Roger Bernat

Roger Bernat, Desplazamiento del Palacio de la Moneda (Displacement of the Palacio de la Moneda, 2014), performance, Santiago, photo: Pamela Albarracín

First, imagine a theater with no actors. Now get rid of the stage. Then take out the walls and the chairs. What remains? The audience—a public confronted, as in a mirror, with itself, no longer able to escape by simply consuming the play being performed; a public whose relationship with theater can no longer be anything but an act of cannibalism, the consumption of their own dramatic condition.

In 2008, Barcelona-based theater artist Roger Bernat, born in 1968, created Domini Públic (Public space), a show in which those attending are presented with headphones and guided by instructions relayed so that they “act” among the pedestrians crossing a square. Rather than pandering to a fiction of a category of actors distinct from the rest of us, the piece isolates its participants and confronts them with the responsibility of having to perform, while also constructing an ephemeral social architecture. In Númax-Fagor-Plus (2014), Bernat stages a reenactment of the workers’ assemblies at the Spanish Númax and Fagor factories in 1979 and 2013, respectively, using declarations from the former struggle as theatrical protocols for workers who lost their jobs in the latter. Perhaps the most ambitious of his proposals, as much for its genealogical importance as for its scale, is Desplazamiento del Palacio de la Moneda (2014), in which social and neighborhood organizations in Santiago transported a small-scale model of La Moneda—the icon of democratic possibility damaged during the 1973 Chilean coup—to the lowest per capita income areas of the city. The mobile stage accompanying it gave onlooker-participants the chance to voice their concerns without preconception, turning them into actors for an unwritten scenario. Here, expanded theater becomes a far-reaching device for an audience destined to perform (or fail to perform) history.

Bernat’s work provokes a dissolution of drama, but that dissolution is also a generalization of the theatrical device. There is no theater because theater is everywhere. That generalized form becomes a critical tool at the paradoxical crossroads of the crisis of representative democracy, when new modes of interchange and knowledge production, fostered by horizontal technologies that erase the positions of emitter and receiver, contend with the return of fascist fantasies of unmediated access to communal truth. As Bernat states, “Democracy is not just a form of government, but a way of representing reality.” Taking a lead role in this scenario, participatory theater “takes on the responsibility of developing a critique of the devices—screens, platforms, networks—which run things today.”

—Paul B. Preciado

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Roger Bernat

First, imagine a theater with no actors. Now get rid of the stage. Then take out the walls and the chairs. What remains? The audience—a public confronted, as in a mirror, with itself, no longer able…

 More
Artists

Roger Bernat

Roger Bernat, Desplazamiento del Palacio de la Moneda (Versetzung des Palacio de La Moneda, 2014), Performance, Santiago de Chile, Foto: Pamela Albarracín

Stellen Sie sich zunächst ein Theater ohne Schauspieler_innen vor. Dann lassen Sie auch die Bühne weg. Und die Wände und die Sessel. Was bleibt? Das Publikum – eine wie in einem Spiegel auf sich selbst zurückgeworfene Öffentlichkeit, jeder Fluchtmöglichkeit durch simples Konsumieren eines Stücks beraubt. Eine Öffentlichkeit, deren Beziehung zum Theater auf einen kannibalischen Akt reduziert ist, auf das Konsumieren der eigenen dramatischen Verhältnisse.

In dem 2008 von dem in Barcelona lebenden, 1968 geborenen Theaterkünstler Roger Bernat kreierten Stück Domini Públic (Public Space) erhalten die Anwesenden per Kopfhörer Anweisungen, nach denen sie inmitten von Fußgänger_innen, die einen Platz überqueren, agieren beziehungsweise „spielen“. Das Stück frönt nicht der Fiktion, Schauspieler_innen seien eine eigene, vom Rest der Menschheit verschiedene Kategorie. Es konfrontiert die isolierten Teilnehmer_innen mit der Verantwortung, spielen und zugleich eine ephemere soziale Architektur erschaffen zu müssen. Númax-Fagor-Plus (2014) stellt Arbeiterversammlungen in den spanischen Fabriken Númax (1979) und Fagor (2013) nach, wobei Aussagen aus dem ersten Kampf als theatralisches Protokoll für jene Arbeiter_innen dienen, die in letzterer ihre Stelle verloren. Desplazamiento del Palacio de la Moneda (2014) ist das vielleicht ambitionierteste Projekt von Bernat, sowohl in Bezug auf seine genealogische Bedeutung als auch im Hinblick auf seine Dimensionen. Sozialorganisationen und Nachbarschaftsvereine in Santiago brachten ein kleines Modell von La Moneda – ein im chilenischen Militärputsch von 1973 kompromittiertes Symbol demokratischer Möglichkeiten – in die Stadtviertel mit dem niedrigsten Pro-Kopf-Einkommen. Die mitgeführte mobile Bühne bot Zuseher_innen und Schaulustigen die Chance, ihre Anliegen spontan zu formulieren, und machte sie zu Akteur_innen und Schauspieler_innen eines ungeschriebenen Szenarios. Hier wird das Theater in seiner erweiterten Form zum mächtigen Instrument eines Publikums, das dazu bestimmt ist, Geschichte (nicht) zur Aufführung zu bringen.

Bernats Arbeiten provozieren die Auflösung des Theaters, doch diese Auflösung ist gleichbedeutend mit seiner Generalisierung. Es gibt kein Theater, denn das Theater ist überall. In dieser Verallgemeinerung wird es, am paradoxen Wendepunkt der Krise unserer repräsentativen Demokratie, zu einem kritischen Instrument: in einer Zeit, in der neue Formen des Austausches und der Wissensproduktion – ermöglicht durch horizontale Technologien, die Sender und Empfänger überflüssig machen – mit wiederkehrenden faschistischen Fantasien eines unmittelbaren Zugangs zu allgemein gültigen Wahrheiten ringen. In den Worten Bernats: „Demokratie ist nicht nur eine Regierungsform, sondern eine Art der Repräsentation von Realität.“ Das partizipative Theater, Hauptdarsteller dieses Szenarios, „trägt die Verantwortung dafür, eine Kritik jener Instrumente – Bildschirme, Plattformen, Netzwerke – zu formulieren, die das Leben heute bestimmen“.

— Paul B. Preciado

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

The Place of the Thing

von Roger Bernat/FFF

Der „Schwurstein“, vor welchem man 399 v. Chr. Sokrates den Prozess machte, wird nach Deutschland verschickt. Ehe er am Thingplatz in Kassel begraben wird, wandert er an verschiedene Orte der Stadt…

 Mehr
Kalender