Nikhil Chopra

Nikhil Chopra, The Death of Sir Raja III (2005), performance, Kitab Mahal, Mumbai, courtesy Nikhil Chopra and Chatterjee & Lal, Mumbai, photo: Shivani Gupta

Upon an oriental carpet, propped up with pillows, the mustachioed subject with kohl-lined eyes in Nikhil Chopra’s The Death of Sir Raja III (2005) projects the decrepit, decadent state of royalty after the expiry of its statute, burdened by finery. One iteration of a multi-episode project constructed around the fictional Indian aristocrat Sir Raja, it is typical of the Goa-based artist’s interest in blurring the distinctions between art, theater, cinema, painting, photography, installation, autobiography, and performance. In that blurriness—that space between spaces—he finds form.

After his education in Baroda (Vadodara), Gujarat, and during further study in the U.S., Chopra became interested in the crossover of theater and performance art. Through the shaping of protagonists and taxonomies of memory, the artist conceives live settings where the backdrop—wall drawings or panoramic paintings on cloth—is as significant as the human protagonist driving the narrative. Chopra, who was born in Calcutta (Kolkata), in 1974, casts scenes that are both historiographic and intensely proximate. In the style of early moving panoramas, the landscape horizon remains transient, therein framing a way of travel.

A gentleman in a top hat, Yog Raj Chitrakar (loosely based on the artist’s grandfather) faces a small crowd, and within the course of a few hours transforms into a lady draped in fake pearls and black lace. Meanwhile, a foreign landscape is drawn onto the wall in many shades of lipstick. Gender is repeatedly deconstructed in Chopra’s work: this embodied fluidity is not simply directed against the violence of a heteronormative society but unveils how the socialized body may attain freedom by altering its representational logic and public image.

In his durational performances, the undulations of time—its elasticity; its compression as ellipsis; a circuit of remembrance; its service in measuring labor—become perceptible. Ordinary life motions are bound together with transformative modes of staging the self. Therein lies the crux of how Chopra’s artistic work figures a tableau between stillness and motion, the solitary and the communal: never entirely complicit in a history of identity politics but instead “testing out” narratives of aristocracy, colonial modernity, and an itinerant minor subjecthood through different skins—masks, props, backdrops, and sets.

In his recent work, characters such as the Black Pearl in La Perle Noire (2014) set a course of capture and voyage: the struggles of being lost and found while crossing disparate geographies that include rivers, the desert, and cobbled streets. This migrating form continues in Chopra’s upcoming new work, which connects the cities of Athens and Kassel through a nomadic journey among people, landscapes, and cultural memory.

—Natasha Ginwala

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Drawing A Line Through Landscape

by Nikhil Chopra

Nikhil Chopra’s performance marks the end of a 3000-km road trip from Athens to Kassel. A large drawing created onroute—a montage of landscapes reflecting on migration and nomadism—is presented for…

 More
Calendar

Drawing a Line through Landscape: The Tent

by Nikhil Chopra

When seen from a distance, there is a constant glow within the tent as if it has a warm light switched on. In the day, the drawing is backlit and at night, when the oil lamps burn inside, it lights up…

 More
Notes

Departing for Drawing a Line through Landscape

by Nikhil Chopra

Nikhil Chopra departing for part 2 of Drawing a Line Through Landscape, Athens, May 13, 2017, photo: Angelos Giotopoulous…

 More
Notes

Drawing a Line through Landscape (Part 2: On the Road)

by Nikhil Chopra

After emerging from the muddy sea in part I of the durational performance Drawing a Line through Landscape in Athens, Nikhil Chopra takes on part 2 of the performance. This time he will make his way by…

 More
Calendar

Drawing a Line through Landscape

by Nikhil Chopra

Nikhil Chopra spends three days in the site-specific installation that he is realizing and produces a wall drawing of the open sea.

 More
Calendar

Nikhil Chopra

Nikhil Chopra, The Death of Sir Raja III (2005), Performance, Kitab Mahal, Mumbai, courtesy Nikhil Chopra und Chatterjee & Lal, Mumbai, Foto: Shivani Gupta

Auf einem orientalischen Teppich auf Polstern lagernd, verkörpert das Individuum mit Schnauzbart und kajalumrandeten Augen in Nikhil Chopras The Death of Sir Raja III (2005) den dekadenten Zustand einer mit Prunk beladenen Aristokratie, deren Zeit abgelaufen ist. Als eine von mehreren Episoden rund um den fiktiven indischen Adligen Sir Raja zeugt das Projekt vom Bestreben des in Goa lebenden Künstlers, die Grenzen zwischen Kunst, Theater, Film, Malerei, Fotografie, Installation, Autobiografie und Performance zu verwischen. Es ist diese Unschärfe – dieser Raum zwischen verschiedenen Räumen –, in der er seine Form findet.

Nach seiner Ausbildung in Baroda, Gujarat, und während weiterführender Studien in den USA begann sich Chopra für die Verbindung von Theater und Performancekunst zu interessieren. Darsteller und Taxonomien der Erinnerung modellierend, entwickelt er Live-Settings, deren Kulissen ebenso bedeutungsvoll sind wie der menschliche Protagonist, der die Erzählung vorantreibt. Die historiografischen Szenarien, die der 1974 in Kalkutta geborene Künstler entwirft, sind von äußerster Unmittelbarkeit. Die Vergänglichkeit des Landschaftshorizonts, angelehnt an frühe Formen des bewegten Panoramas, evoziert eine Form des Reisens.

Yog Raj Chitrakar, ein Gentleman mit Zylinderhut, steht vor einer kleinen Gruppe und verwandelt sich in wenigen Stunden in eine Lady, geschmückt mit falschen Perlen und schwarzer Spitze. Unterdessen entsteht auf der Wand in unterschiedlichsten Lippenstiftschattierungen die Zeichnung einer fremdartigen Landschaft. Chopras Arbeiten beschäftigen sich immer wieder mit der Dekonstruktion des sozialen Geschlechts. Diese Verflüssigung von Grenzen richtet sich in ihrer Verkörperung nicht nur gegen die Gewalt heteronormativer Gesellschaften. Sie zeigt auch Wege zur Befreiung des sozialisierten Körpers auf, durch einen Wandel seiner Repräsentationslogiken und seines öffentlichen Bildes.

Chopras Performances machen das Auf und Ab der Zeit spürbar, ihre Dehnbarkeit und ihre Verdichtung als Ellipse, den Kreislauf des Gedenkens, Zeit als Maß der Arbeit. Alltägliche Bewegungen verbinden sich mit transformativen Formen der Selbstinszenierung. Darin liegt der Schlüssel zu Chopras Arbeit, die ein Tableau aufspannt zwischen Reglosigkeit und Bewegung, Einsiedlertum und Gemeinschaft: keine bis zum Äußersten gehende Komplizenschaft in einer Geschichte der Identitätspolitik, sondern ein mittels unterschiedlicher Hüllen (Masken, Requisiten, Kulissen, Sets) erfolgendes „Austesten“ von Narrativen rund um Aristokratie, koloniale Moderne und eine niemals stillstehende, in ihrer Bedeutung reduzierte Subjekthaftigkeit.

In Chopras aktuellen Arbeiten geben Charaktere wie die schwarze Perle in La Perle Noire einen Kurs des Unterwegsseins und Erfassens vor: die Mühen des Verlorengehens und Gefundenwerdens beim Durchqueren disparater Geografien (wie Flüssen, Wüste, Straßen). Diese Form der Migration setzt sich auch in Chopras neuestem Werk fort, das Athen und Kassel miteinander verbindet: als nomadische Reise, die sich unter Menschen, Landschaften und kulturellem Gedächtnis abspielt.

— Natasha Ginwala

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Drawing A Line Through Landscape

von Nikhil Chopra

Nikhil Chopras Performance markiert das Ende einer 3.000 Kilometer langen Autoreise von Athen nach Kassel. Eine unterwegs entstandene, große Zeichnung – eine Montage von Landschaften, die über Migration…

 Mehr
Kalender

Drawing a Line Through Landscape: Das Zelt

von Nikhil Chopra

Aus der Ferne sieht man ein ständiges Leuchten im Zelt, als ob ein warmes Licht eingeschaltet worden wäre. Am Tage ist die Zeichnung von hinten beleuchtet, in der Nacht, wenn im Innern die Öllampe brennt…

 Mehr
Notizen

Departing for Drawing a Line through Landscape

von Nikhil Chopra

Nikhil Chopra bricht auf zum zweiten Teil von Drawing a Line Through Landscape, Athen, 13. Mai 2017, Foto: Angelos Giotopoulous…

 Mehr
Notizen

Drawing a Line through Landscape (Part 2: On the Road)

von Nikhil Chopra

Nachdem er in Teil 1 seiner Langzeit-Performance Drawing a Line through Landscape in Athen aus dem trüben Meer aufgetaucht ist, startet Nikhil Chopra nun zu Teil 2 der Performance. Dabei wird er vom 13…

 Mehr
Kalender

Drawing a Line through Landscape

von Nikhil Chopra

Nikhil Chopra verbringt in der von ihm geschaffenen standortspezifischen Installation drei Tage und fertigt eine Wandzeichnung des offenen Meeres an.

 Mehr
Kalender