Anne Charlotte Robertson (1949–2012)

Anne Charlotte Robertson, Spirit of ’76 (1976), Super-8 transferred to digital video, film stills, Courtesy Harvard Film Archive

Anne Charlotte Robertson, born in 1949, was a Massachusetts-based filmmaker who used her Super-8 camera and acute self-awareness to forge a radically intimate mode of first-person cinema. Although she was celebrated as an artist in her lifetime, only today is Robertson finally being acknowledged as an influential pioneer of the first-person diary cinema that has long flourished in the Boston-Cambridge area, perhaps best known in the work of Ed Pincus and Ross McElwee. Gripped by mental illness, Robertson discovered a vital form of self-therapy in the diaristic filmmaking practice invented and refined across her magnum opus, Five Year Diary (1981­–1997), whose eighty-one individual chapters, or “reels,” meld bold formal experimentation, self-depreciatory humor, and raw emotion into a charged yet lyrical chronicle of an often painfully difficult life. Cathartic and devastating, rough-edged and poignantly delicate, disarmingly funny and meditative, Robertson’s Five Year Diary offers a remarkably frank and revealing self-portrait of an artist and woman struggling to understand the overwhelming desires and dark shadows that defined her world. Despite its extreme length and intensity, the work remains wonderfully accessible and engaging, buoyed by the strength and beauty of Robertson’s imagery. Especially striking in Five Year Diary is its innovative and performative voice-over narration, with Robertson frequently recording a live second narration during public screenings to produce an intense, almost musical, multiplicity of voice that embodies the unceasing inner dialogue and exhibitionism that are important constants of Robertson’s cinema.

Anne Charlotte Robertson, Reel 80: May 14—September 26, 1994: Emily Died, from Five Year Diary (1981­–1997), SD video transferred to digital video, film stills, Courtesy Harvard Film Archive

The unique vision and commitment of Robertson’s independent—in the truest, starkest sense—cinema is immediately apparent in the first works she made even before enrolling in the Massachusetts College of Art, where she would receive her MFA in 1985. Already in early works such as Spirit of ’76, the sharp self-scrutiny, off-beat humor, and obsessive attention to details and textures that come to be important signatures of her subsequent films are crystallized. In MassArt’s unabashedly avant-garde Film/Video program, Robertson found an important mentor in faculty member Saul Levine, a Super-8 diarist and activist whose rapid-fire montage style and fascination with light exerted clear influence on Robertson’s filmmaking. Through her MassArt experience Robertson was able to deepen her boldly experimental and artisanal cinema by engaging in a spirited and important dialogue with the work of diverse contemporary and avant-garde filmmakers. Indeed, Robertson’s embrace of stop-motion animation and a kind of performative self as “star” should be considered in context with the work of Marie Menken, Andy Warhol and fellow MassArt alumni Luther Price.

—Haden Guest, director, Harvard Film Archive

Anne Charlotte Robertson, Reel 23: September 1–December 13, 1982: A Breakdown (And) After The Mental Hospital, from Five Year Diary (1981­–1997), Super-8 transferred to digital video, film stills, Courtesy Harvard Film Archive

Posted in Notes on 05.12.2017
Related

Tribute to Anne Charlotte Robertson

with Haden Guest

Anne Charlotte Robertson (1949–2012) was a Massachusetts-based filmmaker who used her Super-8 camera and acute self-awareness to forge a radically intimate mode of first-person cinema. Although she was…

 More
Calendar
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Anne Charlotte Robertson (1949–2012)

Anne Charlotte Robertson, Spirit of ’76 (1976), Digitales Video übertragen von Super-8, Filmstills, Courtesy Harvard Film Archive

Anne Charlotte Robertson, die 1949 in Massachusetts geboren wurde, war eine Filmemacherin, die ihre Super-8-Kamera und ihre scharfe Selbstwahrnehmung einsetzte, um eine radikal intime Form des subjektiven Kinos zu schaffen. Auch wenn sie bereits zu Lebzeiten eine gefeierte Künstlerin war, wird Robertson erst heute als einflussreiche Pionierin des subjektiven Tagebuch-Kinos anerkannt, das sich vor allem in der Gegend von Boston und Cambridge entwickelte, am bekanntesten vielleicht in der Arbeit von Ed Pincus und Ross McElwee. Robertson, die unter psychischen Krankheiten litt, entdeckte eine wichtige Form der Selbsttherapie in der tagebuchartigen filmischen Praxis, die sie in ihrem Opus magnum Five Year Diary (1981–1997) entwickelte und verfeinerte. Dessen 81 Kapitel, oder „Rollen“, verschmelzen kühne formale Experimente, selbstironischen Humor und ungefilterte Emotionen zu einer aufgeladenen und dabei lyrischen Chronik eines oftmals schmerzvoll schwierigen Lebens. Kathartisch und niederschmetternd, kantig und ergreifend zart, entwaffnend komisch und meditativ, präsentiert Robertsons Five Year Diary das bemerkenswert offene und aufschlussreiche Selbstporträt einer Künstlerin und Frau, die darum ringt, die überwältigenden Begierden und dunklen Schatten zu verstehen, die ihre Welt ausmachen. Trotz ihrer extremen Länge und Intensität bleibt die Arbeit auf wunderbare Weise zugänglich und fesselnd, getragen von der Stärke und Schönheit von Robertsons Bildwelt. Besonders beeindruckt Five Year Diary durch seine innovative performative Kommentarstimme, wobei Robertson bei öffentlichen Vorführungen häufig einen zweiten Live-Kommentar aufnahm, um eine intensive, beinahe musikalische Vielfalt an Stimmen zu schaffen, in denen sich der unaufhörliche innere Dialog und die Selbstdarstellung verkörpern, die wichtige Konstanten von Robertsons Filmschaffen sind.

Anne Charlotte Robertson, Reel 80: May 14—September 26, 1994: Emily Died, aus Five Year Diary (1981­–1997), Digitales Video übertragen von SD-Video, Filmstills, Courtesy Harvard Film Archive

Die einzigartige Vision und das Engagement von Robertsons – im wahrsten, umfassendsten Sinne des Wortes – unabhängigem Kino wird schon in ihren ersten Arbeiten unmittelbar sichtbar, die sie bereits vor ihrer Aufnahme an das Massachusetts College of Art schuf, an dem sie 1985 ihren MFA erlangte. Bereits in frühen Arbeiten wie Spirit of ’76 zeigen sich die scharfe Selbstbeobachtung, der schräge Humor und die obsessive Aufmerksamkeit für Details und Texturen, die zu wesentlichen Charakteristika ihrer folgenden Filme werden sollten. In dem entschlossen avantgardistischen Film/Video-Programm am MassArt fand Robertson einen wichtigen Mentor in ihrem Lehrer Saul Levine, einem Super-8-Tagebuchautor und Aktivist, dessen maschinengewehrartiger Montagestil und dessen Faszination durch das Licht deutlichen Einfluss auf Robertsons Filmarbeit ausübten. Dank ihrer Erfahrungen vom MassArt konnte Robertson an ihrer kühn experimentellen und eigenständigen Filmkunst feilen, indem sie mit der Arbeit verschiedener zeitgenössischer und avantgardistischer Filmemacher in einen lebhaften und nachhaltigen Dialog trat. So sollte Robertsons Aufgreifen der Stop-Motion-Animation und einer Art von performativem Selbst als „Star“ im Kontext der Arbeit von Marie Menken, Andy Warhol und Luther Price – ebenfalls ein Absolvent des MassArt – gesehen werden.

— Haden Guest, Leiter des Harvard Film Archive

Anne Charlotte Robertson, Reel 23: September 1–December 13, 1982: A Breakdown (And) After The Mental Hospital, aus Five Year Diary (1981­–1997), Digitales Video übertragen von Super-8, Filmstills, Courtesy Harvard Film Archive

Aus dem Englischen von Robert Schlicht

Gepostet in Notizen am 12.05.2017
Verwandte Einträge

Tribute to Anne Charlotte Robertson

mit Haden Guest

Anne Charlotte Robertson, die 1949 in Massachusetts geboren wurde, war eine Filmemacherin, die ihre Super-8-Kamera und ihre scharfe Selbstwahrnehmung einsetzte, um eine radikal intime Form des subjektiven…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.