Lala Rukh

1985 Women’s Action Forum calendar, offset print, 61.5 × 40.5 cm

In his novel Ada, or Ardor (1969), Vladimir Nabokov writes, “Maybe the only thing that hints at a sense of Time is rhythm; not the recurrent beats of the rhythm but the gap between two such beats, the gray gap between black beats: the Tender Interval.” Lala Rukh’s drawings and print-based works operate in this realm of timekeeping, their visual terrains mapped by rhythm. She occupies the interval between two wave patterns, following the subtle transformations of moonlight, sand gradients, and archaeological topography while also pursuing the lines of dissent in street protests and across the women’s movement.

Born in Lahore in 1948, Lala has for decades been an active member of the Women’s Action Forum (WAF)—one of South Asia’s most significant platforms for women’s rights and feminisms of the Global South—and her studio practice and role as an educator has consistently expanded into the public domain. The visual elements that accrue on her page are often particle-sized, yet they transact on multiple scales. By drawing spaces she charts horizons, drifting between sight and nonsight, expansion and restraint, and Lala’s pared-down vocabulary seems almost to have its own agency, often exposing a hidden choreography of ciphers in her scores. This is her own language, a constellation of calligraphic form, minimalism, and symbolic writing.

Lala developed a notational system through her training in Islamic calligraphy and her close involvement with musical traditions from across the Indian subcontinent. Of particular importance is her participation in following and archiving the All Pakistan Music Conference, initiated by the artist’s father, Hayat Ahmad Khan, in 1959. Lala’s drawings reflect the live quality of performed music, indexing sonic ruptures and melodic sequences as a graphic sensibility. Her current works look to build a stop-motion animation upon the percussive scheme of a Hindustani classical taal called rupak, which has a seven-beat structure. Drawing turns into movement, rendering the expansion of the beat in time, and creating a diagrammatic visual relationship with the pulsation of an instrument.

—Natasha Ginwala

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

All Pakistan Music Archive

with Lala Rukh and Qasim Ahmed

All-Pakistan Music Conference archive presentation and listening session with Lala Rukh and Qasim Ahmed

 More
Calendar

Lala Rukh
(1948–2017)

Kalender des Women’s Action Forum (1985), Offsetdruck, 61,5 × 40,5 cm

In seinem Roman Ada oder Das Verlangen (1969) schreibt Vladimir Nabokov: „Vielleicht ist das einzige, was auf einen Zeitsinn hinweist, Rhythmus; nicht die wiederkehrenden Schläge des Rhythmus, sondern die Lücke zwischen zwei solchen Schlägen, die graue Lücke zwischen zwei schwarzen Schlägen: das zärtliche Intervall.“ In diesem Reich der Zeitmessung sind auch Lala Rukhs Zeichnungen und druckgrafische Werke zu verorten; Rhythmus kartiert das visuelle Terrain ihrer Arbeiten. Lala Rukh besetzt das Intervall zwischen zwei Wellenmustern; sie zeichnet die subtilen Veränderungen des Mondlichts, den Verlauf von Sand und archäologische Topografien nach, verfolgt aber auch Widerspruchslinien in Straßenprotesten und im Rahmen der Frauenbewegung.

Die Künstlerin, 1948 in Lahore geboren, engagiert sich seit Jahrzehnten aktiv im Women’s Action Forum, einer der wichtigsten Plattformen in Südasien für Frauenrechte und Feminismen des Globalen Südens. Gleichzeitig hat sie ihre Atelierpraxis und ihre Rolle als Pädagogin konsequent auf die öffentliche Sphäre ausgedehnt. Die visuellen Elemente, die in ihren Arbeiten kumulieren, sind oft nicht größer als Partikel und entfalten ihre Wirkung doch in unterschiedlichsten Maßstäben. Rukh zeichnet Räume, um Horizonte zu kartografieren, driftet dabei zwischen Sehen und Nichtsehen, Expansion und Verhaltenheit. Beinahe scheint es, als würde sich ihr reduziertes Vokabular verselbständigen; immer wieder wird in ihren Partituren eine verborgene, mit Chiffren spielende Choreografie sichtbar. Dies ist Lala Rukhs Sprache, eine Kombination aus kalligrafischen Formen, Minimalismus und symbolischer Schrift.

Durch ihre Ausbildung in islamischer Kalligrafie und ihre enge Beziehung zu den musikalischen Traditionen des indischen Subkontinents hat die Künstlerin ein eigenes Notationssystem entwickelt. Von besonderer Bedeutung in diesem Zusammenhang ist ihre Mitwirkung an der 1959 von ihrem Vater Hayat Ahmad Khan gegründeten All Pakistan Music Conference und deren Archivierung. Lala Rukhs Zeichnungen verströmen die Lebendigkeit von Livemusik, sie verzeichnen klangliche Brüche und melodische Sequenzen mit grafischer Sensibilität. In ihren aktuellen Arbeiten versucht Lala Rukh eine Art Stop-Motion-Animation zu schaffen, ausgehend von der Rhythmusstruktur eines klassischen indischen Tala namens Rupak, der aus sieben Schlägen besteht. Zeichnen verwandelt sich in Bewegung, es spiegelt die Ausdehnung des Rhythmus in der Zeit wider und erzeugt eine anschauliche visuelle Beziehung zum Pulsieren eines Instruments.

— Natasha Ginwala

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

All Pakistan Music Archive

mit Lala Rukh und Qasim Ahmed

Präsentation des Archivs der All-Pakistan Music Conference und Listening Session mit Lala Rukh und Qasim Ahmed

 Mehr
Kalender