Keimena: #31 Passing Drama
by Angela Melitopoulos

11:59 pm
ERT2, Athens

Angela Melitopoulos, Passing Drama, 1999, Germany, film still

Passing Drama, 1999, Germany, 66 min.
Director: Angela Melitopoulos

Passing Drama by Angela Melitopoulos is an unconventional documentary that takes as its starting point the mass movement of people when the Ottoman Empire collapsed in 1923. It interviews survivors of the period as well as the next generation, many of whom ended up in forced-labor camps in Austria, and subsequent generations who moved to Germany as “guest workers.” This moving film uses experimental techniques to represent the traumas of displacement and the pain of remembering.

Keimena, a documenta 14 Film Program on ERT2, airs Mondays at midnight from December 19, 2016 to September 18, 2017. Each film can be viewed during the broadcast and streamed on demand for seven days thereafter. Please note that the films are presented in their original language with Greek subtitles, and can be streamed from within Greece only.

Posted in Public TV

Angela Melitopoulos

Angela Melitopoulos’s work consists of complex cinematographic cartographies that assume the form of video installations. Introduced to video by Nam June Paik, she went on to elaborate the medium’s…


Keimena #31: ​Passing Drama

by Angela Melitopoulos

Passing Drama by Angela Melitopoulos revolves around the great population displacement that followed the breakdown of the Ottoman Empire. The title plays with the double meaning of the word “Drama.” Implying tragedy and turmoil, Drama is also the name of the town where Melitopoulos’s grandparents settled after the Lausanne convention in 1923…

Public TV

Every Time A Ear di Soun, a documenta 14 Radio Program Presentation

with Adam Szymczyk, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Angela Melitopoulos, Hila Peleg, Emeka Ogboh, and Andreas-Peter Weber

Moderated by Vladimir Balzer
Musical interventions by Sonic Shadow aka Satch Hoyt with Earl Harvin and Dirk Leyers, DJ Lamin Fofana

Every Time A Ear di Soun, a documenta 14 Radio Program, is being presented…


Passing Drama

by Angela Melitopoulos

“In Passing Drama, ‘escape’ turns from a subject of narration into a cinematic theme about narration and memory itself. History is presented as a machine which devours minorities in order to feed…

Keimena: #31 Passing Drama
von Angela Melitopoulos

JUL
17
23:59 Uhr
ERT2, Athen
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Angela Melitopoulos, Passing Drama, 1999, Deutschland, Filmstill

Passing Drama, 1999, Deutschland, 66 Min.
Regie: Angela Melitopoulos

Passing Drama von Angela Melitopoulos ist ein unkonventioneller Dokumentarfilm, der als Ausgangspunkt die Massenbewegung wählt, die einsetzte, als 1923 das Osmanische Reich zusammenbrach. Wir sehen Interviews mit Zeitzeugen und mit Menschen aus der nächsten Generation, die in Zwangsarbeitslagern in Österreich endeten, und mit Mitgliedern späterer Generationen, die als „Gastarbeiter“ nach Deutschland zogen. Dieser bewegende Film nutzt experimentelle Techniken, um die Traumata der Vertreibung und die Schmerzen der Erinnerung vor Augen zu führen.


Keimena, ein documenta 14 Filmprogramm auf ERT2, läuft montags um Mitternacht vom 19. Dezember 2016 bis zum 18. September 2017. Jeder Film kann während der Ausstrahlung und im Anschluss sieben Tage lang auf Abruf online gesehen werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass alle Filme in Originalsprache mit griechischen Untertiteln gezeigt werden, und nur innerhalb Griechenlands online gestreamt werden können.

Gepostet in Öffentliches Fernsehen
Verwandte Einträge

Angela Melitopoulos

Angela Melitopoulos’ Werk beruht auf komplexen filmischen Kartografien in Form von Videoinstallationen. Von Nam June Paik in das Genre des Videofilms eingeführt, analysierte die Künstlerin in der Folge…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

Keimena #31: Passing Drama

von Angela Melitopoulos

Passing Drama von Angela Melitopoulos kreist um die Vertreibung und Umsiedlung großer Bevölkerungsteile, die nach dem Zusammenbruch des Osmanischen Reiches stattfand. Der Titel des Films spielt dabei mit der Doppelbedeutung des Wortes „Drama“. Zugleich wird auf Tragödie und Aufruhr angespielt, aber auch auf den Namen der Stadt, in der sich die Großeltern von Melitopoulos nach dem Vertrag von Lausanne im Jahr 1923 niederließen…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

Every Time A Ear di Soun, ein documenta 14 Radioprogramm Veranstaltung

mit Adam Szymczyk, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Angela Melitopoulos, Hila Peleg, Emeka Ogboh und Andreas-Peter Weber

Moderiert von Vladimir Balzer
Musikalische Interventionen von Sonic Shadow aka Satch Hoyt zusammen mit Earl Harvin und Dirk Leyers, DJ Lamin Fofana

Every Time A Ear di Soun, ein Radioprogramm der documenta…

 Mehr
Kalender

Passing Drama

von Angela Melitopoulos

„Die Flucht als Motiv der Erzählung wird in Passing Drama zu einem filmischen Thema über Erzählung und Gedächtnis selbst. Historie erscheint als eine Maschinerie, die für das Wohl einer unsichtbaren…

 Mehr
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.