedene Zonen der Zeit, der gesellschaftlichen Solidaritäten…

 Mehr
Kalender

Unpacking Burckhardt im Peppermint
mit Inge Nabuurs, Erwin van Doorn und Alicja Melzacka

Nabuurs & van Doorn, Burckhardtstrasse, 2007, Intervention dOCUMENTA 12, Foto: ND2+

Nabuurs & van Doorn, I do like the fact that you have been working…

 Mehr
Kalender

Unpacking Burckhardt im Peppermint
mit ​Contemporary And (C&) und KUNCI

„School is Dead!“, ruft der Einband von Everett Reimers Buch aus dem Jahr 1971 von einem Regal in Lucius und Annemarie Burckhardts Bibliothek herab. Als Aufruf zur Neubewertung formaler Wissensstrukturen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Burckhardt Bibliothek Öffnungszeiten

Annemarie und Lucius Burckhardt (1930–2012 und 1925–2003) waren zwei mit der Universität Kassel verbundene Querdenker. Ihre Bibliothek wird nach und nach in monatlich stattfindenden Veranstaltungen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Unpacking Burckhardt im Peppermint

mit Gerhard Lang und LAGE

Gerhard Lang, Cloud Walk 5 – Entering the Cloud, 21.12.97, Foto: Irene Graham, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn

Foto: Liebschuh…

 Mehr
Kalender