Visual Sounds
with aneducation

JUL
11–13
5–8 pm
Athens Conservatoire (Odeion), Vassileos Georgiou B’ 17-19, Athens

How can the human voice express an object’s sound vibrations? What is the relationship between the role of a score and the player?

Join us for Visual Sounds, a vibrant enactment of scores, music, sound, and text during a three-day series of drop-in workshops at the documenta 14 venue, Athens Odeion (Conservatoire).

Drawing upon works from a number of artists who use scores, movement, notation, and performance, together with the members of the chorus, aneducation invites the public to activate and create their own scores through participation.

Open to all.


Schedule

Tuesday July 11, 2017
5–8 pm

  • Workshop 1: Transpositions
    With Dana Papachristou and Giorgos Samantas
    Space: Studio 14

    How can we “see” an exhibition through its vibrations? How can we listen to the artworks through someone else’s ears? Can we conceive a visit to an exhibition as a listening experience?

    During the workshop “Transpositions” we transform our stimuli to sound material, we construct the recording tools, and we recompose them into a musical walking piece. Excerpts of this sonic dialogue are recomposed and transposed to Kassel as a walkable sound composition.

  • Workshop 2: What to Do in Case of Summer Snow
    With Aimilia Efthimiou, Orestis Giannoulis, Ida Westh-Hansen, and Myrto Vratsanou
    Space: main entrance

    How would you protect yourself from the cold if you only had a poem, or the memory of a distant sound? In this workshop we learn to construct in a collective way, with unexpected material, houses, and stages in which we discuss, speak up, are heard. Under the metaphor of summer snow, we try to use the contradictions we are presented with, ease the edges, work toward footholds that won’t fall apart.

  • Workshop 3: „Thwack, Thwack, Thwack, Goes the Glove Against the Boot“
    Instrument-making workshop with Stella Dimitrakopoulou, Sarah De Wilde, and Clare Breen
    Space: Arcade space, next to Joar Nango and the Omega 4 space

    In the arcade space of the Odeion (outside, next to Joar Nango) we are setting up an instrument-making station for two hours. All passers-by are welcome to come and sit with us in the space, to make instruments from collected debris, detritus, rubbish, trash, scrap, and other precious remains, bringing together the aesthetics of the work of Guillermo Galindo, Nevin Aladag, and Daniel Knorr. In the third hour we move downstairs to the Omega 4 space to explore the performative potential of the space and the new instruments.

    Children are especially welcome.


Wednesday July 12, 2017
5–8 pm

  • Workshop 1: έΚΤRΟΜΑ, the third ear
    Thomas Diafas, Demetra Ignatiou, Thanos Makris, and Dimitra Tsiaouskoglou
    Space: Omega 1

    This workshop takes concrete poetry as a starting point, and explores its affinities to music, rites, and performance art, experimenting with their visual and sonic dimensions. An invitation to destroy the norm.

  • Workshop 2: Inspired by Lala Rukh—Manifesting Frequencies of Resistance Through Posters and Scores
    With Silke Wittig, Mateusz Sapija, Mika Hayashi Ebbesen
    Space: Omega 4

    The main goal of this workshop is to activate the political potential of Lala Rukh’s contemporary artistic practice. We explore the nuanced spectrum of her oeuvre, from calligraphy, scores, and music in Pakistan, to the political activism behind Lala Rukh’s Women’s Action Forum posters. Participants are invited to create their own relevant calligraphic imagery on a poster, which will be sewn together at the end of the workshop into a collective score.

  • Workshop 3: Uprooting Sounds

    With Denise Araouzou, Bianca Maria Fasiolo, Timothy Laskaratos, and Johnny Pavlatos

    Space: studio 14

    The concept behind the ‘Uprooting Sounds’ workshop stems from the history, architecture, and environment of the Athens Conservatoire, but also from works found in the exhibition that deal with the notion of displacement both geographically and culturally. Through scores and rites we learn to separate our senses, and defining spaces and materials we take in our surroundings and develop new ones.


Thursday July 13, 2017
5–8 pm

  • Workshop 1: What to Do in Case of Summer Snow
    With Aimilia Efthimiou, Orestis Giannoulis, Ida Westh-Hansen, and Myrto Vratsanou
    Space: main entrance

    How would you protect yourself from the cold if you only had a poem, or the memory of a distant sound? In this workshop we learn to construct in a collective way, with unexpected material, houses, and stages in which we discuss, speak up, are heard. Under the metaphor of summer snow, we try to use the contradictions we are presented with, ease the edges, work toward footholds that won’t fall apart.

  • Workshop 2: έΚΤRΟΜΑ, the third ear
    Thomas Diafas, Demetra Ignatiou, Thanos Makris, and Dmitra Tsiaouskoglou
    Space: Omega 1

    This workshop takes concrete poetry as a starting point, and explores its affinities to music, rites, and performance art, experimenting with their visual and sonic dimensions. An invitation to destroy the norm.

  • Workshop 3: Uprooting Sounds
    With Denise Araouzou, Bianca Maria Fasiolo, Timothy Laskaratos, and Johnny Pavlatos
    Space: studio 14

    The concept behind the ‘Uprooting Sounds’ workshop stems from the history, architecture, and environment of the Athens Conservatoire, but also from works found in the exhibition that deal with the notion of displacement both geographically and culturally. Through scores and rites we learn to separate our senses, and defining spaces and materials we take in our surroundings and develop new ones.
Posted in Public Education
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Visual Sounds
mit „eine Erfahrung“

JUL
11–13
17–20 Uhr
Athener Konservatorium (Odeion), Vassileos Georgiou B’ 17-19, Athen
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Auf welche Weise kann die menschliche Stimme Tonschwingungen eines Objekts zum Ausdruck bringen? Worin besteht die Beziehung zwischen Partitur und Spieler_in?

Begleiten Sie uns bei Visual Sounds, einer pulsierenden Aufführung von Partituren, Musik, Sound und Text während einer dreitägigen Reihe von Workshops, zu denen Sie ganz einfach am documenta 14 Veranstaltungsort des Athener Konservatoriums (Odeion) vorbeikommen können.

Ausgehend von Werken einiger Künstler_innen, die Partituren, Bewegungen, Notationen und Performances nutzen, und gemeinsam mit Mitgliedern des Chores, lädt Eine Erfahrung die Öffentlichkeit dazu ein, durch ihre Teilnahme eigene Partituren anzuregen und zu schaffen.

Die Veranstaltung steht allen offen.

Programm

11. Juli 2017
17–20 Uhr

  • Workshop 1: Transpositions
    Dana Papachristou und Giorgos Samantas

    Wie können wir eine Ausstellung mittels ihrer Schwingungen „sehen“? Wie können wir den Kunstwerken mit den Ohren eines anderen lauschen? Können wir einen Ausstellungsbesuch zu einem Hörerlebnis machen?

    In dem Workshop „Transpositions“ verwandeln wir unsere Eindrücke in Klangmaterial, wir bauen die Aufnahmegeräte und setzen unsere Eindrücke in einem musikalischen Spaziergangsstück zusammen. Auszüge aus diesem Klangkunstdialog werden als eine Neukomposition nach Kassel übermittelt, wo sie als eine begehbare Klangkomposition erlebt werden kann.

  • Workshop 2: What to Do in Case of Summer Snow
    Aimilia Efthimiou, Orestis Giannoulis, Ida Westh-Hansen und Myrto Vratsanou

    Wie würden Sie sich vor der Kälte schützen, wenn alles, was Ihnen zur Verfügung steht ein Gedicht wäre oder die Erinnerung an einen entfernten Ton?

    In diesem Workshop lernen wir, gemeinsam zu bauen – mit unerwarteten Materialien, Häusern und Bühnen, auf denen wir diskutieren, uns zu Wort melden und gehört werden. Mit der Metapher des sommerlichen Schnees möchten wir die Widersprüche, die uns umgeben nutzbar machen, ihre Kanten etwas abrunden und Stützen entwickeln, die nicht ohne Weiteres nachgeben.

  • Workshop 3: „Thwack, Thwack, Thwack, Goes the Glove Against the Boot“
    Workshop zur Anfertigung von Instrumenten mit Stella Dimitrakopoulou, Sarah De Wilde und Clare Breen
    Ort: Arkaden, neben Joar Nango, und Saal Omega 4

    In den Arkaden des Odeion (außerhalb, neben Joar Nango) bauen wir für zwei Stunden eine Station zur Anfertigung von Instrumenten auf. Alle Besucher sind willkommen, mit uns in dem Raum zusammenzusitzen und aus gesammeltem Schutt, Trümmern, Müll, Abfall, Schrott und anderen kostbaren Überbleibseln Instrumente anzufertigen, die die Ästhetik der Arbeiten von Guillermo Galindo, Nevin Aladag und Daniel Knorr zusammenbringen. In der dritten Stunde ziehen wir nach unten in den Saal Omega 4, um das performative Potenzial des Raumes und der neuen Instrumente zu erkunden.
    Kinder sind besonders herzlich willkommen.


12. Juli 2017
17–20 Uhr

  • Workshop 1: έΚΤRΟΜΑ: The Third Ear
    Thomas Diafas, Demetra Ignatiou, Thanos Makris und Dimitra Tsiaouskoglou

    Ausgangspunkt dieses Workshops ist die Konkrete Poesie. Wir erkunden ihr Verhältnis zur Musik, den Riten und der Performance-Kunst und experimentieren mit den audiovisuellen Dimensionen dieser Genres. Eine Einladung zur Zerstörung von Normen.

  • Workshop 2: Inspired by Lala Rukh: Manifesting Frequencies of Resistance Through Posters and Scores
    Silke Wittig, Mateusz Sapija, Mika Hayashi Ebbesen

    Das vornehmliche Ziel dieses Workshops ist die Aktivierung des politischen Potenzials von Lala Rukhs zeitgenössischer Musikpraxis. Wir beschäftigen uns mit dem nuancierten Spektrum ihres Werkes, von der Kalligrafie über Partituren und Musik in Pakistan zu dem politischen Aktivismus hinter Lala Rukhs Postern für das Women’s Action Forum (Frauen-Aktionsforum). Teilnehmer sind eingeladen, ihre eigenen kalligrafischen Zeichnungen auf Poster zu malen, die am Ende des Workshops zu einer kollektiven Partitur zusammengenäht werden.

  • Workshop 3: Uprooting Sounds
    Denise Araouzou, Bianca Maria Fasiolo, Timothy Laskaratos und Johnny Pavlatos

    Die Idee hinter dem Workshop „Uprooting Sounds“ entstammt der Geschichte, Architektur und Umgebung des Athener Konservatoriums, aber auch der in der Ausstellung gezeigten Arbeiten, die Fragen von geografischer und kultureller Verschiebung behandeln. Durch Partituren und Riten lernen wir, unsere Sinne voneinander zu trennen und die Räume und Materialien zu erspüren, die uns umgeben, und neue zu entwickeln.


​13. Juli 2017
17–20 Uhr

  • Workshop 1: What to Do in Case of Summer Snow
    Aimilia Efthimiou, Orestis Giannoulis, Ida Westh-Hansen und Myrto Vratsanou

    Wie würden Sie sich vor der Kälte schützen, wenn alles, was Ihnen zur Verfügung steht ein Gedicht wäre oder die Erinnerung an einen entfernten Ton?

    In diesem Workshop lernen wir, gemeinsam zu bauen – mit unerwarteten Materialien, Häusern und Bühnen, auf denen wir diskutieren, uns zu Wort melden und gehört werden. Mit der Metapher des sommerlichen Schnees möchten wir die Widersprüche, die uns umgeben nutzbar machen, ihre Kanten etwas abrunden und Stützen entwickeln, die nicht ohne Weiteres nachgeben.

  • Workshop 2: έΚΤRΟΜΑ: The Third Ear
    Thomas Diafas, Demetra Ignatiou, Thanos Makris und Dimitra Tsiaouskoglou

    Ausgangspunkt dieses Workshops ist die Konkrete Poesie. Wir erkunden ihr Verhältnis zur Musik, den Riten und der Performance-Kunst und experimentieren mit den audiovisuellen Dimensionen dieser Genres. Eine Einladung zur Zerstörung von Normen.

  • Workshop 3: Uprooting Sounds
    Denise Araouzou, Bianca Maria Fasiolo, Timothy Laskaratos und Johnny Pavlatos

    Die Idee hinter dem Workshop „Uprooting Sounds“ entstammt der Geschichte, Architektur und Umgebung des Athener Konservatoriums, aber auch der in der Ausstellung gezeigten Arbeiten, die Fragen von geografischer und kultureller Verschiebung behandeln. Durch Partituren und Riten lernen wir, unsere Sinne voneinander zu trennen und die Räume und Materialien zu erspüren, die uns umgeben, und neue zu entwickeln.
Gepostet in Vermittlungsprogramm
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.