Pile o´ Sápmi Tribute
with Matti Aikio, Ken Are Bongo, Mai-Lis Eira, Elle Márjá Eira, and Morten Hyld Pettersen

SEP
3
Concert with video visuals
11 pm–1 am
Goldgrube, Eisenschmiede 85, Kassel

Photo: Morten Hyld Pettersen 



Free entry
Doors open at 10 pm

Young reindeer herder, Jovsset Ánte Sara, stands alone in court against the Norwegian state. The state’s regulations are forcing him to slaughter his reindeer herd down to seventy-five, which, in practice, means an end to his livelihood. At the same time, Máret Ánne Sara, his sister and an artist, raises challenging questions aimed at the Norwegian state about the reindeer herders’ legal protection and society at large through her work Pile o´ Sápmi.

Máret Ánne Sara has invited artists from Sápmi to Kassel to further her installation Pile o´ Sápmi with movies and music. This is the second tribute to Pile o´ Sápmi—the first took place in January 2017 in Tromsø during the second hearing of proceedings against the Norwegian government for their practice of forced reindeer culling.

Part of the Pile o´ Sápmi project, Elle Márjá Eira’s musical expression is at the intersection of joik (a traditional style of Sámi singing), electronic, and Indigenous music. Performing a variety of songs with Morten Hyld Pettersen, the concert will be accompanied by visual material from the documentary currently being filmed by Mai-Lis Eira and Matti Aikio focusing on the Norwegian Reindeer Herding Act, proceedings against the forced culls of Sámi reindeer herds, and Pile o´ Sápmi.


Mai-Lis Eira is a Sámi filmmaker. She started following Jovsset Ánte Sara’s court case when it was still in district court and where she became familiar with Máret Ánne Sara’s project, Pile o´ Sápmi. She has been following the siblings since then and documenting the work as it evolves.

Elle Márjá Eira is a multimedia artist and one of Sápmi’s most renowned performers. She’s also a film producer visualizing lyrics through music, film, and soundscapes. She grew up in a reindeer herding family in Kautokeino, Norway and retrieves inspiration from her childhood, life in the North, and reindeer herding. In addition to playing with her own band and performing internationally, including concerts in Brazil, Guatemala, Germany, Canada, Switzerland, the USA, Russia, and Finland, Eira collaborates musically with John Paul Jones (Led Zeppelin) and Lucy Parnell in the newly formed band, Snoweye.

Morten Hyld Pettersen is a musician and music producer from Alta, Northern Norway.

Posted in Calendar
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Pile o´ Sápmi Tribute
mit Matti Aikio, Ken Are Bongo, Mai-Lis Eira, Elle Márjá Eira und Morten Hyld Pettersen

SEP
3
Konzert mit Videoprojektionen
23–1 Uhr
Goldgrube, Eisenschmiede 85, Kassel
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Foto: Morten Hyld Pettersen 

Freier Eintritt
Die Türen öffnen um 22 Uhr

Der junge Rentierhirt Jovsset Ánte Sara zieht ganz allein gegen den norwegischen Staat vor Gericht. Die staatlichen Verordnungen zwingen ihn dazu, seine Rentierherde bis auf eine Zahl von fünfundsiebzig Tieren zu schlachten, was nichts anderes bedeutet, als dass ihm die Lebensgrundlage entzogen wird. Gleichzeitig stellt seine Schwester, die Künstlerin Máret Ánne Sara, mit ihrer Arbeit Pile o´ Sápmi drängende Fragen, die sich an den norwegischen Staat wenden und zum rechtlichen Schutz der Rentierhirt_innen und der Gesellschaft insgesamt aufrufen.

Máret Ánne Sara hat Künstler_innen von Sápmi bis Kassel eingeladen, ihre Installation Pile o´ Sápmi mit Filmen und Musik zu unterstützen. Dies ist die zweite Hommage an Pile o´ Sápmi — die erste fand während der zweiten Anhörung gegen die norwegische Regierung bezüglich ihres Vorgehens zur erzwungenen Dezimierung der Rentierbestände im Januar 2017 in Tromsø statt.

Als Teil des Projekts Pile o´ Sápmi Projekts zeichnet Elle Márjá Eiras Musik die Überschneidung von joik (ein traditioneller Gesangsstil der Samen), Elektronik und indigener Musik aus. Gemeinsam mit Morten Hyld Pettersen wird sie einige Lieder vortragen. Das Konzert wird von Bildmaterial von Mai-Lis Eira und Matti Aikio begleitet, das das norwegische Gesetz zur Rentierhaltung, das Verfahren gegen die erzwungene Dezimierung der samischen Rentierherden und Pile o´ Sápmi umkreist.


Mai-Lis Eira ist eine samische Filmemacherin. Sie verfolgte den Fall Jovsset Ánte Sara bereits, als dieser vor einem Bezirksgericht verhandelt wurde, und stieß dabei auf Máret Ánne Saras Projekt Pile o´ Sápmi. Seit dieser Zeit folgt sie den beiden Geschwistern und dokumentiert fortlaufend deren Arbeit.

Elle Márjá Eira ist Multimediakünstlerin und eine von Sápmis bekanntesten Performerinnen. Sie ist auch Filmproduzentin, die Gedichte durch Musik, Film und Klanglandschaften visualisiert. Aufgewachsen ist sie in einer Familie von Rentierzüchter_innen in Kautokeino, Norwegen, ihre Inspiration schöpft sie aus ihrer Kindheit, dem Leben im hohen Norden und der Rentierhaltung. Nebeninternationalen Auftritten mit ihrer eigenen Band, darunter Konzerte in Brasilien, Guatemala, Deutschland, Kanada, der Schweiz, den USA, Russland und Finnland, arbeitet Eira musikalisch mit John Paul Jones (Led Zeppelin) und Lucy Parnell in der kürzlich gegründeten Band Snoweye zusammen.

Morten Hyld Pettersen ist Musiker und Musikproduzent aus Alta, Nordnorwegen.

Gepostet in Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.