The Apatride Society of the Political Others: Social Economies: Deinstitutionalizing Alternatives, Global Capitalism, and Local Knowledge
with Gigi Argyropoulou, Deborah Carlos-Valencia, Lina Mourgi, and Stavros Stavrides

As austerity politics, crisis management, and economic re-adjustment show, contemporary capitalism operates through a severe reduction of the “social” on all levels. But does the privatization of the public space, the social security sector, or education mark a point of no return in relation to the very concept of the social? Examples such as the Philippine Women’s Network DIWATA (Determined Independent Women in Action for Total Advancement) or the platform Dock for Social Solidarity Economy (SSE) demonstrate that the terms “social” and “economy” do not have to be incompatible. On the contrary: alternative economies, cooperatives, and mutual solidarity structures have proven to be powerful tools in the engineering of social movements in recent years. These emerging economies and practices of deinstitutionalization restore the importance of the social in the economic fabric that our societies are imbedded in, and enhance the projection of alternative self-determined modes of production and experiences of the collective. Evidently, there is no better way to understand how contemporary capitalism operates and how intertwined the ramifications of production and social reproduction currently are than by inventing your own economy and securing your own autonomy.

7–7:15 pm
Global Capitalism and the Ithagenia Condition
Introduction by Max Jorge Hinderer Cruz

7:15–8 pm
Spaces of Social Economy, Solidarity, and Deinstitutionalization in Athens: Part one
Talk
With Deborah Carlos-Valencia (DIWATA) and Lina Mourgi (SSE)

8:15–9:45 pm
Spaces of Social Economy, Solidarity, and Deinstitutionalization in Athens: Part two
Discussion
With Gigi Argyropoulou and Stavros Stavrides, moderated by Margarita Tsomou

Konstantinos Doumpenidis, Untitled, 2015

Dr. Gigi Argyropoulou is a researcher, theorist, director, and curator working in the fields of performance and cultural practice. She has initiated and organized festivals, conferences, performances, interventions, and actions. She holds an MA from Dartington College of Arts and a PhD from the University of Roehampton. Argyropoulou has published widely and is the co-editor (with Hypatia Vourloumis) of the special issue of Performance Research “On Institutions” (2015). As a political activist she is a founding member of the Mavili Collective and has been an active part of other formations in recent years. She lives and works in Athens.

Deborah Carlos-Valencia is a founding member of Babaylan–The Philippine Women’s Network in Europe. She initiated DIWATA–Philippine Women’s Network in Greece which has started a microcredit cooperative managed by the migrant women themselves. Carlos-Valencia has conducted various training courses and seminars for Philippine migrant women in Europe on the topics of cooperative leadership formation, assertiveness, and financial literacy. She lives and works in Athens.

Lina Mourgi is a member of the Dock for Social Solidarity Economy (SSE), a growing network and center for communication, education, and awareness around social solidarity economies. In 2017 she co-founded the Dock–Social Solidarity Economy Cooperative Zone, an autonomous cooperative infrastructure providing support for SSE. Mourgi lives and works in Athens.

Dr. Stavros Stavrides, architect and activist, is associate professor at the School of Architecture, National Technical University of Athens, where he teaches graduate courses on housing design (including social housing), as well as a postgraduate course on the meaning of metropolitan experience. He has published numerous articles as well as several books, among them Common Space (2016), Suspended Spaces of Alterity (2010), The Texture of Things (with Evi Cotsou, 1996), and The Symbolic Relation to Space (1990). His book From the City-Screen to the City-Stage (2002) won the Greek National Book Award. His current research focuses on forms of emancipating spatial practices and spaces of commoning. Stavrides lives and works in Athens.

Posted in Public Programs
Related

In Spite of Everything: Stubborn Returns and Urban Afterlives

Haunting raises specters, and it jams time—the way we separate the past, present, and future. Ghosts appear when the trouble they represent and symptomize is no longer being contained or repressed or…

 More
Calendar

Die Apatride-Gesellschaft des politischen Anderen: Social Economies: Deinstitutionalizing Alternatives, Global Capitalism, and Local Knowledge
mit Gigi Argyropoulou, Deborah Carlos-Valencia, Lina Mourgi und Stavros Stavrides

Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Wie die Politik der strikten Sparmaßnahmen, Krisenmanagement und ökonomische Neuausrichtungen zeigen, operiert Kapitalismus heute auf allen Ebenen mit einer massiven Reduzierung des „Sozialen“. Die Frage stellt sich, ob die Privatisierung des öffentlichen Raums, der sozialen Grundsicherung oder der Bildung einen Moment markiert, an dem es für das Konzept des Sozialen kein Zurück mehr gibt. Das Netzwerk philippinischer Frauen DIWATA (Determined Independent Women in Action for Total Advancement) oder die Plattform Dock for Social Solidarity Economy (SSE) sind Beispiele und Beweise dafür, dass die Begriffe „sozial“ und „Wirtschaft“ sich nicht ausschließen müssen. Ganz im Gegenteil: alternatives Wirtschaften, Kooperativen und auf gegenseitige Solidaritätsstrukturen haben sich jüngst als machtvolle Mittel erwiesen, wenn es um die Herstellung gesellschaftlicher Bewegungen ging. Diese neu entstehenden Ökonomien und Praktiken einer Entinstitutionalisierung stellen die Bedeutung des Sozialen im ökonomischen Gewebe unserer Gesellschaften wieder her. Sie erweitern und verstärken den Entwurf von alternativen, selbstbestimmten Produktionsweisen und Kollektiverfahrungen. Zweifellos gibt es keine bessere Möglichkeit zu begreifen, auf welche Weise der zeitgenössische Kapitalismus operiert und in welchem Maße heute Produktion und gesellschaftlichen Reproduktion verwickelt sind, als eigene Ökonomien zu entwickeln und unsere eigene Autonomie abzusichern.

19–19:15 Uhr
Global Capitalism and the Ithagenia Condition
Einführung von Max Jorge Hinderer Cruz

19:15–20 Uhr
Spaces of Social Economy, Solidarity, and Deinstitutionalization in Athens: Teil 1
Vortrag
Mit Deborah Carlos-Valencia (DIWATA) und Lina Mourgi (SSE)

20:15–21:45 Uhr
Spaces of Social Economy, Solidarity, and Deinstitutionalization in Athens: Teil 2
Diskussion
Mit Gigi Argyropoulou und Stavros Stavrides, moderiert von Margarita Tsomou

Konstantinos Doumpenidis, Untitled, 2015

Dr. Gigi Argyropoulou ist Forscherin, Theoretikerin, Regisseurin und Kuratorin auf dem Gebiet Performance und kulturelle Praktiken. Sie hat Festivals, Konferenzen, Performances, Interventionen und Aktionen initiiert und organisiert. Sie besitzt einen MA des Dartington College of Arts und einen PhD der University of Roehampton. Argyropoulou ist Autorin zahlreicher Publikationen und Mitherausgeberin (mit Hypatia Vourloumis) der Sonderausgabe „On Institutions“ der Zeitschrift Performance Research (2015). Als politische Aktivistin ist sie Mitbegründerin des Mavili Collective und war in den letzten Jahren aktiv an der Gründung anderer Formationen beteiligt. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Athen.

Deborah Carlos-Valencia ist Gründungsmitglied von Babaylan – The Philippine Women’s Network in Europe. Sie rief DIWATA – Philippine Women’s Network in Griechenland ins Leben, das als von Migrantinnen selbstverwaltete Mikrokredit-Kooperative begann. Carlos-Valencia hat zahlreiche Lehrgänge und Seminare für philippinische Migrantinnen in Europa gegeben. Dabei behandelte sie Themenfelder wie kooperative Schulung von Führungskräften, Selbstbehauptung und Durchsetzungsvermögen sowie finanzielle Mündigkeit. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Athen.

Lina Mourgi ist Mitglied des Dock for Social Solidarity Economy (SSE), einem wachsenden Netzwerk und Zentrum für Kommunikation, Bildung und Bewusstseinsbildung für soziale und solidarische Ökonomien. 2017 war sie Mitbegründerin der Dock – Social Solidarity Economy Cooperative Zone, einer autonomen kooperativen Infrastruktur, die SSE unterstützt. Mourgi lebt und arbeitet in Athen.

Dr. Stavros Stavrides, Architekt und Aktivist, ist außerordentlicher Professor an der School of Architecture der National Technical University von Athen, wo er Lehrveranstaltungen für Graduierte zum Themenfeld Wohnungsdesign (und Design von sozialem Wohnungsbau) und Lehrveranstaltungen für Postgraduierte über die Bedeutung der Erfahrung des Großstädtischen abhält. Er veröffentlichte zahlreiche Aufsätze und Bücher, u. a. Common Space (2016), Suspended Spaces of Alterity (2010), The Texture of Things (mit Evi Cotsou, 1996) und The Symbolic Relation to Space (1990). Sein Buch From the City-Screen to the City-Stage (2002) gewann den griechischen Buchpreis. Seine derzeitige Forschungsarbeit konzentriert sich auf Formen der Emanzipation räumlicher Praktiken und auf Räume des „Commoning“, der Nutzung und des Erhalts von Nutzergemeinschaften. Stavrides lebt und arbeitet in Athen.

Gepostet in ­­­Öffentliche Programme
Verwandte Einträge

In Spite of Everything: Stubborn Returns and Urban Afterlives

In Spite of Everything: Stubborn Returns and Urban Afterlives, Avdi-Platz, Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Yiannis Priftis

In Spite of Everything: Stubborn Returns…

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.