Anna Daučíková

Anna/Anča Daučíková, Výchova dotykom (Upbringing by touch, 1996), one of five black-and-white inkjet prints on aluminum, 80 × 84 cm each

One could say that Anna/Anča Daučíková is the first Czech/Slovak feminist female artist—except that Daučíková’s work problematizes the terms of this seemingly simple enunciation. Who can claim to be the first? Who can act in a nation’s name? What does it mean to be feminist? Can a subject to whom female gender has been assigned at birth resist becoming female? Who qualifies as an artist?

Daučíková was born in 1950 in what was at the time Czechoslovakia. After graduating from the Academy of Fine Arts in Bratislava, she moved to Moscow in the 1980s—when everybody was trying to travel in the opposite direction. She didn’t do it for politics, she did it for love: she was following a woman to a country where, according to its government, homosexuality did not exist. In Moscow she lived as a glassblower and an undercover lesbian while practicing automatic abstract painting, photography, and writing. She worked in secret on Scene Book (2014), in which she détourned state surveillance techniques to create a script for a film that was never made, a scientific and literary, irreverent and hilarious account of her neighbors’ sex lives. She traveled often to Ukraine, visiting outcast painters and dissident intellectuals. But she didn’t do it for politics, she did it for love.

On the strength of her glasswork and painting, Daučíková became a member of the Soviet Artists’ Union. Nevertheless, like homosexuality, her conceptual and video/photography work was invisible in Moscow; otherwise she could have become the first lesbian Soviet artist—or even the first transgender Soviet video artist. Daučíková’s transitioning, Anna becoming Anča (now preferring Anna), involved moving from glassmaking and painting into video, using the camera and editing as prosthetic organs. She returned to Bratislava in 1991—when everybody was traveling in the opposite direction—where she cofounded the queer feminist journal Aspekt. Videos such as Queen’s Finger (1997), Kissing Hour (1997), Home Exercise (1998), and We Care about Your Eyes (2002) include enactments of the everyday disrupted by rough editing. In Portrait of a Woman with Institution—Anča Daučíková with Roman Catholic Church (2011), a woman sues her husband for divorce on the grounds of his inability to satisfy her sexually. The artist plays every role—the woman, the male ecclesiastical examiner, and the male witness. Daučíková’s work could be described in fact as a political anatomy carried out through a series of displaced self-portraits, taking up documentary techniques, fiction, and drag to mock and decenter norms of gender, church, and state.

—Paul B. Preciado

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Anna Daučíková

Anna/Anča Daučíková, Výchova dotykom (Erziehung durch Berührung, 1996), einer von fünf Inkjet-Prints auf Aluminium, je 80 × 84 cm

Man könnte Anna/Anča Daučíková als erste tschechische/slowakische Künstlerin bezeichnen, die sich dem Feminismus verschrieben hat – wäre da nicht die Tatsache, dass Daučíkovás Werk alle Aspekte dieser vermeintlich simplen Formulierung infrage stellt. Wer kann für sich in Anspruch nehmen, die Erste zu sein? Wer darf im Namen einer Nation handeln? Was bedeutet es, Feministin zu sein? Kann sich ein Individuum, das bei seiner Geburt dem weiblichen Geschlecht zugeordnet wurde, dem Frauwerden entziehen? Wer darf sich Künstlerin nennen?

Daučíková wurde 1950 in der Tschechoslowakei geboren. In den 1980er Jahren, nach ihrem Studium an der Hochschule der bildenden Künste in Bratislava, zog es sie nach Moskau – zu einer Zeit, als alle anderen in den Westen wollten. Nicht der Politik, sondern der Liebe wegen: Daučíková folgte einer Frau in ein Land, in dem Homosexualität offiziell nicht existierte. In Moskau, wo sie als Glasbläserin und Undercover-Lesbe lebte, widmete sie sich der abstrakten automatischen Malerei, der Fotografie, dem Schreiben. Daneben entwarf sie in Anlehnung an staatliche Überwachungstechniken ein geheimes Drehbuch für einen Film, der nie gedreht werden sollte: Scene Book – eine wissenschaftliche und literarische, respektlose und vergnügliche Beschreibung der sexuellen Aktivitäten ihrer Nachbarn. Häufige Besuche in die Ukraine führten sie zu verfemten Maler_innen und regimekritischen Intellektuellen. Nicht der Politik, sondern der Liebe wegen.

Daučíková wurde dank ihrer Glasarbeiten und ihrer Malerei Mitglied im sowjetischen Künstlerverband, doch ihre konzeptuellen Arbeiten, ihre Fotografien und Videos waren in Moskau ähnlich unsichtbar wie Homosexualität. Andernfalls hätte sie die erste lesbische Künstlerin – oder gar die erste Transgender-Videokünstlerin – der Sowjetunion werden können. Im Zuge ihrer Verwandlung von Anna zu Anča (die heute den Namen Anna vorzieht) gab Daučíková Glasbläserei und Malerei auf und widmete sich der Videokunst; die Kamera, das Editieren der Filme wurden zu ihren Prothesen. 1991 kehrte die Künstlerin nach Bratislava zurück, wo sie das feministische Queer-Magazin Aspekt mitbegründete – zu einer Zeit, als alle anderen in den Osten wollten. Videos wie Queen’s Finger (1997), Kissing Hour (1997), Home Exercise (1998) und We Care about Your Eyes (2002) verstehen sich als Inszenierungen des Alltäglichen, aufgebrochen durch schroffen Filmschnitt. In Portrait of a Woman with Institution – Anča Daučíková with Roman Catholic Church (2011) verklagt eine Frau ihren Mann mangels sexueller Befriedigung auf Scheidung. Sämtliche Rollen – die Frau, der für die Überprüfung zuständige Priester, der männliche Zeuge – werden dabei von der Künstlerin selbst gespielt. Man könnte Daučíkovás Arbeit als politische Anatomie in Form verschobener Selbstporträts beschreiben: Elemente aus Dokumentation, Fiktion und Drag werden aufgegriffen, um von Geschlecht, Kirche und Staat vorgegebene Normen zu verspotten und ihrer zentralen Bedeutung zu berauben.

— Paul B. Preciado

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook