Regina José Galindo

Regina José Galindo, Quién puede borrar las huellas? (Who can erase the traces?, 2003), performance, Guatemala City, photo: José Osorio

They want to hide things.
So many lies fill our eyes with dust.
—Regina José Galindo

In Regina José Galindo’s Rescue (2017), the action is heard before it is seen. Performed in Athens, Galindo’s action is a response to the misinformation, characterizations of weakness, and demonstrations of power enmeshed in the EU bailout measures. For many, “The rescue is more dangerous than the crisis itself.” Galindo’s Rescue underscores that this bailout was not simply about money but about, very viscerally, life and death. Her spectacular performance, ironically so, and with helicopter included, exposes the contradiction that is at the heart of the rescue (be it economic or otherwise): the act of setting something free also serves to reinscribe the freedom of the liberators.

Galindo, born in 1974 in Guatemala City in the midst of civil war, is known for taking risks, testing the limits of her body and its capacity to speak. She has been waterboarded (a form of torture that simulates drowning), and shackled and chained for days while carrying on her daily routines. She has even cut the word perra (bitch) into her leg to mimic the mutilation found on the bodies of murdered Guatemalan women (in 2005, bodies of women where found with the phrase “muerte a todas las perras” [death to all the bitches] cut into their skin). She has orchestrated subtler interventions as well: a gathering of people to raise the temperature in a room, and another that exists only as a trace—a trail of bloody footprints to mark the path between Guatemala’s Constitutional Court and the National Palace.

Another work, Objective (2017), has Galindo in the middle of a closed room in Kassel. The only way to see her is by looking down the barrel of a gun. Germany ranks among the top five weapons manufacturers in the world. Much of the country’s munitions profits come from the sale of G36 Heckler & Koch assault rifles, which are exported to conflict zones including the Americas. (Galindo notes it was such guns that killed the forty-three students of Ayotzinapa, Mexico, in the Iguala mass kidnapping.) While Galindo places herself in vulnerable situations, she is never a victim. Her vulnerability has a way of exposing our susceptibilities: When you look at her through a gunsight, will you feel the impulse to look away, intervene, or pull the trigger?

—Candice Hopkins

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Presencia (Presence), Karen Lissette Fuentes

by Regina José Galindo

Following similar actions in Guatemala City, the artist wears the dress of a murdered woman. The dress was lent by her family, which keeps the memory of their loved-one alive through this garment.

“Presence…

 More
Calendar

#14 Ojo de gusano: Don’t Look Down

by Regina José Galindo

Cayeron en Guatemala
Cayeron en Honduras
Cayeron en Nicaragua
Cayeron en El Salvador
Cayeron en Panamá
Cayeron en Venezuela
Cayeron en Perú
Cayeron en Colombia
Cayeron en Uruguay
Cayeron en Paraguay
Cayeron en…

 More
Calendar

Regina José Galindo

Regina José Galindo, Quién puede borrar las huellas? (Wer kann die Spuren verwischen?, 2003), Guatemala-Stadt, Foto: José Osorio

Sie wollen Dinge geheim halten.
Diese ganzen Lügen füllen unsere Augen mit Staub.
— Regina José Galindo

In Regina José Galindos Rescue (2017) hört man die Handlung, bevor man sie sieht. Ihre in Athen gezeigte Performance ist eine Reaktion auf die mit den Rettungsmaßnahmen der EU verbundenen Fehlinformationen, Schwächezuweisungen und Machtdemonstrationen. Für viele ist „die Rettung gefährlicher als die Krise“. Wie Galindos Rescue unterstreicht, geht es bei dieser Rettung nicht nur um Geld, sondern ganz real um Leben und Tod. Ihre ironisch-spektakuläre Performance, bei der ein Helikopter zum Einsatz kommt, deckt den Widerspruch im Herzen der Rettungsaktion auf, ob diese nun ökonomischer oder anderer Art ist: Das Freilassen dient auch dazu, die Freiheit der Befreier neu einzuschreiben.

Galindo, 1974 inmitten des Bürgerkriegs in Guatemala-Stadt geboren, ist für ihre Risikofreude sowie das Ausloten der Grenzen ihres Körpers und seiner Ausdrucksfähigkeit bekannt. Sie hat sich dem Waterboarding unterzogen (einer Foltermethode, bei der das Ertränken simuliert wird) und ist über Tage gefesselt und angekettet ihren täglichen Aufgaben nachgegangen. Sie hat sich sogar das Wort perra (Hündin, Schlampe, Hure) in den Oberschenkel geritzt, um an die Verstümmelung ermordeter Guatemaltekinnen zu erinnern (2005 fand man Frauenleichen, in deren Haut die Worte „muerte a todas las perras“ [Tod allen Schlampen] eingeritzt waren). Doch sie unternimmt auch weniger plakative Interventionen: Galindo hat beispielsweise ein Treffen von Menschen zur Anhebung der Raumtemperatur inszeniert und mit Fußspuren aus Blut den Weg zwischen dem Verfassungsgericht von Guatemala und dem Nationalpalast markiert.

Die Arbeit Objective (2017) zeigt Galindo in der Mitte eines geschlossenen Raums in Kassel, wo sie nur durch den Blick in einen Gewehrlauf zu sehen ist. Deutschland zählt zu den fünf größten Waffenherstellern der Welt. Ein Großteil der deutschen Rüstungsgewinne stammt aus dem Verkauf der Sturmgewehre G36 von Heckler & Koch, die in Konfliktzonen in aller Welt, darunter auch den amerikanischen Kontinent, exportiert werden. (Wie Galindo anmerkt, handelte es sich bei den Waffen, mit denen die 43 Studierenden aus Ayotzinapa in Mexiko bei der Massenentführung in Iguala erschossen wurden, um genau diesen Typ.) Auch wenn sich die Künstlerin in gefährliche Situationen begibt, ist sie nie Opfer. Ihre Verletzlichkeit entlarvt unsere Anfälligkeit: Verspürt man beim Blick durch den Gewehrlauf den Impuls, wegzuschauen, einzugreifen oder abzudrücken?

— Candice Hopkins

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

El Objetivo (The Objective)

von Regina José Galindo

Gemäß den Anweisungen, kann das Publikum, wenn die Performance nicht stattfindet, den Platz der Performerin einnehmen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass diese Umgebung für Kinder nicht geeignet ist.

 Mehr
Kalender

Presencia (Presence), Karen Lissette Fuentes

von Regina José Galindo

Wie bei ähnlichen Aktionen in Guatemala City wird die Künstlerin das Kleid einer ermordeten Frau tragen. Dieses Kleid ist eine Leihgabe der Familie der Ermordeten, für die sich ihre Erinnerung an den…

 Mehr
Kalender

#14 Ojo de gusano: Don’t Look Down

von Regina José Galindo

Cayeron en Guatemala
Cayeron en Honduras
Cayeron en Nicaragua
Cayeron en El Salvador
Cayeron en Panamá
Cayeron en Venezuela
Cayeron en Perú
Cayeron en Colombia
Cayeron en Uruguay
Cayeron en Paraguay
Cayeron en…

 Mehr
Kalender