Lady R
by Sofia Mavragani

APR
10
7–7:30 pm, 9:30–10 pm
Avdi Square, Avdi Square, Athens
MAY
26
9:30 pm
Avdi Square, Avdi Square, Athens

Inspired by the last speech of Rosa Luxemburg, Lady R takes place in the context of the public art project Monument to Revolution by Sanja Iveković.

Created by Sofia Mavragani, performed by Chara Kotsali, original music of Martha Mavroidi


Performance text

[Extracts from the last known piece of writing by Rosa Luxemburg. It was written just after the Spartacus uprising was crushed by the German government and in the hours prior to the arrest and murder of her and Karl Liebknecht by the Friekorps.]

“Order prevails in Warsaw!” “Order prevails in Paris!” “Order prevails in Berlin!” Every half-century that is what the bulletins from the guardians of “order” proclaim from one centre of the world-historic struggle to the next. And the jubilant “victors” fail to notice that any “order” that needs to be regularly maintained through bloody slaughter heads inexorably toward its historic destiny; its own demise.

While we are still in the midst of battle, while the counterrevolution is still howling about their victory, revolutionists must take stock of what happened and measure the events and their results against the great yardstick of history. The revolution has no time to lose, it continues to rush headlong over still-open graves, past “victories” and “defeats,” toward its great goal. The first duty of fighters is to consciously follow the revolution’s principles and its path.

The revolution does not develop evenly of its own volition, in a clear field of battle, according to a cunning plan devised by clever “strategists.”

The revolution’s enemies can also take the initiative, and indeed as a rule they exercise it more frequently than does the revolution. Indeed, the honour of the revolution depended upon repelling the attack immediately, with full force in order to prevent the counter-revolution from being encouraged to press forward, and lest the revolutionary ranks be shaken.

Now, it is one of the fundamental, inner laws of revolution that it never stands still, it never becomes passive or docile at any stage, once the first step has been taken. The best defence is a strong blow. This is the elementary rule of any fight but it is especially true at each and every stage of the revolution.

Here again we stand before one of the great historical laws of the revolution against which are smashed to pieces all the sophistry and arrogance of the petty “revolutionaries” who look for any pretext to the petty “revolutionaries” who look for any pretext to retreat from struggle. As soon as the fundamental problem of the revolution has been clearly posed then this basic problem will rise again and again in its entirety. With the inevitability of a natural law, every individual chapter in the struggle will unveil this problem to its full extent regardless of how unprepared the revolution is ready to solve it or how unripe the situation may be. Thus automatically, by its own internal, objective logic, bringing each episode in the struggle to a boil, whether one wants it to or not.

Because of the contradiction in the early stages of the revolutionary process between the task being sharply posed and the absence of any preconditions to resolve it, individual battles of the revolution end in formal defeat. But revolution is the only form of “war” – and this is another peculiar law of history – in which the ultimate victory can be prepared only by a series of “defeats.”

What does the entire history of all modern revolutions show us? The first spark of class struggle in Europe, the revolt of the silk weavers in Lyon in 1831, ended with a heavy defeat; the Chartist movement in Britain ended in defeat; the uprising of the Parisian proletariat in the June days of 1848 ended with a crushing defeat; and the Paris commune ended with a terrible defeat. The whole road of revolutionary struggles is paved with nothing but thunderous defeats. Yet, at the same time, history marches inexorably, step by step, toward final victory!

Where would we be today without those “defeats”?

There is but one condition. The question of why each defeat occurred must be answered. Did it occur because the forward-storming combative energy of the masses collided with the barrier of unripe historical conditions, or was it that indecision, vacillation, and internal frailty crippled the revolutionary impulse itself?

Both! The crisis had a dual nature.

“Order prevails in Athens!” “Order prevails in Kassel!” You foolish lackeys! Your “order” is built on sand. Tomorrow the revolution will “rise up again, clashing its weapons,” and to your horror it will proclaim with trumpets blazing:

I was, I am, I shall be!

Posted in Public Exhibition
Related

Sanja Iveković

Born in Zagreb in 1949, Sanja Iveković first came to prominence as part of the New Art Practice, a generation of artists in Socialist Yugoslavia which emerged after the student protests of 1968. Rejecting…

 More
Artists

In Spite of Everything: Stubborn Returns and Urban Afterlives

In Spite of Everything: Stubborn Returns and Urban Afterlives, Avdi Square, Athens, documenta 14, photo: Yiannis Priftis

In Spite of Everything: Stubborn…

 More
Calendar

Art of the Possible: Towards an Antifascist Feminist Front
An initiative of Angela Dimitrakaki and Antonia Majaca in collaboration with Sanja Iveković

This multi-lingual oral document brings together the voices of about thirty artists, theorists, activists reflecting on feminism as a critique of fascism and imagining the rise of an anti-fascist feminist…

 More
Calendar

Lady R (public rehearsal)
by Sofia Mavragani

Inspired by the last speech of Rosa Luxemburg, Lady R takes place in the context of the public art project Monument to Revolution by Sanja Iveković.

 More
Calendar

Lady R
von Sofia Mavragani

APR
10
19–19:30 Uhr, 21:30–22 Uhr
Avdi–Platz, Avdi–Platz, Athen
MAI
26
21:30 Uhr
Avdi–Platz, Avdi–Platz, Athen
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Inspiriert von der letzten Rede Rosa Luxemburgs, findet Lady R im Kontext des öffentlichen Kunstprojekts Monument to Revolution von Sanja Iveković statt.

Idee: Sofia Mavragani, Performerin: Chara Kotsali, Originalmusik: Martha Mavroidi


Performance Text

[Auszüge aus der letzten bekannten Schrift von Rosa Luxemburg. Der Text entstand, kurz nachdem der Spartakus-Aufstand von der deutschen Regierung niedergeschlagen worden war und in den Stunden vor ihrer und Karl Liebknechts Festsetzung und Ermordung durch ein Freikorps.]

„Ordnung herrscht in Warschau!“ „Ordnung herrscht in Paris!“ „Ordnung herrscht in Berlin!“ So laufen die Meldungen der Hüter der „Ordnung“ jedes halbe Jahrhundert von einem Zentrum des weltgeschichtlichen Kampfes zum anderen. Und die frohlockenden „Sieger“ merken nicht, dass eine „Ordnung“, die periodisch durch blutige Metzeleien aufrechterhalten werden muss, unaufhaltsam ihrem historischen Geschick, ihrem Untergang entgegengeht.

Noch mitten im Kampf, mitten im Siegesgeheul der Gegenrevolution müssen sich die revolutionären Proletarier über das Geschehene Rechenschaft ablegen, die Vorgänge und ihre Ergebnisse am großen historischen Maßstab messen. Die Revolution hat keine Zeit zu verlieren, sie stürmt weiter – über noch offene Gräber, über „Siege“ und „Niederlagen“ hinweg – ihren großen Zielen entgegen. Ihren Richtlinien, ihren Wegen mit Bewusstsein zu folgen, ist die erste Aufgabe der Kämpfer für den internationalen Sozialismus.

Die Revolution operiert eben nicht aus freien Stücken, in einem offenen Blachfeld, nach einem schlau von „Strategen“ zurechtgelegten Plan.

Ihre Gegner haben auch die Initiative, ja, sie üben sie in der Regel viel mehr als die Revolution selbst aus. […] Ja, es war Ehrensache der Revolution, sofort den Angriff mit aller Energie abzuschlagen, sollte nicht die Gegenrevolution zu weiterem Vordringen ermuntert, die revolutionären Reihen des Proletariats, der moralische Kredit der deutschen Revolution in der Internationale erschüttert werden.

Nun ist es inneres Lebensgesetz der Revolution, nie beim erreichten Schritt in Untätigkeit, in Passivität stehenzubleiben. Die beste Parade ist ein kräftiger Hieb. Diese elementare Regel jeden Kampfes beherrscht erst recht alle Schritte der Revolution.

Auch hier stehen wir vor einem der großen historischen Gesetze der Revolution, gegen die alle Klügeleien und Besserwissereien jener kleinen „Revolutionäre“ [...] zerschellen, die in jedem Kampfe nur nach Vorwänden zum Rückzug haschen. Sobald das Grundproblem der Revolution klar aufgestellt worden ist [...],taucht dieses Grundproblem immer wieder in seiner ganzen Aktualität auf, und jede einzelne Episode des Kampfes rollt mit der Fatalität eines Naturgesetzes das Problem in seinem vollen Umfang auf, mag die Revolution zu seiner Lösung noch so unvorbereitet, mag die Situation noch so unreif sein. [Sie] treibt dadurch von selbst, durch ihre innere objektive Logik, ob man es will oder nicht, jede Kampfepisode auf die Spitze.

Aus diesem Widerspruch zwischen der Zuspitzung der Aufgabe und den mangelnden Vorbedingungen zu ihrer Lösung in einer anfänglichen Phase der revolutionären Entwicklung ergibt sich, dass die Einzelkämpfe der Revolution formell mit einer Niederlage enden. Aber die Revolution ist die einzige Form des „Krieges“ – auch dies ihr besonderes Lebensgesetz –, wo der Endsieg nur durch eine Reihe von „Niederlagen“ vorbereitet werden kann!

Was zeigt uns die ganze Geschichte der modernen Revolutionen und des Sozialismus? Das erste Aufflammen des Klassenkampfes in Europa, der Aufruhr der Lyoner Seidenweber 1831, endete mit einer schweren Niederlage. Die Chartistenbewegung in England – mit einer Niederlage. Die Erhebung des Pariser Proletariats in den Junitagen 1848 endete mit einer niederschmetternden Niederlage. Die Pariser Kommune endete mit einer furchtbaren Niederlage. Der ganze Weg des Sozialismus ist – soweit revolutionäre Kämpfe in Betracht kommen – mit lauter Niederlagen besät. Und doch führt diese selbe Geschichte Schritt um Schritt unaufhaltsam zum endgültigen Siege!

Wo wären wir heute ohne jene „Niederlagen“?

Allerdings unter einer Bedingung! Es fragt sich, unter welchen Umständen die jeweilige Niederlage davongetragen wurde: Ob sie sich dadurch ergab, dass die vorwärtsstürmende Kampfenergie der Massen an die Schranke der mangelnden Reife der historischen Voraussetzungen geprallt, oder aber dadurch, daß die revolutionäre Aktion selbst durch Halbheit, Unentschlossenheit, innere Schwächen gelähmt war.

Beides! Der zwiespältige Charakter dieser Krise [...] ist das besondere Kennzeichen dieser jüngsten Episode.

„Ordnung herrscht in Athen!“ „Ordnung herrscht in Kassel!“ Ihr stumpfen Schergen! Eure „Ordnung“ ist auf Sand gebaut. Die Revolution wird sich morgen schon „rasselnd wieder in die Höh’ richten“ und zu eurem Schrecken mit Posaunenklang verkünden:

Ich war, ich bin, ich werde sein!

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Verwandte Einträge

Sanja Iveković

Sanja Iveković, 1949 in Zagreb geboren, wurde als Mitglied der Neuen Kunstpraxis bekannt, einer Künstlergeneration in der Sozialistischen Republik Jugoslawien, die nach den Studentenprotesten von 1968…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

In Spite of Everything: Stubborn Returns and Urban Afterlives

In Spite of Everything: Stubborn Returns and Urban Afterlives, Avdi-Platz, Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Yiannis Priftis

In Spite of Everything: Stubborn Returns…

 Mehr
Kalender

Art of the Possible: Towards an Antifascist Feminist Front
Eine Initiative von Angela Dimitrakaki und Antonia Majaca in Kollaboration mit Sanja Iveković

Art of the Possible

00:00/43:37 Als eine Antwort auf das öffentliche Kunstprojekt Monument to Revolution von Sanja Iveković…

 Mehr
Kalender

Lady R (­öffentliche Probe)
von Sofia Mavragani

Inspiriert von der letzten Rede Rosa Luxemburgs, findet Lady R im Kontext des öffentlichen Kunstprojekts Monument to Revolution von Sanja Iveković statt.

 Mehr
Kalender
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.