Keimena #19: 48
by Susana de Sousa Dias

Due to copyright reasons only a short segment of the film can be shown here.

Monday April 24, 2017, 24:00 on ERT2
48, 2009, Portugal, 93 min.
Director: Susana de Sousa Dias

This film can be streamed on demand for seven days after the broadcast on ERT2. Please note that the films are presented in their original language with Greek subtitles, and can be streamed from within Greece only.


A face appears in Susana de Sousa Dias’ 48 — the profile of a young woman, a black-and-white photograph, taken decades ago. Her face is stern, proud, austere. Yet she weeps. She tells a tale of humiliation, frustration, and defeat. She has no name, no age, no flesh. Gradually her image starts to disappear, vanishing like a ghost. She is followed by many others, women and men with a similar, solid gaze, who tell equally dark and tormented stories.

These portraits were the starting point for 48. They were found by Sousa Dias in a series of large albums containing the mugshots of political prisoners held by the Portuguese International and State Defence Police (PIDE), one of the bastions of the authoritarian, Catholic, nationalistic regime under which the country lived from 1926 to 1974.

These 48 years of repression and bigotry constituted the longest dictatorship in the history of contemporary Europe, which finally came to an end with the Carnation Revolution, but whose impact is still felt in the present-day Portugal.

By pairing the old portraits of these youngsters—captured at the exact moment of their detention—with their present-day recollections, 48 revises the recent history of Portugal with its own sources. It presents rare, unmediated access to first-hand experiences of the dictatorship. The film is suspended between what happened and what remains.

The portraits of political prisoners fade in and fade out slowly, almost imperceptibly, like analog photographs that are gradually exposed and then recede into nothingness. Yet nothing remains as it was. As an elegy, one of the voices says: “then there’s only the bad memory left of the things you experienced, which will never get out of your head…”

—Filipa Ramos, writer and editor

Posted in Public TV on 04.24.2017

Keimena #19: 48
von Susana de Sousa Dias

Montag, 24. April 2017, 24.00 Uhr auf ERT2
48, 2009, Portugal, 93 Min.
Regie: Susana de Sousa Dias

In Susana de Sousa Dias’ Film 48 taucht ein Gesicht auf — das Profil einer jungen Frau, ein Schwarz-Weiß-Foto, das vor Jahrzehnten aufgenommen wurde. Ihr Gesicht ist streng, stolz und herb. Doch sie weint. Sie erzählt eine Geschichte von Erniedrigung, Enttäuschung und Niederlage. Sie hat keinen Namen, kein Alter, keinen Körper. Langsam beginnt ihr Bild sich aufzulösen, es verschwindet gleich einem Gespenst. Auf ihr Gesicht folgen die Gesichter vieler anderer Frauen und Männer mit ähnlich festem Blick, die dunkle, peinigende Geschichten erzählen.

Diese Porträts sind Ausgangspunkt für 48. Sousa Dias hat sie in einer Reihe von großen Alben gefunden, die Polizeifotos von politischen Gefangenen enthalten. Diese Alben wurden von der portugiesischen geheimen Staatsschutzpolizei PIDE geführt, einer der Bastionen des autoritären katholisch-nationalistischen Regimes, unter dem das Land zwischen 1926 und 1974 zu leben gezwungen war.

Diese 48 Jahre währende Diktatur der Unterdrückung und Borniertheit war die längste in der Geschichte Europas im 20. Jahrhundert. Sie wurde schließlich durch die Nelkenrevolution beendet, ihre Auswirkungen sind jedoch noch im heutigen Portugal zu spüren.

Indem 48 die alten Porträts der damals jungen Menschen – die unmittelbar nach ihrer Festnahme aufgenommen wurden – mit einer Rückbesinnung auf sie aus Sicht der Gegenwart koppelt, überarbeitet der Film die neuere Geschichte Portugals mithilfe ihrer eigenen Quellen. Er präsentiert einen selten unmittelbaren Zugang zu Erfahrungen aus erster Hand, die unter der Diktatur gemacht wurden. Er entfaltet sich zwischen dem, was geschehen ist, und dem, was bleibt.

Die Porträts der politischen Gefangenen werden langsam, beinahe unmerklich, ein- und ausgeblendet – sie gleichen Fotografien im Entwicklungsbad, die nach und nach sichtbar werden und dann wieder ins Nichts zurücktreten. Doch nichts bleibt, wie es gewesen ist. Wie in einem Klagelied lässt sich eine der Stimmen vernehmen: „… und dann ist da nur mehr die böse Erinnerung an all das Übel, das du erlebt hast, eine Erinnerung, die dir nie mehr aus dem Sinn gehen wird …“

—Filipa Ramos, Autorin und Redakteurin

Gepostet in Öffentliches Fernsehen am 24.04.2017
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.