Black and White Perspectives of the Thomas Dick Photographic Collection

SEP
15
Lecture and discussion
8:30 pm
Museum für Sepulkralkultur, Weinbergstraße 25, Kassel

Thomas Dick, black-and-white photograph, 1910, Thomas Dick Collection, Australian Museum, Sydney, installation view, Museum für Sepulkralkultur, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Liz Eve

Lecture by John Heath, a member of the Birpai community, and an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community and Cultural Development Officer at the Port Macquarie-Hastings Council.
Introduced by documenta 14 curator Pierre Bal-Blanc and followed by Q&A.

To John Heath, the Thomas Dick Photographic Collection was more than just a collection of photographs. In 1974, he discovered that several members of his family were subjects in Dick’s work and set out to reveal the world that revolved around it. A world of real events carried out by real people, a world far bigger and far wider than that seen through and created by the photographic lens. His work places the subjects in their social, historical, and environmental context. They are rightfully and respectfully acknowledged by name. We learn who they were, what they did, their achievements and challenges. Dick’s life-like but otherwise anonymous images are brought to life. We see real people with families who reveal to us an unbroken lineage continuing today. These silent figures from a silent two-dimensional vacuum come to life and their stories are told in Black and White Perspectives of the Thomas Dick Collection.

For reasons such as satisfying an interest in “exotic” cultures or recording the characteristics of a supposedly dying race, ethnographic photographers of the late nineteenth century captured images of indigenous peoples but provided their intended viewers with very little, if any, written context about their subjects. The photograph itself was supposed to tell the story and provide its own limited context. The subjects were \rarely named beyond a very generic description such as “Australian native.” Sometimes a brief note was added about what they were doing, for example: “Natives fishing.”

Following this tradition, Thomas Dick created a remarkable body of work over the approximate period 1910-1920 around Port Macquarie. “Created” as Dick did not record Aboriginal contemporary reality but created a type. He created a world before white men invaded and for which he, and others, had some sense of nostalgia. Dick dressed Goories in pre-contact costumes and posed them in “traditional” settings carrying out activities “witnessed by explorers such as John Oxley.“ In many ways he imitated the nineteenth-century ethnophotographers but was taking photographs of how he envisaged Aborigines previously existed.

Posted in Public Exhibition
Related

Thomas Dick

Thomas Dick was an amateur photographer who photographed members of the Birpai community in the early decades of the twentieth century. Dick had a consistency in style, yet his work was not a record of…

 More

Black and White Perspectives of the Thomas Dick Photographic Collection

SEP
15
Vortrag und Diskussion
20:30 Uhr
Museum für Sepulkralkultur, Weinbergstraße 25, Kassel
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Thomas Dick, Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografie, 1910, Sammlung Thomas Dick, Australian Museum, Sydney, Installationsansicht, Museum für Sepulkralkultur, Kassel, documenta 14, Foto: Liz Eve

Vortrag von John Heath, Mitglied der Gemeinschaft der Birpai und Beauftragter für kulturelle Entwicklung der Aboriginal und Torres Strait Islander Community des Port Macquarie-Hastings Council

Vorgestellt von Pierre Bal-Blanc, Kurator der documenta 14. Im Anschluss besteht die Möglichkeit, Fragen zu stellen.

Für John Heath war die Sammlung von Thomas Dick mehr als nur eine Fotosammlung. 1974 identifizierte er mehrere Mitglieder seiner Familie in Dicks Arbeiten und nahm sich vor, die sie umgebende Welt zu zeigen. Eine Welt realer Begebenheiten, in der reale Menschen leben, viel größer und weiter als die vom Auge der Kamera wahrgenommene und erschaffene Welt. Seine Arbeiten zeigen die abgelichteten Personen in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung, in ihrem sozialen und historischen Kontext. Aus Gründen des Respekts werden ihre Namen genannt. Wir erfahren, wer sie waren, welchen Tätigkeiten sie nachgingen, welche Leistungen sie erbrachten und welchen Herausforderungen sie sich stellten. Dicks lebensechten, aber ansonsten anonymen Bildern wird neues Leben eingehaucht. Wir sehen echte Menschen, Familien mit einer bis zum heutigen Tag durchgängigen Abstammungslinie. Die stummen Figuren aus einem stummen, zweidimensionalen Vakuum werden lebendig, und ihre Schicksale werden in den Schwarzweiß-Perspektiven der Sammlung Thomas Dick erzählt.

Um das Interesse an „exotischen“ Kulturen zu befriedigen, oder um die Eigenschaften eines angeblich aussterbenden Volkes festzuhalten, lichtete man in der Ethnografie die Menschen einfach nur ab, für künftige Betrachter_innen gab es kaum oder gar keine schriftlichen Kommentare. Die Fotografien selbst sollten die Geschichte erzählen, ihr eigener, beschränkter Kontext musste genügen. Abgesehen von allgemeinen Beschreibungen wie „australischer Eingeborener“ blieben die Abgelichteten anonym. Gelegentlich wurde eine kurze Bemerkung zu ihrer Tätigkeit hinzugefügt, wie „Eingeborene beim Fischfang“.

Thomas Dick, der dieser Tradition verhaftet war, hatte in den Jahren von 1910 bis 1920 ein um Port Macquarie herum angesiedeltes, bemerkenswertes Werk erschaffen. „Erschaffen“, da Dick nicht die damalige Wirklichkeit der Aborigines festhielt, sondern einen Typus erschuf. Er erschuf eine Welt vor dem Eindringen der Weißen, an die er und andere mit einer gewissen Wehmut zurückdachten. Dick zeigte Aborigines in ihrer präzivilisatorischen Bekleidung und an „traditionellen“ Plätzen, wo sie ihrer Arbeit nachgingen und von „Forscher_innen wie John Oxley beobachtet wurden“. In vielerlei Hinsicht imitierte er die Fotografen des 19. Jahrhunderts, doch machte er Aufnahmen, die die Aborigines so zeigten, wie sie seiner Meinung nach früher gelebt hatten.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Verwandte Einträge

Thomas Dick

Am Anfang des zwanzigsten Jahrhundert machte der Amateurfotograf Thomas Dick Aufnahmen vom australischen Volk der Birpai. Dicks Fotografien hatten einen konsistenten Stil, waren jedoch weniger eine Studie…

 Mehr