Nairy Baghramian

Nairy Baghramian, sketch for The Drawing Table (Homage to Jane Bowles) (2017), courtesy Nairy Baghramian; Marian Goodman Gallery, New York, Paris, London; kurimanzutto, Mexico City; Galerie Buchholz, Cologne, Berlin, New York

In her short story “The Iron Table” (1943), Jane Bowles describes a couple who are discussing whether or not the woman would be happy living in the desert, where the man wants to be. They seem to be sitting at an iron table that Bowles briefly mentions, near a “string stretched between stakes [that] separated the hotel grounds from the sidewalk.” Next to a “half-empty” flower bed, the eponymous table is not only the playing field of their indecisive, manipulative conversation, but a marker for what the woman calls “civilization.” The story reshuffles the binary of here versus there, over and over, until not only “civilization” and “the desert” but the character’s fantasies and desires are practically spaces themselves.

This evocative scene, in which an object provides a field for dialogue but also Bowles’s intertwining of the personal, the emancipatory, and the political in her own life, inspired one of the first works by Nairy Baghramian. Taking Bowles’s title to pay homage to its conceptual inspiration, the original version of Baghramian’s sculpture The Iron Table (2002), exhibited in Kassel for documenta 14, consists of an abstract ensemble of distinct forms, shapes, and materials redolent at more than one step removed of elements from the story. The string hung with triangular flags appears but from a mast, giving the work the look of a sailboat that has perhaps run aground on the gallery floor. Painted wood forms designate a dream of waves, sand scattered around their base; a pitched, reflective table supports two cones encircled by spiky cylinders. Pertinent too to this work is Bowles’s articulation of the chasms that open up between progressive models in art and writing that might not translate into realities, regardless of which points of the compass one might feel magnetized.

Functioning somewhat like the artist Aleksandra Ekster’s geometric and vividly colored shapes, which might be interpreted as creating a consciousness of interrelated, simultaneous but distant states of being, Baghramian’s arrangement alludes to the possibilities of color and form serving as a portal between worlds. For Ekster and others, such escapist possibilities justified their formal experimentation; for Baghramian, a German artist born in Iran in 1971, one senses a détournement of such strategies. Instead of promising escape, The Drawing Table (2017) shown in Athens, the artist’s recent revisiting and reinterpretation of her earlier work, meditates on the overlapping and contingent nature of the world.

—Rachel Haidu

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Nairy Baghramian

Nairy Baghramian, Skizze für Drawing Table (Homage to Jane Bowles) (2017), courtesy Nairy Baghramian; Marian Goodman Gallery, New York, Paris, London; kurimanzutto, Mexico City; Galerie Buchholz, Cologne, Berlin, New York

In ihrer Kurzgeschichte „The Iron Table“ (1943) beschreibt Jane Bowles ein Paar bei der Auseinandersetzung darüber, ob die Frau mit einem Leben in der Wüste, zu dem es den Mann zieht, glücklich werden könnte. Die beiden sitzen an einem beiläufig erwähnten eisernen Tisch, unweit einer „zwischen Pfosten gespannten Schnur, die das Hotelgrundstück vom Bürgersteig trennte“. Dieser titelgebende Tisch erweist sich nicht nur als Spielfeld des richtungslosen, mit Hintersinn betriebenen Gesprächs, sondern auch als Symbol dessen, was die Frau „Zivilisation“ nennt. Immer wieder bringt die Erzählung in der Folge die Dualität von hier und dort durcheinander, bis nicht nur „die Zivilisation“ und „die Wüste“, sondern auch die Wunschvorstellungen und Sehnsüchte der Figuren beinahe schon selbst zu Räumen geworden sind.

Diese Szene, in der ein Gegenstand zum Schauplatz eines Dialogs, aber auch einer Verstrickung persönlicher, emanzipatorischer und politischer Motive im Leben der Autorin wird, inspirierte Nairy Baghramian zu einer ihrer ersten Arbeiten. Die ursprüngliche Version der Skulptur The Iron Table (2002), die in Kassel gezeigt wird, erkennt schon im Titel die konzeptuelle Anregung durch Bowles’ Erzählung an. Sie ist ein abstraktes Ensemble unterschiedlicher Formen und Materialien, die in teils mehrfacher Brechung Motive aus der Geschichte übernehmen. Auch die Schnur mit den dreieckigen Wimpeln kommt vor, doch ist sie nun zwischen dem Boden und einem Mast gespannt und lässt die Arbeit wie ein im Ausstellungsraum gestrandetes Segelboot wirken. Formen aus lackierten Holzplatten evozieren eine Vorstellung von Wellen, umspült von Sand. Eine reflektierende Tischplatte trägt zwei jeweils von schlanken zylindrischen Stäben eingekreiste Kegel. Ein Bezug zwischen Werk und Erzählung ergibt sich auch aus Bowles’ Artikulation der Abgründe der Unübertragbarkeit fortschrittlicher emanzipatorischer Modelle in Kunst und Literatur einerseits und deren Übertragung in Realitäten andererseits, ganz gleich, aus welcher Richtung man sich nähert.

Baghramians Arrangement funktioniert ähnlich wie die farbigen geometrischen Formen der Malerin Aleksandra Ekster, die als das Aufrufen miteinander verwobener und gleichzeitig distanzierter Seinszustände gedeutet werden können, und spielt damit auf die Möglichkeiten von Farben und Formen als Vermittler zwischen den Welten an. Für Ekster und andere rechtfertigten solche potenziellen Fluchtwege das Experimentieren mit der Form. Bei der deutschen, 1971 im Iran geborenen Künstlerin Baghramian wird ein détournement solcher Strategien erkennbar. Drawing Table (2017), die jüngste Umsetzung ihrer frühen Arbeit The Iron Table, die in Athen zu sehen sein wird, verheißt keine Weltflucht, sondern verweilt in der Komplexität und Kontingenz unserer Realität.

— Rachel Haidu

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge