Listening Space: All the in-between spaces
with Pina Bounce, Panos Charalambous, Mette Henriette, and Katalin Ladik

MAY
9
8:30 pm
Megaron, The Athens Concert Hall, Vassilissis Sofias and Kokkali, Athens

Performances
8:30 pm Mette Henriette: In between
9:00 pm Katalin Ladik: Follow me into mythology
9:15 pm Pina Bounce: Trumpethood
10:00 pm Panos Charalambous: Voice-O-Graph

“All the in-between spaces” is a set of sonic performances in dialogue with the architecture and interiors of Megaron, the Athens Concert Hall. During the course of one evening in May, four performances occupy the foyers and intermediate spaces of the vast building complex, ascribing a parallel set of sonic values next to those established by the actual concert halls. In this way the role of architectonic structure and space within the perception of a musical experience is emphasized, and questions are raised about the “ideal” musical environment and the customs and hierarchies that constitute it.

“All the in-between spaces” is part of Listening Space, a documenta 14 project curated by documenta 14 Sound and Music Advisor Paolo Thorsen-Nagel. A coproduction of documenta 14 and The Athens Concert Hall Organization.


Mette Henriette — In Between
Saxophonist Mette Henriette performs a sounding choreography that passes through the space of the Lambrakis foyer’s first floor, evoking various in-between states through the use of light, movement, and sound.

Katalin Ladik — Follow me into mythology
Based on central female figures of Greek mythology, Katalin Ladik’s performance features choreography and vocal improvisation as she ascends an oval staircase while following a visual score.

Pina Bounce — Trumpethood
Trumpethood
is a narrative sound performance for trumpet and amplifier. Through the work, the contingencies of sound and space and their interaction are navigated along the oval staircase of Megaron’s new building.

Panos Charalambous — Voice-O-Graph
Voice-O-Graph
is a vinyl discovery, preservation, and re-use, as well as the physical manipulation of those found discs. Performed by Panos Charalambous with censored and disintegrated vinyl records, he alters them via various objects. To be held on the staircase between Skalkottas Hall and the new Megaron foyer.



Mette Henriette is a performing artist and composer from the north of Norway. She works with a range of artistic expressions and has collaborated with Marina Abramovic, Anton Corbijn, Office of Metropolitan Architecture (OMA), and CocoRosie. She played the opening concert of the Berlin Jazz Festival in 2016 and also performed numerous solos at The Royal Palace, Oslo, as well as the Sámi Parliament in Karasjok, Norway. In November 2015 her double debut album was released on the German record label ECM Records. Mette Henriette is currently working on a contribution to a new theater production directed by Robert Wilson.

Katalin Ladik is a Hungarian poet, performance artist, and actress. She explores language through visual and vocal expressions, as well as movement and gestures. Her work also includes collage, photography, records, performances, and happenings in both urban and natural environments. She has published numerous volumes of poetry, including Ballada az ezüstbicikliről (Ballad of Silver Bike, 1969) and Kiűzetés (Exile, 1988).

Pina Bounce is the solo project of Greek architect and musician Thalia Ioannidou. P.B. was born through Trumpetancy, an album for trumpet and amplifier that was commissioned by Orila records and Noise-below. The project serves as a vehicle for investigating the creation of space and narrative through sound. Other projects include Drog_a_tek, Minimaximum Improvision, the Erasers, Lost Bodies, Horror Vacui, and various music for film and theater as well as sound installations.

Panos Charalambous is a Greek artist. He explores the cyclical nature of time by manipulating historical sounds, voices, and diachronic ideas in an investigation of how physical and conceptual traces manifest in the present as fluctuating containers of meaning. Selected exhibitions include Glasgow – Political Capital of Europe (1990), in Glasgow, UK, and Whitehouse Biennial (2016), in Varna, Bulgaria. Charalambous is currently the Dean of the Athens School of Fine Arts.


Free entrance

Posted in Public Exhibition
Related

Panos Charalambous

“Where do voices go when we no longer hear them?” For more than a century they would go on gramophone records, 45 rpm singles, and 12-inch vinyl LPs, but also on some very special, handmade 78 rpm…

 More
Artists

Katalin Ladik

Katalin Ladik’s art is founded on movement. Everything is set in motion, in constant flux and transformation; there is no imitation, representation, narrative. Even the direction of movement is not defined…

 More
Artists

#5 documenta 6
​From a Jacob's Ladder to a TV Bed

with Panos Charalambous, Katerina Tselou, and Zafos Xagoraris

Panos Charalampous, Katerina Tselou, and Zafos Xagoraris see their point of departure as the year 1977. At documenta 6, which was held that year and curated by Manfred Schneckenburger, were presented diverse…

 More
Calendar

Listening Space

Listening Space is a program of events that attempts to explore and understand sound outside established hierarchies of music production and performance. In the project’s diverse concerts, lectures…

 More
Notes

Listening Space: All the in-between spaces
mit Pina Bounce, Panos Charalambous, Mette Henriette und Katalin Ladik

MAI
9
20:30 Uhr
Megaron, Die Athener Konzerthalle, Vassilissis Sofias und Kokkali, Athen
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Performances
8:30 pm Mette Henriette: In between
9:00 pm Katalin Ladik: Follow me into mythology
9:15 pm Pina Bounce: Trumpethood
10:00 pm Panos Charalambous: Voice-O-Graph

„All the in-between spaces“ ist eine Reihe akustischer Performances, die mit der Architektur und dem Innenraum der Athener Konzerthalle Megaron in Dialog treten. Im Laufe eines Abends im Mai werden vier Performances die Foyers und dazwischenliegende Räume des ausgedehnten Gebäudekomplexes bespielen. Sie schreiben damit den von den tatsächlichen Konzertsälen etablierten akustischen Charakteristika ein paralleles Set von Werten zu. Die Rolle, die architektonische Struktur und Raum für die Perzeption musikalischer Erfahrungen spielen, wird auf diese Weise unterstrichen. Bezüglich des „idealen“ musikalischen Umfelds werden Fragen nach Gebräuchen und Hierarchien aufgeworfen, die dieses konstituieren.

„All the in-between spaces“ ist Teil des Listening Space, einem documenta 14 Projekt, das vom documenta 14 Berater für Sound und Musik Paolo Thorsen-Nagel kuratiert wird. Eine Kooperation von documenta 14 und The Athens Concert Hall Organization.


Mette Henriette – In Between
Saxophonistin Mette Henriette performt eine Soundchoreografie, die den Raum des Lambrakis-Foyers im ersten Stock durchdringt und mittels des Einsatzes von Licht, Bewegung und Sound unterschiedliche In-Between-Zustände erzeugt.

Katalin Ladik – Follow me into mythology
Basierend auf den zentralen weiblichen Figuren antiker griechischer Mythologie, bestimmen Choreografie und stimmliche Improvisation die Performance von Katalin Ladik. Sie steigt eine ovale Treppenflucht hoch und folgt dabei einer visuellen Partitur.

Pina Bounce – Trumpethood
Trumpethood ist eine narrative Soundperformance für Trompete und Verstärker. Die Möglichkeiten, die Sound, Raum sowie deren Interaktion bieten, werden mit dieser Arbeit entlang der ovalen Treppenflucht des Megaron-Neubaus vermessen.

Panos Charalambous – Voice-O-Graph
Voice-O-Graph ist vinyle Entdeckung, Konservierung und Neuverwendung, aber auch physikalische Manipulation von gefundenen Schallplatten. Panos Charalambous performt mit zensierten und zerbrochenen Vinylschallplatten, die er mit verschiedenen Objekten verändert. Die Performance findet im Treppenhaus zwischen dem Skalkottas-Saal und dem neuen Foyer des Megaron statt.



Mette Henriette ist Performancekünstlerin und Komponistin aus dem Norden Norwegens. Sie nutzt unterschiedliche künstlerische Ausdrucksmittel und hat mit Marina Abramović, Anton Corbijn, Office of Metropolitan Architecture (OMA) und CocoRosie zusammengearbeitet. Beim Berlin Jazz Festival 2016 spielte sie das Eröffnungskonzert und hatte am Royal Palace in Oslo sowie am Sámi Parliament in Karasjok, Norwegen, zahlreiche Soloauftritte. Im November 2015 wurde ihr Debut-Doppelalbum beim deutschen Label ECM Records veröffentlicht. Zurzeit arbeitet Mette Henriette an einem Beitrag für eine neue Theaterproduktion, bei der Robert Wilson Regie führt.

Katalin Ladik ist eine ungarische Dichterin, Performancekünstlerin und Schauspielerin. Sie erforscht mit visuellen und vokalen Ausdrucksformen, aber auch mit Bewegung und Gesten, die Sprache. Collage, Fotografie, Tonaufnahmen, Performances und Happenings, sowohl im urbanen Raum wie in natürlichen Umgebungen, sind Bestandteil ihres Werkes. Sie hat zahlreiche Gedichtbände veröffentlicht, u. a. Ballada az ezüstbicikliről (Ballade vom silbernen Fahrrad, 1969) und Kiűzetés (Exil, 1988).

Pina Bounce ist das Soloprojekt der griechischen Architektin und Musikerin Thalia Ioannidou. Pina Bounce wurde durch Trumpetancy geboren; ein Album für Trompete und Verstärker, das von Orila Records und Noise-below in Auftrag gegeben wurde. Das Projekt erkundet mittels Sound die Schaffung von Räumen und Narrativen. Zu weiteren Projekten zählen Drog_a_tek, Minimaximum Improvision, the Erasers, Lost Bodies, Horror Vacui und zahlreiche Musiken für Filme und Theateraufführungen sowie Soundinstallationen.

Panos Charalambous ist griechischer Künstler. Er erforscht die zyklische Beschaffenheit von Zeit, indem er historische Sounds, Stimmen und diachronische Vorstellungen manipuliert und dabei untersucht, wie die physikalischen und konzeptuellen Spuren sich in der Gegenwart als fluktuierende Bedeutungscontainer manifestieren. Zu ausgewählten Ausstellungen zählen u. a. Glasgow – Political Capital of Europe (1990) in Glasgowund Whitehouse Biennial (2016) in Varna, Bulgarien. Charalambous ist derzeit Dekan an der Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen.

Der Eintritt ist frei

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Verwandte Einträge

Panos Charalambous

„Wohin wandern die Stimmen, wenn wir sie nicht mehr hören?“ Über mehr als ein Jahrhundert wurden sie auf Schallplatten gepresst, zumeist Singles mit 45 U/min und 12-Zoll-Vinyl-LPs, seltener auf besondere…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

Katalin Ladik

Bewegung ist die Grundlage von Katalin Ladiks Werk. Alle Arbeiten der Künstlerin sind in Bewegung, im Fluss, im Wandel begriffen; Imitation, Repräsentation und Narrative fehlen völlig. Selbst die Richtung…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

#5 documenta 6
From a Jacob's Ladder to a TV Bed

mit Panos Charalambous, Katerina Tselou und Zafos Xagoraris

Panos Charalampous, Katerina Tselou und Zafos Xagoraris setzen im Jahr 1977 an, nämlich bei der von Manfred Schneckenburger kuratierten documenta 6. Sie präsentieren verschiedene künstlerische Multimedia-Experimente…

 Mehr
Kalender

Listening Space

Das Programm des Listening Space zielt darauf, Klang außerhalb etablierter Hierarchien der Musikproduktion und -aufführung zu erkunden. Die in Konzerten, Vorträgen und Performances vorgestellten Formen…

 Mehr
Notizen