Elective Affinities

Elective Affinities is a yearlong education program within the context of the collaboration between ASFA and documenta 14.

The program, which began in October 2016, consists of regular meetings in which documenta 14 artists and team members as well as contributors to the magazine South as a State of Mind engage with the students in seminars, working sessions, public talks, and readings. Together they identify various patterns, affinities, and threads running through the different elements of documenta 14. Drawing on the ideas of Oskar and Zofia Hansen, the program attempts to address education as an “open form,” a space that cultivates spontaneous gestures and occurrences that “awake the desire of existence,” as described in Oskar Hansen’s Open Form Manifesto of 1959.

Taking place at regular intervals, the encounters work from various starting points, such as the performativity of the self, borderline economies, the history of gesture, diaries, libraries and textiles, scores, living currencies, and political imagination—as well as oracular histories as representing the convergence of various forms of artistic narrative. In the elective affinities that drive chemical reactions, different elements interact and merge at different tempos. Similar attractions are intrinsic to the development of art and collective production.

The program takes the form of weekly, in-depth sessions with enrolled students in which artistic ideas and methodologies are discussed and developed with guest artists and writers of documenta 14. The weekly sessions culminate in monthly clusters of seminars involving intensified projects and discussions as well as public presentations.

The ongoing publication South as a State of Mind becomes a focal point for a joint reading practice. During the program, there are several points of encounter with the Parliament of Bodies and its Societies. A common theme of the Elective Affinities as a whole is the way in which artistic works come to life. How can we make an artwork together? What are some of the ways in which the production of art, the understanding of art, and challenging of the current political imagination can become entangled with one another?


Locations

The program takes part on the premises of the Athens School of Fine Arts in the Piraeus Annex. The classrooms used for the two semesters of Elective Affinities are located in the Postgraduate Studies Building designed by studio 66 (first semester) and in the so-called “old library” (in the second semester) which is designed together with Aristide Antonas. A hybrid space developed by documenta 14 and the ASFA, the library acts as a studio and salon for the students frequenting the program as well as a public interface hosting local and international students.

The garden of the Athens School of Fine Arts also hosts some meetings and serves as a site for exchanging knowledge and practices. We often meet there on warm days for the observation of nature, discussions, and sessions with curators and artists. Public presentations take place in different locations.


Intensives

During the week-long Intensives titled Hearing Voices (January 2017) and School of Gesture (May 2017), the students participate in joint seminars and presentations with students from Kassel University.


List of Meetings

Elective Affinities Introduction, October 17, 2016
Athens School of Fine Arts, Cinema Hall
With: aneducation (Sepake Angiama, Anton Kats, Elli Paxinou, Arnisa Zeqo), Zafos Xagoraris

ASFA students and staff members are invited to join a discussion about different learning methodologies in the context of documenta 14 and to meet the team members of aneducation. Elective Affinities is introduced.


Photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Elective Affinities Public Presentation #1, October 18, 2016
Athens School of Fine Arts, de Chirico Hall
With: Rainer Oldendorf

The artist Rainer Oldendorf discusses his recent artistic research on the 4th International Congress of Modern Architecture (CIAM 4), which took place on the SS Patris in 1933 as the boat traveled from Marseille to Athens. The presentation addresses the challenging and extended link between modernist architecture and social organization. Oldendorf talks about revisiting of this itinerary and the CIAM 4 by traveling the other direction, from Athens to Marseille, with students on a five-day boat trip. During the seminar on the boat an attempt is made to produce the 14th chapter of Oldendorf’s ongoing film series Marco.


Photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Elective Affinities Seminar #1, October 19, 2016
Athens School of Fine Arts, Masters Building
With: Rainer Oldendorf

Rainer Oldendorf gives a closed seminar focused on addressing the links between architecture and the organization of society, neoclassical dwellings, and modern construction. The students discuss Architects’ Congress (1933), a film diary recorded by László Moholy Nagy at CIAM 4 and extracts of the picaresque film Marco.


Photo: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities Seminar #2, November 1, 2016
Athens School of Fine Arts, Masters Building
With: Moyra Davey, Aboubakar Fofana, Quinn Latimer, Vivian Suter, Monika Szewczyk

In this session Moyra Davey introduces her writing and artistic practice with a particular focus on her recent work Hemlock Forest (2016) and her contribution to South as a State of Mind, “Walking with Nandita.” Quinn Latimer also discusses Davey’s text in South and their visit to India. In the second part of the session Vivian Suter engages the students in a painting exercise, in which fish glue and several pigments are used to paint on large sheets of white paper arranged on the floor. Lastly, Monika Szewczyk and artist Aboubakar Fofana talk about his upcoming work involving the garden of the Athens School of Fine Arts and a seminar on calligraphy that takes place later in the year.


Photo: aneducation

Elective Affinities Weekly Class Meeting, November 8, 2016
Athens School of Fine Arts, Garden and Masters Building
With: Feodora Pallas, Monika Szewczyk, Arnisa Zeqo

The students meet at the garden to collect pomegranate and walnut shells with Monika Szewczyk and Feodora Pallas. The collected natural materials are to be used for making natural pigments during a seminar with Aboubakar Fofana that takes place later in the year.


Photo: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities Seminar #3, November 22–24, 2016
Athens School of Fine Arts, Masters Building
With: Daniel García Andújar

Under the title “Take out Diogenes’s Lamp” artist Daniel García Andújar gives a three-day seminar where he discusses different ways of assembling and disseminating archival material. He focuses both on surveillance and control in the age of internet and hacking the historical canon. The students also discuss and present in class their own personal archives, which may take digital or material form. The students receive feedback from the artist and the rest of the class.


Photo: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities Public Presentation #2, November 23, 2016
Athens School of Fine Arts, de Chirico Hall
With: Daniel García Andújar

Under the title “Hacking the Canon and the Story’s Material” artist Daniel García Andújar gives a public presentation on his practice. The presentation deals with the disappearance of public space and the new global division of labor. The artist discusses how art generates models of resistance that transform cultural practices and how these can be siphoned off from the machinery of digitalization into a creative process.


Photo: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities Seminar #4, December 13–15, 2016
Athens School of Fine Arts, Masters Building
With Pascale Criton, Angela Melitopoulos, and students from The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts.

Composer Pascale Criton and artist Angela Melitopoulos give a three-day seminar entitled “Cross-Listening” with student participants from The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts in Copenhagen. The seminar starts with a practical improvisation based on a conceptual composition by Cornelius Cardew. This is followed by a discussion based on the film installation The Refrain (2015) by Angela Melitopoulos. Pascale Criton presents her research and some examples of her practice, including the work Sensitive Ears (2015). The students are asked to record a sound event from their surroundings and bring the recordings to class the following day. The seminar ends with Criton and Melitopoulos reflecting on Gilles Deleuze and Felix Guattari’s theory of subjectivity.


Photo: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities Public Presentation #3, December 14, 2016
Athens School of Fine Arts, de Chirico Hall
With: Pascale Criton, Angela Melitopoulos

Composer Pascale Criton and artist Angela Melitopoulos give a public presentation entitled “Cross-Listening.” Melitopolous discusses the development of her ongoing film project Crossings for documenta 14. She talks about the circulation of voices within the autonomy of migration , in which subjectivities emerge through what Félix Guattari described as “an incessant coming-and-going between complexity and chaos.” Pascale Criton talks with Melitopoulos about aspects of Crossings,. and they jointly argue for an ecology of listening that is altogether ethical, poetic, and social.


Photo: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities, Special Session, December 14, 2016,
Athens School of Fine Arts, Icon Painting Studio
Led by: Dimosthenes Avramidis
With: Aboubakar Fofana

During this special session, Aboubakar Fofana shares his calligraphy skills with the students of Elective Affinities and students working at the Icon painting studio headed by Dimosthenes Avramidis. He introduces the students to techniques for writing simple Latin letters.


Elective Affinities, Weekly Class Meeting, January 24, 2017
Athens School of Fine Arts, Masters Building
With: Angelo Plessas

The artist Angelo Plessas gives a presentation on the second edition of the Experimental Education Protocol scheduled to take place from February 25 to March 3 at the Athens School of Fine Arts, Delphi Annex. The Experimental Education Protocol is an alternative educational model founded by Plessas. Participants are asked to create educational models that revolve around a case study and the local context. The artist encourages the students to participate, and a number of students join him in Delphi later in the year.


photo: aneducation

Elective Affinities Seminar #5, January 31, 2017
Athens School of Fine Arts, Masters Building
With: Banu Cennetoğlu

Artist Banu Cennetoğlu shares the different aspects of her work with the students. In particular, she discusses a number of works that collect the printed newspapers of a single day within a selected geography. She also introduces the students to the challenges she has faced in her work on the archive of Macist Gul (with Philippine Hoegen), which was presented at Bas, Istanbul, a space for artist’s books, and was initiated by the artist there and in other venues. Finally, she discusses her process of making a new work for documenta 14 in Athens.


photo: aneducation

Elective Affinities, Weekly Class Meeting, February 7, 2017
Athens School of Fine Arts, old library
With: Ibrahim Mahama

The session with artist Ibrahim Mahama is the first to take place in the old library.

The students help to rearrange some items in the space, moving bookshelves and tables to create more room. Artist Ibrahim Mahama presents his project for documenta 14 and invites students for a series of performances happening later in the year on Syntagma Square.


Photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Elective Affinities Seminar #6, February 14–16, 2017
Athens School of Fine Arts, old library
With: Yael Davids

During a three-day seminar entitled “Salon de Tomb: The Library-salon as a Portrait” by artist Yael Davids invites the students to rethink the concept and practice of the salon/library through a performative framework. Yael Davids introduces her research on Rahel Varnhagen (1771–1833), who ran one of the most significant 18th-century salons in Berlin, the correspondence between Walter Benjamin and Gershom Scholem, and the Gurlitt collection. In conclusion, the artist leads a performative workshop in which students incorporate different texts read during Elective Affinities and prepare a series of performances.

Each day of the seminar begins with a Feldenkrais session.

Posted in Public Education
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Elective Affinities

Elective Affinities ist ein einjähriges Bildungsprogramm im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit von ASFA und der documenta 14.

Das Programm besteht aus regelmäßigen Treffen, bei denen documenta 14 Künstler_innen, Mitglieder des Teams und Schreibende für das Magazin South as a State of Mind mit den Student_innen zu Seminaren, Arbeitssitzungen, öffentlichen Vorträgen und Lesungen zusammenkommen. Gemeinsam gehen sie immer wieder aufs Neue den unterschiedlichen Mustern, Affinitäten und Fäden nach, die die verschiedenen Elemente der documenta 14 miteinander verbinden. Ausgehend von einer Idee von Oskar und Zofia Hansen, versucht das Programm Bildung als eine „offene Form“ zu begreifen, als einen Ort, der zu spontanen Gesten und Ereignissen anregt, die „das Verlangen nach Existenz wecken“, wie es Oskar Hansen in seinem Open Form Manifesto aus dem Jahr 1959 beschrieb.

Die in regelmäßigen Abständen stattfindenden Treffen gehen von verschiedenen Ansätzen aus: etwa der Performativität des Selbst, Borderline-Ökonomien, der Geschichte der Gesten, Tagebüchern, Bibliotheken und Textilien, Partituren, dem lebenden Geld und der politischen Einbildungskraft — nicht zuletzt geht es auch um rätselhafte Geschichten, die für die Konvergenz der unterschiedlichen Formen künstlerischer Narrative stehen. Wahlverwandtschaften treiben chemische Reaktionen voran, lassen unterschiedliche Bestandteile aufeinander einwirken und mischen sich in unterschiedlichen Geschwindigkeiten. Ähnliche Anziehungskräfte sind wesentliche Bestandteile für die Entwicklung der Kunst und Kollektivproduktion.

Das Programm findet in Form von wöchentlichen, ausführlichen Treffen mit den eingeschriebenen Student_innen statt. Bei diesen werden Ideen und Methoden mit Gastkünstler_innen und Autor_innen der documenta 14 entwickelt. Die wöchentlichen Sitzungen werden dann in monatlichen Seminargruppen zusammengefasst, zu denen intensivierte Projekte und Diskussionen sowie öffentliche Präsentationen gehören.

Die fortlaufende Publikationsreihe South as a State of Mind wird dabei zum zentralen Bezugspunkt für eine gemeinsame Lektürepraxis. Während des Programms wird es zu Begegnungen mit dem Parlament der Körper und seinen Gesellschaften kommen. Ein übergeordneter Aspekt von Elective Affinities ist die Frage danach, wie ein Kunstwerk lebendig wird. Wie können wir gemeinsam ein Kunstwerk schaffen? Wie können die Produktion von Kunst, das Verständnis von Kunst und die Herausforderungen der derzeitigen politischen Einbildungskraft miteinander in Verbindung gesetzt werden?


Orte

Das Programm findet in der Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen (ASFA) – Pireos-Straße statt. Die Seminarräume, die für die beiden Semester von Elective Affinities benutzt werden, befinden sich im Postgraduate Studies Building (erstes Semester) – gestaltet von studio 66 – sowie in der sogenannten „Alten Bibliothek“ (zweites Semester), die gemeinsam mit Aristide Antonas gestaltet wurde. Als Hybridraum, der von der documenta 14 und der ASFA entwickelt wurde, fungiert die Bibliothek als Atelier und Salon für die Student_innen, die an dem Programm teilnehmen, aber auch als öffentliche Schnittstelle für örtliche und internationale Student_innen.

Auch im Garten der Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen werden einige Treffen stattfinden. Er dient als Ort des Austauschs von Wissen und Praktiken. Wir treffen einander dort oft an heißen Tagen zu Naturbeobachtungen, Diskussionen und Sitzungen mit Kurator_innen und Künstler_innen. Die öffentlichen Präsentationen finden an unterschiedlichen Orten statt.


Intensivkurse

Während der einwöchigen Intensivkurse mit dem Titel „Hearing Voices“ (Januar 2017) und „School of Gesture“ (Mai 2017) nehmen die Student_innen an gemeinsamen Seminaren und Präsentationen mit Student_innen der Universität Kassel teil.


Übersicht der Treffen

Elective Affinities Einführung, 17. Oktober 2016
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Kinosaal
Mit: „Eine Erfahrung“ (Sepake Angiama, Anton Kats, Elli Paxinou, Arnisa Zeqo), Zafos Xagoraris

Student_innen der ASFA und Mitglieder des Lehrkörpers sind dazu eingeladen, an Diskussionen über verschiedene Lehrmethoden im Kontext der documenta 14 teilzunehmen und die Mitglieder von „eine Erfahrung“ kennenzulernen. Elective Affinities wird vorgestellt.


Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Elective Affinities Öffentliche Präsentation #1, 18. Oktober 2016
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, de Chirico Saal
Mit: Rainer Oldendorf

Der Künstler Rainer Oldendorf stellt seine neuesten künstlerischen Forschungen zum 4. International Congress of Modern Architecture (CIAM 4) vor, der 1933 an Bord der SS Patris stattfand, während das Schiff von Marseille nach Athen übersetzte. Die Präsentation setzt sich mit dem herausfordernden erweiterten Bezug zwischen moderner Architektur und gesellschaftlicher Organisation auseinander. Oldendorf bespricht mit den Student_innen seine Reiseroute und seine Erinnerungen an die CIAM 4 während einer fünftägigen Schiffsreise, die sie in umgekehrter Richtung, von Athen nach Marsaille, führt. Während des Seminars auf dem Schiff soll das 14. Kapitel von Oldendorfs Filmreihe Marco gedreht werden.


Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Elective Affinities Seminar #1, 19. Oktober 2016
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Masters Building
Mit: Rainer Oldendorf

Rainer Oldendorf gibt ein geschlossenes Seminar, das sich mit den Verbindungen zwischen Architektur und der Organisation der Gesellschaft sowie neoklassizistischen Wohnbauten und modernem Bauen beschäftigt. Die Student_innen diskutieren über Architects’ Congress (1933), ein Filmtagebuch, das László Moholy-Nagy am CIAM 4 gedreht hat, sowie über Ausschnitte aus der Pikareske Marco.


Foto: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities Seminar #2, 1. November 2016
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Masters Building
Mit: Moyra Davey, Aboubakar Fofana, Quinn Latimer, Vivian Suter, Monika Szewczyk

Bei dieser Sitzung führt Moyra Davey in ihr Schreiben und ihre künstlerische Praxis ein und konzentriert sich dabei besonders auf ihre neueste Arbeit Hemlock Forest (2016) sowie auf ihren Beitrag „Walking with Nandita“ für South as a State of Mind. Auch Quinn Latimer bespricht Daveys Text für South und ihre Reise nach Indien. Im zweiten Teil der Sitzung unternimmt Vivian Suter gemeinsam mit den Student_innen eine Übung in Malerei, bei der Fischleim und Pigmente dazu benutzt werden, große weiße Papierbahnen zu bemalen, die auf dem Boden ausgelegt sind. Abschließend sprechen Monika Szewczyk und der Künstler Aboubakar Fofana über eine von Fofanas nächsten Arbeiten, für die der Garten der Hochschule der Bildenden Künste eine Rolle spielen wird, sowie über ein Kalligraphie-Seminar, das er später in diesem Jahr halten wird.


Foto: „eine Erfahrung“

Elective Affinities Wöchentliches Treffen der Klasse, 8. November 2016
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Masters Building
Mit: Feodora Pallas, Monika Szewczyk, Arnisa Zeqo

Die Student_innen treffen sich im Garten, um gemeinsam mit Monika Szewczyk und Feodora Pallas Granatäpfel und Walnussschalen zu sammeln. Die gesammelten Naturmaterialien sollen dazu verwendet werden, bei einem später stattfindenden Seminar mit Aboubakar Fofana natürliche Pigmente herzustellen.


Foto: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities Seminar #3, 22.–24. November 2016
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Masters Building
Mit: Daniel García Andújar

Unter dem Titel „Take out Diogenes’s Lamp“ gibt der Künstler Daniel García Andújar ein dreitägiges Seminar, bei dem er verschiedene Methoden vorstellt, wie man Archivmaterial zusammenstellt und verbreitet. Dabei widmet er sich vorrangig der Überwachung und Kontrolle im Zeitalter des Internet und dem Hacken des historischen Kanons. Auch die Student_innen präsentieren und besprechen ihre eigenen persönlichen Archive, die in digitaler oder analoger Form sein können. Dabei erhalten sie Feedback vom Künstler und den Seminarteilnehmer_innen.


Foto: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities Öffentliche Präsentation #2, 23. November 2016
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, de Chirico Saal
Mit: Daniel García Andújar

Unter dem Titel „Hacking the Canon and the Story’s Material“ gibt der Künstler Daniel García Andújar eine öffentliche Vorführung seiner Praxis. Die Präsentation beschäftigt sich mit dem Verschwinden des öffentlichen Raums und der neuen globalen Arbeitsteilung. Der Künstler bespricht, auf welche Weise die Kunst Modelle des Widerstands entwirft, die die kulturellen Praktiken transformieren, und wie diese aus der Maschine der Digitalisierung abgeschöpft und in einen kreativen Prozess verwandelt werden können.


Foto: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities Seminar #4, 13.–15. Dezember 2016
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Masters Building
Mit Pascale Criton, Angela Melitopoulos und Student_innen der Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts.

Die Komponistin Pascale Criton und die Künstlerin Angela Melitopoulos geben ein dreitägiges Seminar mit dem Titel „Cross-Listening“, an dem auch Student_innen der Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts in Kopenhagen teilnehmen. Das Seminar beginnt mit einer konkreten Improvisation, die auf einer konzeptuellen Komposition von Cornelius Cardew basiert. Darauf folgt eine Diskussion, die von der Filminstallation The Refrain (2015) von Angela Melitopoulos ausgeht. Pascale Criton stellt ihre Forschungsarbeit vor und gibt Beispiele aus ihrer Praxis, darunter die Arbeit Sensitive Ears (2015). Die Student_innen werden dazu aufgefordert, ein Klangereignis aus ihrem Alltagsumfeld aufzuzeichnen und es am nächsten Tag ins Seminar mitzubringen. Das Seminar endet mit Überlegungen von Criton und Melitopoulos zur Theorie der Subjektivität bei Gilles Deleuze und Félix Guattari.


Foto: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities Öffentliche Präsentation #3, 14. Dezember 2016
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, de Chirico Saal
Mit: Pascale Criton, Angela Melitopoulos

Die Komponistin Pascale Criton und die Künstlerin Angela Melitopoulos geben unter dem Titel „Cross-Listening“ eine öffentliche Präsentation ihrer Arbeiten. Melitopolous bespricht die Entwicklung ihres fortlaufenden Filmprojekts Crossings für die documenta 14. Dabei spricht sie über die Zirkulation von Stimmen innerhalb einer Autonomie der Migration, in der Subjektivitäten durch das entstehen, was Félix Guattari als „ein unaufhörliches Kommen-und-Gehen zwischen Komplexität und Chaos“ bezeichnet hat. Pascale Criton diskutiert mit Melitopoulos über Aspekte von Crossings, und beide gemeinsam setzen sich für eine Ökologie des Hörens ein, für ein Hören, das gleichzeitig ethisch, poetisch und sozial ist.


Foto: Freddie F.

Elective Affinities Sondersitzung, 14. Dezember 2016
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Icon Painting Studio
Geleitet von: Dimosthenes Avramidis
Mit: Aboubakar Fofana

Während dieser Sondersitzung teilt Aboubakar Fofana seine Kenntnisse der Kalligraphie mit den Student_innen von Elective Affinities. Sie arbeiten gemeinsam im Icon Painting Studio, das von Dimosthenes Avramidis geleitet wird. Fofana wird die Student_innen in Techniken einführen, um einfache lateinische Buchstaben schreiben zu können.


Elective Affinities Wöchentliches Treffen der Klasse, 24. Januar 2017
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Masters Building
Mit: Angelo Plessas

Der Künstler Angelo Plessas stellt die zweite Ausgabe des Experimental Education Protocol vor, das vom 25. Februar bis zum 3. März an der Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Delphi Annex, stattfinden wird. Beim Experimental Education Protocol handelt es sich um ein alternatives Bildungsmodell, das von Plessas entwickelt wurde. Die Teilnehmer_innen werden dazu aufgefordert, selbst Bildungsmodelle zu entwerfen, die um Fallstudien und den lokalen Kontext kreisen. Der Künstler ermuntert dabei die Student_innen zur Teilnahme, und einige werden ihn später in diesem Jahr nach Delphi begleiten.

Foto: „eine Erfahrung“

Elective Affinities Seminar #5, 31. Januar 2017
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Masters Building
Mit: Banu Cennetoğlu

Die Künstlerin Banu Cennetoğlu stellt unterschiedliche Aspekte ihrer Arbeit vor. Insbesondere wird sie einige ihrer Werke besprechen, die gedruckte Zeitungen eines einzigen Tages aus einer ausgewählten geografischen Region versammeln. Darüber hinaus wird sie den Student_innen von den Herausforderungen erzählen, auf die sie bei ihren Arbeiten zum Archiv von Macist Gul (gem. mit Philippine Hoegen) gestoßen ist, die im Bas, Istanbul, einem Raum für Künstlerbücher, und an anderen Veranstaltungsorten gezeigt wurden. Abschließend erläutert sie ihr Vorgehen beim Entwurf einer neuen Arbeit für die documenta 14 in Athen.


Foto: „eine Erfahrung“

Elective Affinities Wöchentliches Treffen der Klasse, 7. Februar 2017
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Alte Bibliothek
Mit: Ibrahim Mahama

Die Sitzung mit dem Künstler Ibrahim Mahama ist die erste, die in den Räumlichkeiten der Alten Bibliothek stattfindet.

Die Student_innen helfen dabei, einige Gegenstände neu zu gruppieren und aufzustellen, verschieben Bücherregale und Tische, um mehr Raum zu schaffen. Ibrahim Mahama stellt sein Projekt für die documenta 14 vor und lädt die Student_innen zu einer Reihe von Performances ein, die später im Jahr auf dem Syntagma-Platz stattfinden werden.


Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Elective Affinities Seminar #6, 14.–16. Februar 2017
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen, Alte Bibliothek
Mit: Yael Davids

Während eines dreitägigen Seminars mit dem Titel „Salon de Tomb: The Library-salon as a Portrait“ der Künstlerin Yael Davids sind die Student_innen dazu eingeladen, das Konzept des Salons und der Bibliothek in einem performativen Rahmen neu zu denken. Yael Davids führt in ihre Forschungen zu Rahel Varnhagen (1771–1833) ein, die einen der einflussreichsten Salons des 18. Jahrhunderts in Berlin betrieben hat, und erläutert ihre Untersuchungen zum Briefwechsel zwischen Walter Benjamin und Gershom Scholem sowie zur Sammlung Gurlitt. Abschließend veranstaltet die Künstlerin einen performativen Workshop, in den die Student_innen unterschiedliche Textlektüren im Rahmen von Elective Affinities einfließen lassen. Darüber hinaus werden eine Reihe von Performances vorbereitet.

Jeder Tag des Seminars beginnt mit einer Feldenkrais-Sitzung.

Gepostet in Vermittlungsprogramm
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.