Abounaddara

Abounaddara, The Murderer Returning to the Scene of the Crime (2013), digital collage

Since the start of the Syrian uprising in spring 2011, the Abounaddara collective has been engaged in a war of images unfolding on several fronts. First of all, there is a battle against the Syrian regime: its state propaganda, the strategy of murdering peaceful demonstrators during the uprising, the bombs launched against the population during the civil war. There is also the relentless battle against the media coverage of the Syrian conflict, insofar as mainstream media render invisible the thousand-and-one faces of the “revolution” (Abounaddara continues to use this term to describe the situation in the country)—a revolution that is trapped in the grotesque outside perception that there are now only two protagonists confronting each other: the dictatorship of Bashar al-Assad on one side, jihadist extremists on the other.

The people of Syria are thus denied their diversity, reduced to playing extras in television reports, victims without names or voices. Abounaddara also carries out a meticulous fight, not lacking in humor, in the field of representations of Syrians through history. Whether in the tales of the journeys to the East more than two hundred years ago related by Volney’s Voyage en Syrie et en Égypte (1787), or Assassinat de Kléber (1897) by the Lumière brothers, the first film in which we see a Syrian on screen, or the colonialist declarations of twentieth-century governors, the same portrait is sketched: an archaic, violent, and ignorant individual. In each of Abounaddara’s productions, the anonymous collective attempts to undo the stereotypes that cloud our gaze on Syria; it seeks to shift the coordinates through which we observe a war that attains levels of violence we no longer even suspect. It achieves this by making this violence palpable, but far removed from the voyeurism that exploits the suffering of women and men in front of the camera. Above all, the filmmakers of the collective represent the Syrian people with what the population has been demanding since March 2011, a modicum of dignity (karameh in Arabic): the dignity to have the right to rise up against oppression, the dignity to counter the mixture of indifference and compassion with which the Syrians are almost exclusively considered. Hence, the final battle that traverses all the others: the right to the image that respects the dignity of those who are currently struggling against all forms of tyranny. To, ultimately, show the Syrian revolution in all its diversity and its turbulent becoming.

—Dork Zabunyan

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

My Name is Bashar

by Abounaddara

Abounaddara has agreed to share this film with documenta 14; it is one of over 300 films produced on a weekly basis by an anonymous collective of Syrian filmmakers. By sharing these films on our website…

 More
Works

Dignity has never been photographed

by Abounaddara

Dignity isn’t well regarded at the moment. It’s seen as a normative concept, difficult to gauge and even more difficult to reconcile with artistic practices that tend to strive for emancipation from norms. It’s also a political argument that has been made by reactionaries and enemies of artistic freedom. Finally, it is an ideal that goes against the tide of nihilism in this atmosphere of triumphant post-truth…

 More
Notes

Something is Rotten

by Abounaddara

Something is rotten in the state of the media. Rotten to the point that today a man accused of war crimes can summon mainstream media to announce that reality has debunked their narrative, delighting in…

 More
Notes

We Are Dying—Take Care of the Right to the Image

by Abounaddara

In the spring of 2011, Syrians rose up against a dictatorship inherited from another era. Schoolchildren wrote “The emperor wears no clothes!” on the walls. Young people streamed into the streets and…

 More
Notes

The Syrian who wanted the Revolution

by Abounaddara

The Syrian who wanted the revolution is not in opposition. S/he does not belong to the system of opposition, the product of a power struggle in Assad’s Syria. S/he did not go out onto the streets to…

 More
Notes

2 Minutes for Syria

by Abounaddara

Since the spring of 2011, the beginning of a popular revolution in Syria, the Abounaddara Collective has released a short film on the Internet each Friday. This day, devoted to leisure and prayer in the…

 More
Works

Abounaddara

Abounaddara, The Murderer Returning to the Scene of the Crime (2013), Digitalcollage

Seit dem Beginn des Aufstands in Syrien im Frühjahr 2011 führt das Kollektiv von Abounaddara einen Krieg der Bilder an mehreren Fronten. An erster Stelle steht dabei der Kampf gegen das syrische Regime: gegen die staatliche Propaganda, gegen die Strategie, während des Aufstands friedlich Demonstrierende zu ermorden, gegen die Bomben, die im Bürgerkrieg auf die Bevölkerung geworfen wurden und werden. Und dann ist da der unerbittliche Feldzug gegen die Berichterstattung über den Syrienkonflikt, in der die tausendundein Gesichter der „Revolution“ von den Mainstream-Medien völlig ausgeblendet werden. Diese Revolution (Abounaddara verwenden nach wie vor dieses Wort, um die Situation im Land zu beschreiben) ist Opfer eines grotesken Blicks von außen, der die Auseinandersetzung auf zwei Protagonisten beschränkt sieht: auf Baschar al-Assads Diktatur auf der einen und extremistische Dschihadisten auf der anderen Seite.

Diese Perspektive beraubt die Menschen in Syrien ihrer Verschiedenartigkeit und reduziert sie auf bloße Statisten in Fernsehberichten, auf namenlose Opfer ohne eigene Stimme. Noch einen weiteren Kampf führt das Kollektiv mit großer Akribie, aber auch mit Humor: Er betrifft die Darstellung von Syrer_innen im Lauf der Geschichte. Ob es um Volneys Voyage en Syrie et en Égypte (1787) und seine Reisen in den Orient geht, um den Film Assassinat de Kléber (1897) der Brüder Lumière, in dem erstmals ein Syrer auf der Leinwand erscheint, oder um die kolonialistischen Erklärungen diverser Herrscher des 20. Jahrhunderts – stets wird das Bild eines archaischen, brutalen und ungebildeten Charakters gezeichnet. In all seinen Produktionen versucht das anonyme Kollektiv die Stereotype, die unseren Blick auf Syrien verstellen, zu widerlegen und die Koordinaten zu verschieben, mit denen wir einen Krieg messen, dessen Gewalttätigkeit längst jede Vorstellung übersteigt –, indem es die Gewalt spürbar macht, ohne dabei auf einen Voyeurismus zurückzugreifen, der das Leid von Frauen und Männern vor der Kamera ausschlachtet. Vor allem aber statten die Filmemacher von Abounaddara das syrische Volk mit etwas aus, das dieses seit März 2011 fordert: mit einem Quäntchen Würde (arabisch karameh). Würde im Hinblick auf das Recht, sich gegen Unterdrückung und Zwangsherrschaft zu erheben; Würde, um der Mischung aus Gleichgültigkeit und Mitgefühl entgegenzutreten, der das syrische Volk nahezu überall begegnet. Daher der finale Kampf, der auch alles andere durchdringt: Es geht um das Recht auf ein Bild, das die Würde jener Menschen respektiert, die im Augenblick gegen unterschiedlichste Formen der Tyrannei kämpfen. Und – letztendlich – darum, die syrische Revolution mit all ihrer Vielfältigkeit und turbulenten Geschichte darzustellen.

— Dork Zabunyan

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

My Name is Bashar

von Abounaddara

Abounaddara hat sich bereit erklärt, diesen Film mit der documenta 14 zu teilen; er ist einer von 300 Filmen, die auf wöchentlicher Basis von einem anonymen Kollektiv syrischer Filmemacher_innen produziert…

 Mehr
Arbeiten

Würde hat man noch nie fotografiert​

von Abounaddara

Die Würde genießt heute kein hohes Ansehen. Sie wird als normatives Konzept begriffen, schwierig einzuschätzen und noch schwieriger mit künstlerischen Praktiken in Übereinstimmung zu bringen, die sich von Normen und Regeln befreien wollen. Es handelt sich dabei auch um ein politisches Argument, das von reaktionären Gegner_innen künstlerischer Freiheit vorgebracht wurde. Und schließlich ist die Würde ein Ideal, das in einer Atmosphäre, in der das Postfaktische triumphiert, gegen den nihilistischen Strom geht…

 Mehr
Notizen

Etwas ist faul

von Abounaddara

Etwas ist faul im Staate der Medien. So faul, dass heutzutage ein Mann, den man der Kriegsverbrechen beschuldigt, die Mainstream-Medien in Anspruch nehmen kann um zu verlautbaren, dass die Wirklichkeit…

 Mehr
Notizen

Wir sterben – Schützt das Recht am eigenen Bild!

von Abounaddara

Im Frühling 2011 erhoben die Syrer sich gegen eine überkommene Diktatur. Schüler_innen schrieben an die Mauern: Der Kaiser ist nackt. Mit dem Ruf nach Würde und Freiheit stürmten junge Leute die Straße…

 Mehr
Notizen

Der Syrer, der die Revolution wollte

von Abounaddara

Der Syrer, der die Revolution wollte, ist kein Oppositioneller. Er – oder sie – ist keine Angehörige des Oppositionssystems, das nichts anderes ist als das Ergebnis eines Machtkampfes im Syrien Assads…

 Mehr
Notizen

2 Minutes for Syria

von Abounaddara

Seit Frühling 2011, dem Beginn des Volksaufstands in Syrien, hat das Abounaddara Collective an jedem Freitag einen Kurzfilm im Internet veröffentlicht. Dieser Wochentag, der in der arabischen Welt der…

 Mehr
Arbeiten