Keimena #2: Sleepless Nights Stories
by Jonas Mekas

Due to copyright reasons only a short segment of the film can be shown here.

Monday December 26, 2016, 24:00 on ERT2
Sleepless Nights Stories, 2011, USA, 114 min.
Director: Jonas Mekas

Sleepless Nights Stories originated from my reading of the One Thousand and One Nights. While my stories, unlike the Arabian tales, are all from the real life, they too, at some points wander into somewhere else, beyond the everyday routine reality.

There are some twenty-five different stories in my movie. Their protagonists are all my good friends and I myself am an inseparable part of the stories. The teller of the Arabian tales was also part of his, or her tales.

Some of the people in the movie you’ll recognize, some not. The fact that some of them you’ll recognize has no bearing on the stories: after all, we all recognize John Wayne or Annette Benning, but in their stories they are no longer the people you know.

The subjects of the stories cover a wide range of emotions, geographies, personal anguishes, anecdotes. These are not very big stories, not for the Big Screen: these are all personal big stories… And yes, you’ll also find some provocations… But that’s me, one “me” of many. The very question what is a story, is a provocative question.

—Jonas Mekas, poet, film critic, filmmaker, and artist

Posted in Public TV on 12.26.2016

Keimena #2: Sleepless Nights Stories
von Jonas Mekas

Montag, 26. Dezember 2016, 24.00 Uhr auf ERT2
Sleepless Nights Stories, 2011, USA, 114 Min.
Regie: Jonas Mekas

Die Sleepless Nights Stories haben ihren Ursprung in meiner Lektüre von Tausendundeiner Nacht. Obwohl meine Geschichten, anders als die arabischen Erzählungen, alle dem richtigen Leben entstammen, schweifen auch sie an manchen Stellen anderswohin ab, lassen die Realität der Alltagsroutine hinter sich.

Es gibt etwa fünfundzwanzig verschiedene Geschichten in meinem Film. Die Protagonisten sind gute Freunde von mir, und ich selbst bin ein untrennbarer Bestandteil von diesen Geschichten. So wie auch der Erzähler, oder die Erzählerin, der arabischen Geschichten zu ihnen gehörte.

Manche Menschen im Film wird man kennen, andere nicht. Die Tatsache, dass man manche von ihnen kennen wird, spielt für die Geschichten selbst jedoch keine Rolle: Schließlich erkennt man auch John Wayne oder Annette Benning, aber in ihren Geschichten sind sie nicht länger die Menschen, die man kennt.

Thematisch schlagen diese Geschichten einen weiten Bogen von Gefühlen, Geografien, persönlichen Ängsten und Anekdoten. Es sind keine großen Geschichten, nichts für den Big Screen: Das alles sind große persönliche Geschichten … Und ja, ein paar Provokationen wird es auch geben … Aber das bin ich, ein „Ich“ von vielen. Gerade die Frage, was eine Geschichte ist, ist eine provokante Frage.

—Jonas Mekas, Dichter, Filmkritiker, Filmemacher und Künstler

Gepostet in Öffentliches Fernsehen am 26.12.2016
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.