Katalin Ladik

Katalin Ladik, Ólomszonett (Sonnet of lead, 1975), zinc photo-etching plate, 22.5 × 12 cm

Katalin Ladik’s art is founded on movement. Everything is set in motion, in constant flux and transformation; there is no imitation, representation, narrative. Even the direction of movement is not defined (to define it would be to stymie it), changing dynamically and overcoming all in its path.

For Ladik, born in Novi Sad, Serbia, in 1942, is a poet (1). However, she finds paper—poetry’s traditional medium—too static, and replaces it with her (often naked) body: sensual, individual, and political. Her controversial poetic performances (2) were accompanied by graphic scores—collages arranged in evocative images (3) that she then interpreted in situ. Her vocal compositions were constructed around the material quality of sound. Stripping language of meaning, the artist broke it down to phonemes to expose the primeval, instinctive, and mechanical aspects of language (4). Her staggering vocal range (from overtones to bass) turned each of her public appearances, whether solo or as part of music and experimental art groups (5), into a social event (6). In dynamic instability, Ladik finds freedom; in incomplete definition, potential; in active indecision, an escape from easy generalizations. She endlessly reinvents her language(s). Her work is based on constant differentiation (7)—distortion, aberration, pause—yet remains surprisingly coherent.


(1) Ladik’s surrealist, erotic poems were first published in 1962 in Symposion, an avant-garde magazine for Vojvodina’s Hungarian ethnic minority > setting in motion strategies for multicultural coexistence within two different languages;

(2) In Vabljene (1970), Ladik performed a shamanistic, phonic poem with traditional Hungarian instruments and her own hair: a subversive exposure of the male-dominated, puritanical culture of the time > setting in motion the fight for the right to (artistic) freedom;

(3) Ladik’s collage scores, serving as templates for bodily and oral performances, rely on the juxtaposition of normally incompatible elements > setting in motion heuristics;

(4) Language is not a rational construct: it emerges from the complex metalinguistic space > setting in motion discontinuity;

(5) Ladik was a member of two polyphonic avant-garde music groups, Acezantez and Spiritus Noister. Her participation (1973–76) in the art collective Bosch+Bosch opened a new realm > setting in motion intermediality, collaboration, and creative dialogue;

(6) Around 1975, Ladik was expelled from the League of Communists of Yugoslavia, accused of “immorality”; it was then, paradoxically, that she became a star on state TV > the dynamics of “objectively” mobile reality;

(7) “I am an androgyne: a liar. Therefore sincere. // I am an object of art, a centaur.” 1

—Marta Dziewańska

1 Katalin Ladik, “Follow Me into the Mythology” (1981). Translated by József Aradi. 

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

All the in-between spaces

with Pina Bounce, Panos Charalambous, Mette Henriette, and Katalin Ladik

Performances
8:30 pm Mette Henriette
9:00 pm Katalin Ladik
9:45 pm Pina Bounce
10:45 pm Panos Charalamboous

“All the in-between spaces” is the title of a series of concerts and activities in dialogue with…

 More
Calendar

Katalin Ladik

Katalin Ladik, Ólomszonett (Bleisonnett, 1975), Foto-Druckplatte aus Zink, 22,5 × 12 cm

Bewegung ist die Grundlage von Katalin Ladiks Werk. Alle Arbeiten der Künstlerin sind in Bewegung, im Fluss, im Wandel begriffen; Imitation, Repräsentation und Narrative fehlen völlig. Selbst die Richtung der Bewegung bleibt offen (jede Vorgabe käme einer Fessel gleich), sie verändert sich dynamisch und bezwingt alles auf ihrem Weg.

Denn Katalin Ladik, 1942 im serbischen Novi Sad geboren, ist eine Poetin (1). Papier jedoch – das althergebrachte Medium der Poesie – ist ihr zu statisch, weshalb sie es durch ihren Körper ersetzt: sinnlich, individuell, politisch. Ihre kontroversen poetischen Performances (2) wurden von grafischen Partituren begleitet – in aufrüttelnden Bildern angeordnete Collagen (3), die die Künstlerin, oft nackt, in situ interpretierte. Ihre vokalen Kompositionen drehten sich um die grundlegende Natur von Tönen und Klängen. Sprache wurde ihrer Bedeutung entkleidet und in einzelne Phoneme zerlegt mit dem Ziel, die urtümlichen, instinktiven, mechanischen Aspekte des Sprechens bloßzulegen (4). Ladiks atemberaubendes stimmliches Repertoire (von Obertönen bis hin zum Bass) machte jeden ihrer öffentlichen Auftritte, ob als Solistin oder Mitglied von Musik- oder experimentellen Künstlergruppen (5), zu einem sozialen Ereignis (6). Ladik ist Poetin, bildende Künstlerin, Performerin und Schauspielerin – gleichzeitig. Sie ist fasziniert von Spannungen, Migration, Grenzüberschreitung. Sie verbindet dynamische Instabilität mit Freiheit, unvollkommene Definitionen mit Potenzial, dynamische Unschlüssigkeit mit einem Ausweg aus simpler Verallgemeinerung. Sie erfindet ihre Sprache(n) unablässig neu. Ihre Arbeit beruht auf permanenter Differenzierung (7) – Verzerrungen, Anomalien, Pausen, dissonanten Elementen – und ist dennoch überraschend kohärent.

(1)Ladiks surrealistische erotische Gedichte wurden erstmals 1962 in Symposion, einer Avantgarde-Zeitschrift für die ungarische Volksgruppe in der Vojvodina, veröffentlicht > Impulse für Strategien eines multikulturellen Zusammenlebens in zwei verschiedenen Sprachen.

(2)In Vabljene (1970) führte Ladik, nur von einem losen Bärenfell bedeckt, ein schamanistisches Lautgedicht mit einem traditionellen ungarischen Dudelsack, einer kleinen hautbezogenen Trommel und einem Bogen, mit dem sie ihr Haar spielte, auf: eine subversive Entlarvung der von Männern dominierten, puritanischen Kultur jener Zeit > Impulse für den Kampf um das Recht auf (künstlerische) Freiheit.

(3)Ladiks collagierte Partituren, die als Muster für Körper- und Stimmperformances dienen, basieren auf dem Nebeneinanderstellen eigentlich unvereinbarer Elemente > Impulse für heuristische Prozesse.

(4)Sprache ist kein rationales Konstrukt, sie entwickelt sich aus dem komplexen metasprachlichen Bereich > Impulse für Unstetigkeiten und Brüche.

(5)Ladik war Mitglied der beiden polyfonen Avantgarde-Musikgruppen Acezantez und Spiritus Noister. Ihre Teilnahme am Künstlerkollektiv Bosch+Bosch eröffnete einen neuen Bereich > Impulse für Intermedialität, Zusammenarbeit und kreativen Dialog.

(6)Als sich ein größeres Publikum für Ladiks Arbeit zu interessieren begann (etwa um das Jahr 1975), wurde die Künstlerin wegen „Sittenlosigkeit“ aus dem Bund der Kommunisten Jugoslawiens ausgeschlossen; paradoxerweise wurde sie gerade zu dieser Zeit ein Star im staatlichen Fernsehen > die Dynamik „objektiv“ mobiler Realität.

(7)„Ich bin ein androgynes Wesen: ein Lügner. Daher aufrichtig // Ich bin ein Objekt der Kunst, ein Zentaur.“ 1

— Marta Dziewańska

1 Katalin Ladik, „Folge mir in die Mythologie“ (1981). 

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

All the in-between spaces

mit Pina Bounce, Panos Charalambous, Mette Henriette und Katalin Ladik

Performances
8:30 pm Mette Henriette: In between
9:00 pm Katalin Ladik: Follow me into mythology
9:15 pm Pina Bounce: Trumpethood
10:00 pm Panos Charalambous: Voice-O-Graph

„All the in-between spaces“…

 Mehr
Kalender