Maria Eichhorn

Maria Eichhorn, Γέροντα 12, 10558 Αθήνα/Geronta 12, 10558 Athens, research photograph, 2016, © Maria Eichhorn/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Maria Eichhorn, Building as unowned property, 2017, conversion of a building's legal status, lot at Stavropoulou 15, documenta 14, Athens, © Maria Eichhorn/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, photo: Mathias Völzke

Maria Eichhorn, Unlawfully acquired books from Jewish ownership, installation view, Neue Galerie, Kassel, documenta 14, © Maria Eichhorn/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, photo: Mathias Völzke

Maria Eichhorn is waiting for me at her studio door. Inside, a spacious, austere, meticulously tidy loft welcomes, with elements of Japanese design softening the cold industrial architecture. We exchange warm greetings and small talk as she serves tea.

I explain that the documenta 14 organizers have asked me to write a short entry to accompany her contribution to the show (including the stipulation of the facts of her birth: Bamberg, Germany, 1962), and I’d like to know how she would describe the central concerns of her artistic practice. Maria mulls over my query. The silence becomes uncomfortable. I try to lighten the mood by mumbling that I realize the question is somewhat absurd. “I always try to avoid summing up my practice in general,” she replies, then encourages me to draw from the essay that I wrote with Nora Alter for the catalogue raisonné of her work put together by the Kunsthaus Bregenz in Austria.

We walk over to a large desk, and Maria picks up a quire of A4-size paper held together with a butterfly paper clamp. She points to the first lines and says: “You could use this paragraph. Don’t you agree?” The draft she hands me is not the one that made it into the catalogue raisonné. It reads: “Maria Eichhorn’s art, which is often punctuated by displacements and redirections, by interruptions that develop over time and destabilize normative forms, troubles the imaginary relationship of artworks to the field of art that is their context. Its displacement and reframing of existing conventions has become more complicated over the years. It has also become less discrete as the artist has interjected her work deeper and deeper into the art field’s operative processes. Yet, Eichhorn’s art does not entirely reject or oppose the dominant order of things in the field of art; it does not attempt to break free of its inescapable scope. Rather, it transforms its operating logic from within, seeking to enact permanent structural change while at the same time valuing the importance of its operation.” Since Maria likes this paragraph, I’m happy to go along with her idea.

It was chilly outside when I left the studio. The wind was getting up. But I kept walking. Minutes later I ducked into the U-Bahn at Pankstrasse in the direction of Hermannstrasse.

—Alexander Alberro

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related
03.30.2017

Rose Valland Institute Call for Papers
Orphaned Property in Europe

The Rose Valland Institute is an art project initiated by Maria Eichhorn within the context of documenta 14. The Institute is going public for the first time with a call for papers focusing on the topic…

 More
News

Maria Eichhorn

Maria Eichhorn, Γέροντα 12, 10558 Αθήνα/Geronta 12, 10558 Athen, Recherchefoto, 2016, © Maria Eichhorn/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Maria Eichhorn erwartet mich am Eingang ihres Ateliers. Wir betreten ein geräumiges, nüchternes und akribisch aufgeräumtes Loft, dessen kühle Industriearchitektur durch japanische Designelemente abgemildert wird. Während Maria Tee serviert, plaudern wir in herzlicher Atmosphäre und tauschen Grüße aus.

Ich erkläre, dass ich von den Veranstalter_innen der documenta 14 gebeten wurde, eine kurze Einführung zu ihrem Ausstellungsbeitrag zu verfassen (inklusive der Fakten zu Jahr und Ort ihrer Geburt: 1962, Bamberg), und bitte sie, mir die Hauptintentionen ihrer künstlerischen Praxis zu beschreiben. Maria sinnt über meine Frage nach. Als das Schweigen unbehaglich wird, versuche ich die Stimmung aufzulockern und murmle, dass ich mir der leichten Absurdität der Frage bewusst sei. „Ich versuche immer, ein allgemeines Resümee meiner Praxis zu vermeiden“, antwortet die Künstlerin. Dann legt sie mir nahe, auf einen Text zurückzugreifen, den ich gemeinsam mit Nora Alter für ein vom Kunsthaus Bregenz zusammengestelltes Werkverzeichnis ihrer Arbeiten verfasst habe.

Wir begeben uns zu einem großen Tisch, und Maria ergreift einen Stapel A4-Blätter, der mittels einer Papierklemme zusammengehalten wird. Sie weist auf die ersten Zeilen und sagt: „Du könntest diesen Absatz verwenden, glaubst du nicht?“ Der Entwurf, den sie mir reicht, hat es nicht ins Werkverzeichnis geschafft. Er lautet: „Maria Eichhorns Kunst mit ihren häufigen Verschiebungen und Umleitungen, mit Brüchen, die sich im Zeitablauf entfalten und normative Formen destabilisieren, stört die imaginäre Beziehung zwischen dem Werk und dem Feld der Kunst, das seinen Kontext bildet. Dieses Verschieben und Umdeuten bestehender Konventionen ist im Lauf der Jahre nicht nur komplexer, sondern auch weniger zurückhaltend geworden, stößt die Künstlerin mit ihrer Arbeit doch immer tiefer in die operativen Prozesse des Kunstfeldes vor. Und dennoch verschmäht und verwirft Eichhorns Arbeit die herrschende Ordnung der Kunst nicht völlig; sie versucht nicht, aus ihrem unentrinnbaren Rahmen auszubrechen. Stattdessen transformiert sie die Logik ihrer Abläufe von innen in dem Bemühen, ihre Strukturen dauerhaft zu verändern und gleichzeitig die Bedeutung ihres Wirkens zu würdigen.“ Da Maria dieser Absatz gefällt, greife ich ihre Idee gerne auf.

Es war kühl draußen, als ich das Atelier verließ, der Wind legte zu. Aber ich ließ mich nicht beirren und wenige Minuten später stieg ich bereits in der Pankstraße in die U-Bahn, die mich Richtung Hermannstraße brachte.

— Alexander Alberro

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge
30.03.2017

Rose Valland Institut Call for Papers
Verwaistes Eigentum in Europa

Das Rose Valland Institut ist ein künstlerisches Projekt von Maria Eichhorn im Rahmen der documenta 14. Mit einem Call for Papers zu dem Thema Verwaistes Eigentum in Europa tritt das Institut erstmals…

 Mehr
Neues