Marie Cool Fabio Balducci

Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Untitled (To C. B.) (2016), two sheets of A4-size paper, opening in the wall, sunlight (top); Untitled (2014/2017), opening in wall, sunlight, desktop (bottom)

The peculiar nature of the modern state, with its complex and delicate functions, and the gravity of the political, economic, and social problems which it is called upon to solve, make it the barometric index of the people’s hopes and fears, which increases the obstacles that stand in the way of its defense.

It is not in human nature to live free in freedom … but to live free while imprisoned.
—Curzio Malaparte, Tecnica del colpo di Stato, 1931

Marie Cool Fabio Balducci’s Untitled (2010) is composed of a group of round mirrors placed at various angles in a space. Depending on the natural or artificial lighting conditions of the exhibition situation, the work projects circular patterns of light across the surroundings to modify the site. The work also expands on the one-to-one dynamic common to action performance—the initiated informing the uninitiated. In the first movement, an invited action agent is supplied with a white sheet of A4 paper. They then “remove” one of the luminous circles of light seen projected on the wall, fixing it to the center of their paper, to carry it with them. This gesture shows the reflecting mechanism at work. In the second movement, just the body of the agent interacts with the light, and so the circle of light returns to the wall. These two actions are then repeated. Such interventions echo the artists’ more general concerns of testing the time of the exhibition, in which physical activity may occur in the visitor’s absence or prior to their arrival or just after they have left.

Marie Cool, born in 1961 in Valenciennes, France, and Fabio Balducci, born in 1964 in Ostra, Ancona, a province in Italy, live and work in Paris. Since 1995, they have been producing actions on everyday objects and materials as a response to, and in critical relationship with, the Arte Povera movement; invested in the work conditions of the industrial and technical era, the artists choose to work with ordinary objects or materials easily accessible to consumers. Their use of gesture is usually associated with simple acts and repetition that imprints art with a common, ubiquitous language. Furthermore, through deploying exercises of perception to question certain normative conduct, postures, and values—in particular temporality—this artist duo reviews, modifies, and extends the framework of institutional spaces.

—Pierre Bal-Blanc

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Untitled (2003)

by Marie Cool Fabio Balducci

... Hope is a trap, a bad word, which shouldn’t be used. Hope is for those who talk about God ... be good, be quiet ... go back home. Yes, you are precarious, but anyway in two or three months we will…

 More
Calendar

Untitled

by Marie Cool Fabio Balducci

The peculiar nature of the modern state, with its complex and delicate functions, and the gravity of political, economic, and social problems…
—Curzio Malaparte (1898–1957), Tecnica del colpo di Stato

 More
Calendar

Marie Cool Fabio Balducci

Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Untitled (To C. B.) (2016), zwei Blatt Papier in A4-Größe, Öffnung in der Mauer, Sonnenlicht (oben); Untitled (2014/17), Öffnung in der Mauer, Sonnenlicht, Schreibtisch (unten) 

Die dem modernen Staat eigene Natur mit seinen komplexen und heiklen Funktionen und die Schwere der politischen, ökonomischen und gesellschaftlichen Probleme, die zu lösen er aufgerufen ist, machen ihn zum Maßstab für die Hoffnungen und Ängste der Menschen – was es nur noch schwerer macht, die seiner Verteidigung entgegenstehenden Hindernisse zu überwinden.

Es liegt nicht in der menschlichen Natur, in Freiheit frei zu leben […], sondern frei zu leben, während man eingesperrt ist.
— Curzio Malaparte,
Tecnica del colpo di Stato, 1931

Untitled (2010) von Marie Cool Fabio Balducci besteht aus mehreren runden Spiegeln, die in unterschiedlichen Winkeln angeordnet sind. Je nach den Lichtverhältnissen der Ausstellungssituation – natürliches oder künstliches Licht – werfen sie kreisförmige Lichtmuster in ihre Umgebung und verändern diese dadurch. Die Arbeit greift auch die Eins-zu-eins-Dynamik der Performance auf, in der Eingeweihte die Nicht-eingeweihten unterrichten. In einem ersten Schritt erhält ein eigens dazu eingeladener Akteur ein weißes A4-Blatt Papier. Dann wird der helle Lichtkreis von der Wand „entfernt“ und in der Mitte des Blatts fixiert, sodass er herumgetragen werden kann. Diese Aktion dient dazu, den Mechanismus der Reflexion zu veranschaulichen. In einem zweiten Schritt posiert der Akteur oder die Akteurin vor dem Spiegel, um die Wand zu markieren. Anschließend werden die Handlungen wiederholt. In Interventionen dieser Art spiegelt sich der grundlegende Ansatz des Künstlerduos wider, physische Aktivitäten in der Abwesenheit der Besucher_innen, vor ihrem Eintreffen oder unmittelbar nach ihrem Weggang stattfinden zu lassen.

Marie Cool und Fabio Balducci, 1961 im französischen Valenciennes beziehungsweise 1964 in Ostra in der italienischen Provinz Ancona geboren, leben und arbeiten beide in Paris. Seit 1995 gestalten sie gemeinsam Aktionen rund um alltägliche Objekte und Materialien, die als kritische Beschäftigung mit der und Antwort auf die italienische Arte povera zu sehen sind. Ausgehend von den Arbeitsbedingungen des industriellen oder technischen Zeitalters arbeiten Marie Cool Fabio Balducci mit gewöhnlichen, für Verbraucher_innen leicht verfügbaren Objekten und Stoffen. Die Gesten, die mit einfachen Handlungen und deren Wiederholung verknüpft sind, verleihen ihrer Kunst darüber hinaus eine gewöhnliche, allgegenwärtige Sprache ohne übermäßige Ästhetisierung. Durch die Auseinandersetzung mit Prozessen der Wahrnehmung stellt das Duo normative Verhaltensweisen, Haltungen und Werte – insbesondere das Konzept der Zeitlichkeit – infrage und ermöglicht so eine Überprüfung, Modifikation und Ausweitung der Rahmenbedingungen, die institutionelle Räume kennzeichnen.

— Pierre Bal-Blanc

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Untitled (2003)

von Marie Cool Fabio Balducci

… Hoffnung ist eine Falle, ein übles Wort, das man nicht gebrauchen sollte. Hoffnung ist etwas für die, die über Gott reden … sei brav, sei still … geh wieder nach Hause. Ja, du bist in einer…

 Mehr
Kalender

Untitled

von Marie Cool Fabio Balducci

Das besondere Wesen des modernen Staates, mit seinen komplexen und anfälligen Funktionen, und die Anziehungskraft der politischen, wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Probleme …
—Curzio Malaparte…

 Mehr
Kalender