Keimena #37: Lmuja (The Wave)
by Omar Belkacemi

Due to copyright reasons only a short segment of the film can be shown here.

Monday August 28, 2017, 24:00 on ERT2
Lmuja (The Wave), 2015, Algeria, 37 min.
Director: Omar Belkacemi

Omar Belkacemi’s The Wave tells the story of Algerian journalist and writer Redouane, who comes back from Europe to investigate a wave of suicides in his native country during the mass lay-offs of the late 1990s.

Redouane moves to the port city of Béjaïa, where he lives with his sister Latifa, her son, and her husband Mokrane, who is battling depression after having lost his job. The film follows the escalating family crisis, which culminates in Redouane’s decision to abandon the coverage of the events, feeling too personally involved to speak objectively about them.

By portraying a single story of despair, which converts abstract issues into the domestic sphere, Belkacemi discloses the complexity of a national malaise. While little known internationally, the economic crisis of the 1990s had a large and lasting impact on Algeria’s social structure. While Algeria struggled to deal with the threat of terrorism, the International Monetary Fund’s structural plan for the country enforced the closure of over 1,000 public companies, leading to over 500,000 redundancies.

With a crude gaze that strikes a delicate balance between objectivity and empathy, and spoken in Berber language, Belkacemi’s film depicts present-day international politics and economics. The effects of those policies can be extended from the Algerian context to other, similar crises.

—Filipa Ramos, writer and editor

Posted in Public TV on 08.28.2017

Keimena #37: Lmuja (The Wave)
von Omar Belkacemi

Montag, 28. August 2017, 24.00 Uhr auf ERT2
Lmuja (The Wave), 2015, Algerien, 37 Min.
Regie: Omar Belkacemi

The Wave von Omar Belkacemi erzählt die Geschichte des algerischen Journalisten und Schriftstellers Redouane, der aus Europa zurückkehrt, um über eine Selbstmordwelle in seiner Heimat während der Zeit der Massenentlassungen in den späten 1990er Jahren zu berichten.

Redouane zieht in die Hafenstadt Béjaïa, wo er mit seiner Schwester Latifa, ihrem Sohn und ihrem Ehemann Mokrane, der mit Depressionen kämpft, seit er seine Arbeit verloren hat, zusammenwohnt. Der Film verfolgt die eskalierende Familienkrise mit, die schließlich in Redouanes Entscheidung gipfelt, die Aufzeichnung der Ereignisse aufzugeben, weil er sich persönlich zu sehr involviert fühlt, um objektiv über sie berichten zu können.

Anhand des Porträts einer einzelnen Geschichte der Verzweiflung, die abstrakte Bedingungen in die häusliche Sphäre überträgt, erschließt Belkacemi die Komplexität einer nationalen Misere. Während die Wirtschaftskrise der 1990er Jahre in Algerien international nur wenig bekannt ist, hatte sie weitreichende und langanhaltende Auswirkungen auf die gesellschaftliche Struktur des Landes. Als Algerien gegen die Bedrohung durch den Terrorismus kämpfte, erzwangen die Strukturmaßnahmen des Internationalen Währungsfonds die Schließung von mehr als tausend staatlichen Unternehmen, was zu mehr als 500.000 Entlassungen führte.

Mit schonungslosem Blick und ohne jemals die schwierige Balance zwischen Objektivität und Empathie zu verlieren, beschreibt Belkacemis Film die heutige internationale Politik und Wirtschaft. Die Effekte dieser Strategien lassen sich vom algerischen Kontext auf andere ähnliche Krisen übertragen.

—Filipa Ramos, Autorin und Redakteurin

Gepostet in Öffentliches Fernsehen am 28.08.2017
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.