#14 To The Floor #14 To The Floor #14 To The Floor #14
with Mattin, Tatsuya Takahashi, Royal Jelly Benefits, Izabel b2b Jules b2b Jondo

SEP
14
DJ Sets
10 pm–4 am
Tofufabrik, Wolfhager Strasse 39A, Kassel

14 To The Floor’s fourteenth installment, auspiciously timed to occur on September 14: ready your discerning ears and dancing feet for one final blowout of musical impressions as documenta 14’s weekly club night readies itself for a big-boned, grand finale in fine thunderstruck style.

Fittingly, for a project initiated by the people for the people, documenta 14 artists and team members take center stage in the persons of Mattin, Royal Jelly Benefits, Tatsuya Takahashi, and Izabel, Jules and Jondo, back to back—a final, lasting reminder of the centrality of the sound of music to documenta 14 as a whole: learning from the night…

Running order:
Mattin
Tatsuya Takahashi (live)
Royal Jelly Benefits
Izabel b2b Jules b2b Jondo

Sound:
Yuji Tsutsumida

Poster design:
Fake Office


documenta 14 artist Mattin has worked predominantly with noise and improvisation, compiling over seventy releases on numerous international labels. His collaborators include the likes of Tony Conrad, Taku Sugimoto, Oren Ambarchi, Junko, and Bruce Russell, among others, and he’s written about improvisation, free software, and against the notion of intellectual property. He’ll be bringing some of the rhythmic treasures he’s come across during his travels for the final culmination of 14 To The Floor.

​Tatsuya Takahashi is a synthesist and instrument builder. Until recently, he was the chief engineer at Korg, responsible for developing the Monotron, Volca, and the Minilogue series of synthesizers, among many others. For 14 To The Floor, “Tats” will perform original compositions during his live-set European premier. Booyakasha!

​After years of listening to and experimenting with all kinds of music, Royal Jelly Benefits (1/3 of wemustbeinlove and 1/2 of Brooklyn Zoo) hosted a daily two-hour radio show during the week for five years on former Mojo Radio 107.7 in Patras, Greece and created an abundance of podcasts for InterSonik Net Radio. This led him dig deep, ultimately to explorations of tropical jazz, Brazilian psych keys, and street corner disco. In his sets, he’ll take jazz, Latin, and disco over house any day. Freestyle all over the place.

Melbourne native Izabel is founder of the record label Lullabies For Insomniacs. Since relocating to Amsterdam in 2015, she has played at clubs and festivals all over Europe, including frequent appearances at famed nightclub De School, Amsterdam.

​Jules’ (Salon des Amateurs / NTS Radio) boundless sense of enthusiasm and curiosity for a range of music results in sets packed with surprising moments. His approach reaches beyond mere eclecticism and is coupled with a talent for weaving together disparate sounds to produce exciting juxtapositions. All that combined with a capacity for versatility and a well-honed appreciation of context—be it his residency at Dusseldorf’s beloved and unique Salon des Amateurs or on his monthly slot on NTS Radio, one can expect anything from textures of ambient and experimental music to eccentric New Wave and forgotten B-sides to beautifully sinister and propulsive electro.

​A talent from Cologne, Phillip Jondo (Salon des Amateurs / NTS Radio) weaves together Dadaistic tape experiments, minimal synth, and mutant disco to form ceremonial rhythms. In addition to his residency at Salon des Amateurs in Dusseldorf, he hosts a monthly show on NTS Radio, alone or with guests.


Fourteen To The Floor is a weekly club night run by a shape-shifting collective of documenta workers in parallel with the exhibition’s fourteen-week duration in Kassel. documenta 14 extends into the night …

Entrance fee: 6 €

Posted in Calendar
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

#14 To The Floor #14 To The Floor #14 To The Floor #14
mit Mattin, Tatsuya Takahashi, Royal Jelly Benefits, Izabel b2b Jules b2b Jondo

SEP
14
DJ Sets
22–4 Uhr
Tofufabrik, Wolfhager Strasse 39A, Kassel
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Die vierzehnte Ausgabe von 14 To The Floor findet passenderweise am 14. September statt: Spitzt Eure anspruchsvollen Ohren und macht Eure Tanzfüße bereit für ein letztes großes Fest der musikalischen Eindrücke, wenn sich die wöchentliche Clubnacht der documenta 14 mit einem großen Finale mit Donnerknall verabschiedet.

Passend für ein Projekt, das von Menschen für Menschen gemacht ist, wird die Bühne von Künstler_innen und Teammitgliedern der documenta 14 (Mattin, Royal Jelly Benefits, Tatsuya Takahashi, Izabel, Jules and Jondo) betreten – eine letzte, nachhaltige Erinnerung daran, wie wichtig der Klang der Musik für die documenta 14 als Ganze ist: von der Nacht lernen…

In der Reihenfolge Ihres Auftretens:
Mattin
Tatsuya Takahashi (live)
Royal Jelly Benefits
Izabel b2b Jules b2b Jondo

Ton:
Yuji Tsutsumida

Plakatdesign:
Fake Office


Mattin ist ein Künstler der documenta 14 und arbeitet vor allem mit Geräuschen und Improvisation. Er bringt es bislang auf siebzig Releases bei zahlreichen internationalen Labeln. Zusammengearbeitet hat er unter anderem mit Tony Conrad, Taku Sugimoto, Oren Ambarchi, Junko und Bruce Russell. Außerdem hat er über Improvisation und freie Software geschrieben und sich gegen die Idee des geistigen Eigentums ausgesprochen. Er bringt uns einige Rhythmusschätze mit, die er auf seinen Reisen aufgelesen hat, um einen letzten Höhepunkt von 14 To The Floor mitzugestalten.

​Tatsuya Takahashi ist ein Synthesizer- und Instrumentenbauer. Bis vor Kurzem war er Chefingenieur bei Korg und dort unter anderem verantwortlich für die Entwicklung von Monotron, Volca und der Minilogue Synthesizer-Serie. Für 14 To The Floor spielt „Tats“ Originalkompositionen auf seiner europäischen Live-Set-Premiere. Booyakasha!

​Nachdem er jahrelang alle Arten von Musik gehört und verarbeitet hatte, ist Royal Jelly Benefits (ein Drittel von wemustbeinlove und eine Hälfte von Brooklyn Zoo) seit fünf Jahren Gastgeber einer wöchentlichen zweistündigen Radiosendung auf dem ehemaligen Mojo Radio 107.7 im griechischen Patras und hat ebenso eine Unmenge an Podcasts für InterSonik Net Radio produziert. Dadurch ist er letztlich bis zu Tropical Jazz, Brazilian Psych Keys und Street Corner Disco vorgedrungen. In seinen Sets spielt er eher Jazz, Latin und Disco als House. Freestyle durch und durch.

Die aus Melbourne stammende Izabel ist Gründerin des Plattenlabels Lullabies For Insomniacs. Seit ihrem Umzug nach Amsterdam im Jahr 2015 hat sie in Clubs und auf Festivals in ganz Europa gespielt, einschließlich häufiger Auftritte im berühmten Club De School in Amsterdam.

​Jules' (Salon des Amateurs / NTS Radio) grenzenloser Enthusiasmus und unbändige Neugier auf eine ganze Bandbreite an Musik führt zu Sets, die randvoll mit Überraschungen sind. Sein Ansatz reicht über bloßen Eklektizismus hinaus und koppelt sich mit einem Talent für das Zusammenweben disparater Klänge zu aufregenden Gegenüberstellungen. All das wird mit einer flexiblen Grundhaltung und fein ausgebildeter Wahrnehmung des Kontextes kombiniert, sei es in seiner geliebten Düsseldorfer Residenz im einzigartigen Salon des Amateurs oder in seinem monatlichen Slot auf NTS Radio – man darf alles erwarten: von Ambienttexturen und Experimentalmusik bis hin zu exzentrischem New Wave, vergessenen B-Seiten und herrlich sinistrem und treibendem Electro.

​Das Kölner Talent Phillip Jondo (Salon des Amateurs / NTS Radio) verwebt dadaistische Tape-Experimente, Minimal Synth und Mutant Disco zu feierlichen Rhythmen. Außerhalb seiner Residenz im Salon des Amateurs in Düsseldorf macht er monatlich eine Sendung auf NTS Radio, die er alleine oder mit Gästen bestreitet.


Fourteen To The Floor ist eine wöchentliche Clubnacht, die während der 14-wöchigen Dauer der documenta in Kassel von einem Kollektiv von documenta Mitarbeiter_innen in sich verändernder Form organisiert wird. Und so setzt sich die documenta 14 in der Nacht fort …

​Eintritt: 6 €

Gepostet in Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.