Daniel Knorr

Daniel Knorr, Expiration Movement Manifest (2017), materialization in various media, dimensions variable, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Daniel Knorr, Βιβλίο Καλλιτέχνη, 2017, materialization, installation view, Athens Conservatoire (Odeion), documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, photo: Mathias Völzke

Daniel Knorr, Expiration Movement, 2017, smoke and manifesto, Zwehrenturm, Kassel, documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, photo: Bernd Borchardt

Q: What was the first work of art you ever sold?
A: It was a watercolor by my uncle that I pretended was mine.1

Daniel Knorr’s contrarian reply is reminiscent of Paul de Man prefacing his essay “The Concept of Irony” with the remark that—since irony is not a concept—the title of his essay is ironic (by way of introduction to his literary theory, the theory of the subject and his complicated ontology). But why should Knorr be evasive? His reply conveys truth and falsity, wit and seriousness—leaving things unsaid, to be filled in by projection.

Knorr, born in Bucharest in 1968, is an expert in obfuscation and the “blurring of contours.”2 Representing Romania at the 51st Venice Biennale, he offers up an empty pavilion (European Influenza, 2005). Or is it empty? What if this void were suddenly to acquire weight—but of what? What notions of representation, identity, legacy? Or what fantasies about these? How dense can this void become, and does it have the power to pull down the walls of Venice, tired of ornate decor? How is one to perceive the statues of kings, bishops, and generals on which Knorr has put balaclavas, making them look like terrorists (Stolen History, 2008)? What stereotypes does the artist set in motion by sending into the street robots he has made to look like street beggars (Lui & Morty, 2002)? And what contexts are brought to life by hanging the colorful flags of semisecret student fraternities on the Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin (Nationalgalerie, 2008)? Knorr’s works are suspended in a treacherous “halfway space” where things, places, historical facts, and identifications can shift from one apparently stable set of connotations to a completely different one.

Knorr’s works materialize in many forms: in a gallery, in public space, as a text, a newspaper, an advertisement, even as a conversation. Each of these, like de Man’s irony, is carried by the energy of polysemy—the conviction that reality can be represented in a plethora of ways, which are not only contradictory but also inherently unstable. For Knorr, irony is not the goal: it is a tool that introduces unruly detachment—undermining, ridiculing, and demystifying reality, putting it within inverted commas.

For how—other than as ironic—can one interpret the ambiguity of Daniel Knorr’s reply to an apparently simple question?

—Marta Dziewańska

1 Lori Fredrickson, “9 Questions for ‘Depression Elevations’ Artist Daniel Knorr,” Blouin Artinfo (July 29, 2013).

2 Wayne C. Booth, The Rhetoric of Irony (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1974), p. 270.

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Expiration Movement

by Daniel Knorr

It all depends on the windʼs direction and force. When the wind blows upwards, the Zwehrenturm transforms into a chimney and reminds me of a factory—the art market as industry. But the billows of smoke…

 More
Calendar

Daniel Knorr

Daniel Knorr, Expiration Movement Manifest (2017), Materialisierung in verschiedenen Medien, Maße variabel, © Daniel Knorr/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

F: Was war das erste Kunstwerk, das Sie jemals verkauft haben?
A: Ein Aquarell meines Onkels, das ich als meines ausgab.1

Daniel Knorrs eigenwillige Antwort erinnert an Paul de Mans Vorbemerkung zu „The Concept of Irony“, in der er – da Ironie eben kein Konzept ist – den Titel seines Essays als ironisch bezeichnet (als Einführung zu seiner Literaturtheorie, Theorie des Subjekts und komplizierten Ontologie). Doch weshalb weicht Knorr aus? In seiner Replik schwingen Wahrheit und Unwahrheit mit, Witz und Ernsthaftigkeit – er lässt Dinge ungesagt, die wir durch unsere Projektionen ergänzen.

Knorr, 1968 in Bukarest geboren, ist ein Spezialist, wenn es darum geht, Dinge zu verschleiern und „Konturen zu verwischen“.2 So präsentiert er uns als Vertreter Rumäniens bei der 51. Biennale von Venedig einen leeren Pavillon (European Influenza, 2005). Leer? Was, wenn dieses Nichts unvermittelt an Gewicht gewänne – doch wodurch? Durch welche Ideen von Repräsentation, Identität, Vermächtnis? Durch welche Fantasien, die diese Ideen in uns auslösen? Wie dicht kann dieses Nichts werden, und ist es imstande, die Mauern von Venedig niederzureißen, überdrüssig allen prunkvollen Dekors? Was sollen wir von Königen, Bischöfen und Generälen halten, denen Knorr Balaklavas überzieht, sodass sie wie Terroristen aussehen (Stolen History, 2008)? Mit welchen Stereotypen operiert der Künstler, wenn er Roboter auf die Straße schickt, die Straßenbettlern ähneln (Lui & Morty, 2002)? Und auf welche Zusammenhänge spielen die bunten Fahnen mehr oder weniger geheimer Studentenverbindungen an, die die Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin schmücken (Nationalgalerie, 2008)? Knorrs Arbeiten schweben in einem trügerischen „Zwischen-Raum“, in dem die vermeintlich stabilen Konnotationen von Dingen, Orten, historischen Fakten und Identifikationen völlig neue Bedeutungen hmen können.

Seine Werke erscheinen in vielerlei Form: in Galerien und öffentlichen Räumen, als Text, Zeitung, Werbung, ja, sogar als Gespräch. Sie alle speisen sich, wie de Mans Ironie, aus der Dynamik der Polysemie – aus der Überzeugung, dass es unzählige Möglichkeiten gibt, die Realität darzustellen; Möglichkeiten, die nicht nur widersprüchlich, sondern auch grundsätzlich instabil sind. Nicht die Ironie ist Knorrs Ziel: Er sieht sie als Werkzeug, das eine trotzige Distanzierung ermöglicht – indem sie die Realität untergräbt und verspottet, entmystifiziert und in Anführungszeichen setzt.

Denn wie – außer als ironisch – könnten wir die Doppelbödigkeit von Daniel Knorrs Antwort auf eine vermeintlich simple Frage sonst verstehen?

— Marta Dziewańska

1 Lori Fredrickson, „9 Questions for ‚Depression Elevations‘ Artist Daniel Knorr“, in: Blouin Artinfo, 29. Juli 2013.

2 Wayne C. Booth, The Rhetoric of Irony, Chicago: University of Chicago Press 1974, S. 270.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Expiration Movement

von Daniel Knorr

Alles richtet sich nach dem Wind, woher er weht und wie stark. Wenn der Wind aufwärts steigt, wird der Zwehrenturm zum Schornstein, und erinnert mich an eine Fabrik—der Kunstmarkt als Industrie. Aber…

 Mehr
Kalender