Gauri Gill

Gauri Gill, Jogiyon ka Dera, from the series “Notes from the Desert” (1999– ), gelatin silver print

Hooran balances precariously on a jagged rock in Barmer, Rajasthan. Her hands are curled up like claws, and her gaze is fearsome. Mir Hasan clutches the body of his bedridden grandfather, Haji Saraj ud Din, and looks to the camera. These affecting photographs belong to “Notes from the Desert” (1999– ), part of Gauri Gill’s project to record the lived experiences of rural and migrant communities across the arid topography of Rajasthan, in Western India’s border terrain.

Taken during accumulated visits to the region, her archive of gelatin silver photographs write a history of intimate celebrations and shadows of loss, familial struggle, seasonal calamity, nomadism, and rural education. The making of the desert in a photograph is a sedimentary act; its residual logic relies on particles built up of trust, storytelling, and bearing witness. Gill frames a mode of being-in-common: refuting ethnography in favor of allegiance and companionship. The only color photographs in the archive, titled “Ruined Rainbow Pictures,” were shot by children learning photography, who discarded them as failed experiments. Gill salvages these light-leaked negatives and prints them as a set of serendipitous and playful encounters.

Gill’s lens regards classroom walls illustrated with diagrams, maps, charts, anatomical drawings, and political emblems—a visual grammar of collective learning marking the legacy of Leher Kaksha, a now-lapsed state scheme which created visual tools for the education of children. Gill, who was born in Chandigarh in 1970, worked as a photojournalist before shaping a more expansive and collaborative process, and journalistic scrutiny has given way to a poetics of survival in which small acts of freedom are reason to rejoice. Take Balika Mela (2011), her book of portraits of young rural women taken in a tented studio, or her work foregrounding the lives of female protagonists such as Izmat and Jannat in image and word sequences that inscribe a mnemonic space and biographical journey across the desert.

“Fields of Sight” (2013–16) is coauthored with third-generation Warli artist Rajesh Vangad, who lives in an Adivasi village in Dahanu, Western India. Gill’s black-and-white photographs plot landforms and village developments while observing her artist-collaborator as he guides her through his homeland. Vangad provides a second, complementary narrative—ink drawings in Warli iconography that traverse forested rivers, animist ritual, rare botanical species, a sky full of birds, and billowing chimney smoke from a local factory.

—Natasha Ginwala

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Negative Moment: Political Geology in the Twenty-First Century

by Nabil Ahmed, with images by Gauri Gill and Rajesh Chaitya Vangad
South Issue #8 [documenta 14 #3]

Gauri Gill

Gauri Gill, Jogiyon ka Dera, aus der Serie „Notes from the Desert“ (1999–), Silbergelatineabzug

Gewagt balanciert Hooran auf einem zerklüfteten Felsen in Barmer, Rajasthan. Ihre nach oben gedrehten Hände wirken wie Klauen, ihr Blick furchterregend. Mir Hasan klammert sich an den Körper seines bettlägerigen Großvaters Haji Saraj ud Din, seine Augen blicken in Richtung Kamera. Diese berührenden Aufnahmen stammen aus der Serie „Notes from the Desert“ (1999–) und sind Teil von Gauri Gills Projekt, Leben und Erfahrungen ländlicher und migrantischer Gemeinschaften in der kargen Landschaft Rajasthans im westindischen Grenzgebiet zu dokumentieren.

Das Archiv der Künstlerin besteht aus Silbergelatineabzügen und entstand während wiederholter Aufenthalte in der Region. Die Fotografien erzählen von privaten Feiern ebenso wie von Verlust, familiären Konflikten, jahreszeitlich bedingter Not, Nomadentum und ländlicher Bildung. Das Erschaffen der Wüste in einer Fotografie gleicht einem Akt der Sedimentation, aufbauend auf winzigen Teilchen, die ihrerseits aus Vertrauen, Geschichtenerzählen und Zeugenschaft geformt sind. Gill formuliert einen Modus des Miteinanders, indem sie Loyalität und Kameradschaft der ethnografischen Perspektive vorzieht. Die einzigen Farbaufnahmen in ihrem Archiv, betitelt als „Ruined Rainbow Pictures“, stammen von Kindern, die fotografieren lernten und die Bilder als misslungene Experimente verwarfen. Die Künstlerin hat die falsch beleuchteten Negative gerettet und präsentiert die Abzüge als Ensemble zufälliger, spielerischer Begegnungen.

Gills Linse betrachtet Klassenzimmer, deren Wände mit Diagrammen, Karten, Schaubildern, anatomischen Zeichnungen und politischen Symbolen geschmückt sind – eine visuelle Grammatik des kollektiven Lernens, die das Erbe eines Regierungsprogramms namens Leher Kaksha sichtbar macht. Ziel des mittlerweile ausgelaufenen Projekts war es, visuelle Lernmaterialien für Kinder zu schaffen. Die Künstlerin, 1970 in Chandigarh geboren, arbeitete als Fotojournalistin, ehe sie sich einem größeren, kollaborativen Prozess zuwandte und ihren prüfenden journalistischen Blick zugunsten einer Poetik des Überlebens aufgab, in der bereits kleine Akte der Freiheit Anlass zur Freude bieten. Denken wir nur an das Buch Balika Mela (2011) mit Porträts junger Frauen aus ländlichen Regionen, aufgenommen in einem Zelt-Atelier. Oder an Arbeiten, die das Leben von Frauen wie Izmat und Jannat in Bild- und Textsequenzen beleuchten, die die Wüste in einen Ort der Erinnerung und biografischen Reise verwandeln.

„Fields of Sight“ (2013–2016) entstand gemeinsam mit Rajesh Vangad, einem Warli-Künstler der dritten Generation, der in einem Adivasi-Dorf im westindischen Dahanu lebt. Die Schwarz-Weiß-Bilder zeigen Landschaften und dörfliche Strukturen und folgen Gills künstlerischem Partner auf dem Weg durch seine Heimat. Vangad ergänzt die Aufnahmen durch ein weiteres Narrativ – Tuschezeichnungen, deren Warli-Ikonografie von Wäldern umgegebene Flüsse, animistische Rituale, seltene Pflanzenarten, einen Himmel voller Vögel und Rauchschwaden aus dem Kamin einer lokalen Fabrik durchzieht.

— Natasha Ginwala

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Negativer Moment: Politische Geologie im 21. Jahrhundert

von Nabil Ahmed, mit Bildern von Gauri Gill and Rajesh Chaitya Vangad
South Issue #8 [documenta 14 #3]