Susan Hiller

Susan Hiller, Lost and Found (2016), video installation, color, sound, 20 min., loop, © Susan Hiller/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy Susan Hiller and Lisson Gallery, London, New York, Milan

Susan Hiller’s practice takes us to the edges of the known world, to locations where our usual ways of mapping become hesitant. We are presented with the possibility that our accepted means of orientation are not authoritative but contingent and constructed, and that the maps we habitually rely on serve to mask or exclude other territories as much as they might describe or reveal them. Hiller (born in Florida in 1940) reports from the very edges of understanding, from areas normally seen as inimical to consciousness and therefore “unknowable.” Witness (2000) uses spoken testimonies of alien contact delivered by people from around the globe. Channels (2013) travels beyond the event horizon of death, relaying records of near-death experiences through the flicker of cathode tube television sets.

Language is central to Hiller’s work, and The Last Silent Movie (2007) and Lost and Found (2016) invoke language itself as a cultural construction that contains and generates worlds. In The Last Silent Movie we hear recordings of extinct and endangered tongues. A stunning variety of sound waves seek to trigger the neural responses of understanding and communication: but each language is dying or, like many of the speakers we hear, now dead. Instead of understanding the sounds, on an otherwise blank screen our eyes read the meaning of the phrases, translated into subtitles of a still-dominant language, one that has been instrumental in silencing the speakers of Lenape or those of Southern Sámi.

For Hiller, the act of representing, of bringing into view, is active and dissonant rather than memorializing or romantic. It animates signals that run interference on dominant codes. Lost and Found continues her focus on language groups and their speakers but now includes languages that might be leaving the archive to be spoken in the present and the future. As if to reinforce the physicality of these possible returns and survivals, a flexing green oscilloscope line tracks the sound made by the voiced plosives, fricatives, and aspirations. This moving wave also acts as a synecdoche for the arena of technology; although the production of a prevailing and flattening culture, it also operates as a platform used by the excluded and the marginalized for agency and expression. Technology allows the voices of the dead to be heard. On being heard, these voices return to the living to be mouthed, to articulate the particular mappings and experiences of the worlds that these languages describe and contain.

—Richard Grayson

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Susan Hiller

Susan Hiller’s practice takes us to the edges of the known world, to locations where our usual ways of mapping become hesitant. We are presented with the possibility that our accepted means of orientation…

 More
Artists

Susan Hiller

Susan Hiller, Lost and Found (2016), Videoinstallation, Farbe, Ton, 20 min (Loop), © Susan Hiller/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy Susan Hiller und Lisson Gallery, London, New York, Milan

Susan Hiller, The Last Silent Movie, 2007–08, zweikanal-Videoinstallation, Athener Konservatorium (Odeion), Athen, © Susan Hiller/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, documenta 14, Foto: Mathias Völzke

Susan Hiller, Lost and Found, 2016, Digitalvideo, Installationsansicht, Grimmwelt Kassel, Kassel, documenta 14, © Susan Hiller/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, Foto: Liz Eve

Susan Hillers künstlerische Praxis führt uns an die Grenzen der bekannten Welt, an Orte, wo wir in unseren gewohnten Kartierungsprozessen innehalten. Sie konfrontiert uns mit der Möglichkeit, das unsere herkömmlichen Orientierungsinstrumente keineswegs autoritativer Natur sind, sondern zufällig und konstruiert. Dass die Karten, auf die wir uns üblicherweise verlassen, fremde Territorien nicht nur entbergen oder darstellen können, sondern ebenso ausblenden und ausgrenzen. Hiller (1940 in Florida geboren) berichtet von den Grenzregionen der Erkenntnis, die – so das allgemeine Verständnis – dem Bewusstsein nicht zugänglich und daher „unbegreifbar“ sind. Witness (2000) etwa basiert auf mündlichen Aussagen von Menschen aus der ganzen Welt, die von ihren Begegnungen mit Außerirdischen erzählen. Channels (2013) wiederum lässt den Ereignishorizont des Todes hinter sich und berichtet im Flimmern unzähliger Röhrenfernseher von Nahtoderfahrungen.

Sprache spielt in Hillers Werk eine zentrale Rolle. In The Last Silent Movie (2007) und Lost and Found (2016) beschwört die Künstlerin die Sprache selbst als kulturelles Konstrukt, das unterschiedliche Welten enthält und generiert. So bringt The Last Silent Movie Aufnahmen ausgestorbener und gefährdeter Sprachen zu Gehör. Es ist eine verblüffende Vielfalt an Schallwellen, die die neuronalen Netzwerke des Verstehens und Kommunizierens in Gang zu setzen suchen – doch die jeweilige Sprache ist im Aussterben begriffen oder, wie viele der Sprecher_innen, bereits tot. Anstatt die Laute zu verstehen, lesen wir auf einem ansonsten leeren Bildschirm die Bedeutung des Gesagten – übersetzt in eine unverändert dominante Sprache, die wesentlichen Anteil daran hatte, die Sprecher_innen von Lenape oder Südsamisch zum Schweigen zu bringen.

Der Akt des Darstellens, des Sichtbarmachens ist bei Susan Hiller weder romantisch, noch dient er der Erinnerung. Als aktiver, dissonanter Vorgang beseelt er Zeichen, die den vorherrschenden Codes zuwiderlaufen. In Lost and Found setzt sich die Künstlerin einmal mehr mit Sprachgruppen und ihren Sprecher_innen auseinander, inkludiert jedoch diesmal Sprachen, die das Archiv hinter sich lassen könnten, um heute und in Zukunft gesprochen zu werden. Wie um die physische Präsenz dieser potenziellen Wiederkehrens- und Überlebensprozesse zu betonen, zeichnet der grüne, geschwungene Graph eines Oszilloskops den Klang der Plosive, Frikative und Aspirationen nach. Gleichzeitig steht diese Wellenbewegung auch für die Welt der Technik. Als Produkt einer dominanten, nivellierenden Kultur bietet sie den Ausgegrenzten und Marginalisierten eine Plattform, um zu handeln und sich auszudrücken. Es ist die Technik, die die Stimmen der Toten vernehmbar macht. Werden sie gehört, so kehren sie unter die Lebenden zurück, um artikuliert zu werden, um die Kartierungen und Erfahrungen jener Welten zum Ausdruck zu bringen, die in diesen Sprachen enthalten und beschrieben sind.

— Richard Grayson

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge