Naeem Mohaiemen

Naeem Mohaiemen, Tripoli Cancelled (2017), digital video, color, sound, 1:28 min., courtesy Naeem Mohaiemen and Experimenter, Kolkata

In Naeem Mohaiemen’s practice as an artist and writer, protagonists are figured as a means of mobilizing inquiries into the fabric of what Samuel Moyn termed “global history,” building a meta-archive. Born in London in 1969, his projects explore the intersecting regional histories of South Asia and its leftist uprisings, the 1971 Bangladesh Liberation War, and the role of misrecognition within global solidarity. They are narrated via a personally invested dramaturgy, which incorporates family annotations and popular culture in its reflections on history. His protagonists might be categorized as “support acts” in the unspooling reel of official chronicles: revolutionaries, novelists, double agents, martyrs, theorists.

From 2001 to 2006, Mohaiemen was part of Visible Collective, composed of artists, activists, and lawyers addressing the impact of racial profiling, the “no-fly list,” deportation, and paranoid security measures on the Muslim underclass in the post-9/11 United States. The artist continues to ask what it means to be a willing or accidental witness to key episodes of modernity. In Afsan’s Long Day (The Young Man Was, Part II) (2014), photographs, footage, and the artist’s voice-over, together with leftist journalist and intellectual Afsan Chowdhury’s diaristic account of the 1970s, bleed into reflections on the Baader-Meinhof gang. Abu Ammar Is Coming (2016) asks how to reconfigure a map of affinity and revolutionary action while observing photographic “evidence” of Bangladeshi freedom fighters aiding the PLO in early-1980s Beirut, an immersive encounter in what the artist calls “the after of the already too late.” These provide cues for Two Meetings and a Funeral (2017), presented in Kassel as part of documenta 14, which examines how political collectivities such as the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) and the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) reinscribe, instead of puncturing, power relations in newly independent nation-states. Mohaiemen and his protagonist, historian Vijay Prashad, traverse the UN building in New York and the streets of Algiers, the scene of a historic 1973 NAM summit.

In United Red Army (The Young Man Was, Part I) (2012), a televised hostage crisis aboard hijacked flight JAL 472, stranded on the tarmac in Dhaka, unfolds as a series of communiqués on revolutionary violence. Tripoli Cancelled (2017), presented in Athens, considers another form of alienation at an airport. It is based on a real incident, when the artist’s father was stranded inside Athens airport. His confinement is a metonym for suspension outside national borders, and the uncertainty of what awaits. The film builds a choreography of estrangement through daily routines marked by humor, resilient imagination, and affect.

—Natasha Ginwala

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Century’s Container

by Naeem Mohaiemen

The Parliament of Bodies presents Century’s Container (USA, 2016, 9 min.), a message from the present to the present by artist Naeem Mohaiemen.

The Muslim is this century’s container for the Other;…

 More
Calendar

#17 Red Star, Crescent Moon / after Sohail Daulatzai

by Naeem Mohaiemen

In Black Star, Crescent Moon (2012), scholar Sohail Daulatzai charts post-1950s Black internationalism as an intersecting history of black Muslims, black radicals, and the Muslim third world. In response…

 More
Calendar

Naeem Mohaiemen

Naeem Mohaiemen, Tripoli Cancelled (2017), Digitalvideo, Farbe, Ton, 1.28 min, courtesy Naeem Mohaiemen und Experimenter, Kolkata

Naeem Mohaiemen versteht die Protagonist_innen seiner Arbeiten als Instrumente einer Auseinandersetzung mit den Strukturen der „globalen Geschichte“ (Samuel Moyn) und bildet dabei eine Art Meta-Archiv. Die Projekte des 1969 in London geborenen Künstlers und Schriftstellers erkunden die Geschichte südasiatischer Regionen mit ihren Schnittstellen und linken Aufständen ebenso wie den Bangladesch-Krieg von 1971 und die Rolle verfehlter Wahrnehmungsprozesse im Rahmen einer globalen Solidarität. Ihre Dramaturgie beruht auf persönlichen Geschichten, in die familiäre Betrachtungen und populärkulturelle Reflexionen zur Geschichte einfließen. Mohaiemens Protagonist_innen fungieren gewissermaßen als Träger_innen und Begleiter_innen der Entwicklungen offizieller Chroniken: Revolutionär_innen, Romanautor_innen, Doppelagent_innen, Märtyrer_innen, Theoretiker_innen.

Von 2001 bis 2006 war Naeem Mohaiemen Mitglied von Visible Collective. Die aus Künstler_innen, Aktivist_innen und Rechtsanwält_innen bestehende Gruppe befasste sich mit den Auswirkungen von Racial Profiling, „No Fly List“, Abschiebung und paranoiden Sicherheitsmaßnahmen auf die muslimische Unterschicht in den USA nach 9/11. Immer wieder untersucht der Künstler, was es bedeutet, williger oder zufälliger Zeuge von Schlüsselereignissen der Moderne zu sein. In Afsan’s Long Day (The Young Man Was, Part II) (2014) münden Fotografien, Filmmaterial und der Begleitkommentar des Künstlers zusammen mit den Tagebuchaufzeichnungen des linken Journalisten und Intellektuellen Afsan Chowdhury über die 1970er Jahre in Reflexionen zur Baader-Meinhof-Gruppe. Abu Ammar Is Coming (2016) stellt die Frage nach einer neuen Kartografie von Zugehörigkeiten und revolutionären Bewegungen anhand von fotografischem „Beweismaterial“ für die Unterstützung der PLO durch Freiheitskämpfer aus Bangladesch im Beirut der frühen 1980er Jahre – eine intensive Begegnung im „Danach des Bereits-zu-Späten“, wie es der Künstler selbst formuliert. Dies führt uns zu der Arbeit Two Meetings and a Funeral (2017), die in Kassel im Rahmen der documenta 14 vorgestellt wird. Das Projekt untersucht, in welcher Form politische Gruppierungen wie das Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) und die Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) Machtbeziehungen in neu gegründeten Nationalstaaten festschreiben, statt sie zu unterlaufen. Zusammen mit seinem Protagonisten, dem Historiker Vijay Prashad, wandert Mohaiemen dabei durch das UNO-Gebäude in New York und die Straßen von Algier, das 1973 Schauplatz einer historischen NAM-Gipfelkonferenz war.

In United Red Army (The Young Man Was, Part I) (2012) entfaltet sich ein im Fernsehen übertragenes Geiseldrama – Entführung des Japan-Airlines-Flugs 472 nach Dhaka – in Form von mehreren Kommuniqués zum Thema revolutionäre Gewalt. Auch das in Athen gezeigte Projekt Tripoli Cancelled (2017) setzt sich mit dem Topos des Flughafens auseinander, analysiert jedoch eine andere Form der Entfremdung. Es basiert auf einer Erfahrung von Naeem Mohaiemens Vater, der im Flughafen von Athen festsaß. Sein Eingesperrtsein symbolisiert den Zustand des In-der-Schwebe-Seins außerhalb nationaler Grenzen und die damit verbundene Unsicherheit. Der Film entwickelt eine Choreografie der Entfremdung in Form alltäglicher Routinen, gekennzeichnet durch Humor, Gefühl und eine unbeirrbare Vorstellungskraft.

— Natasha Ginwala

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Wiederaufbau der Idee einer globalen Linken​

mit Vijay Prashad, Samia Zennadi, Zonayed Saki und Naeem Mohaiemen

Auf der Gipfelkonferenz der Blockfreien Staaten 1973 in Algier reflektierte Singapurs Vertreter Sinnathamby Rajaratnam die Unterzeichnung des SALT-I-Vertrags im Jahr 1972 (die erste Vereinbarung, die aus…

 Mehr
Kalender

Century’s Container

von Naeem Mohaiemen

Das Parlament der Körper präsentiert Century’s Container (USA, 2016, 9 Min.), eine Botschaft des Künstlers Naeem Mohaiemen aus der Gegenwart für die Gegenwart.

In diesem Jahrhundert ist der Muslim…

 Mehr
Kalender

#17 Red Star, Crescent Moon / after Sohail Daulatzai

von Naeem Mohaiemen

In Black Star, Crescent Moon (Schwarzer Stern, Halbmond, 2012) schildert der Forscher Sohail Daulatzai schwarzen Internationalismus seit den 1950er Jahren als eine Geschichte von Überschneidungen mit…

 Mehr
Kalender