Le fort des fous
by Narimane Mari

JUN
7
Screening
2 pm
Ballhaus, Schlosspark Wilhelmshöhe, Kassel
JUN
8–
SEP
17
Screening
11 am, 2 pm
Ballhaus, Schlosspark Wilhelmshöhe, Kassel

Narimane Mare, Le fort des fous, 2017, film still

Departing from material records of the early colonial “scientific expeditions” and “taming campaigns” led by the French colonizers in North Africa, the story follows a community of young nomads and wanderers as they form an imagined utopian society. Reenactments, improvisations, and interviews performed and conducted with the inhabitants of Algiers, Kythira Island, and the Prosfygika community in Athens inform this work as instances of alternative temporality and autonomous space.

Narimane Mare, Le fort des fous, 2017, Algeria/Greece/France, 140 min.
In Arabic, French, Greek, and English with English and German subtitles


A daily e-shuttle to the screenings at Ballhaus departs from the Press and Information Center (Friedrichsplatz 4, 34117 Kassel) at 10:30 am and 1:30 pm. Free tickets for the shuttle service that grant access to the screening as well can be obtained at the Press and Information Center, upon presentation of a valid documenta ticket. Visitors who travel to the venue independently can obtain remaining tickets directly at Ballhaus.

Posted in Public Exhibition
Related

Narimane Mari

The debut feature film Bloody Beans (2013) of Narimane Mari, shot on the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary of Algerian independence, is based on a loose, improvisational script about a group of children…

 More
Artists

Le fort des fous

by Narimane Mari

Departing from material records of the early colonial “scientific expeditions” and “taming campaigns” led by the French colonizers in North Africa, the story follows a community of young nomads…

 More
Calendar

Le fort des fous (preview screening)

by Narimane Mari

A poetic voyage in three acts, moving between past, present, and imagination, putting French colonialism and the grave consequences of a collective hubris in focus.

Narimane Mare, Le fort de fous, 2017…

 More
Calendar

Keimena #11: Loubia Hamra (Bloody Beans)

by Narimane Mari

Bloody Beans, Narimane Mari’s first feature-length film, is a dreamlike take on the violent spiral of Algeria’s recent history. Its force and beauty is that it does not employ a straightforward historical narrative, but instead re-enacts the past through play…

 More
Public TV

#11 Loubia Hamra (Bloody Beans)

by Narimane Mari

Loubia Hamra (Bloody Beans), 2013, Algeria/France, 88 min.
Director: Narimane Mari (documenta 14 artist)

Bloody Beans is a dreamlike portrait of a society afflicted by decades of violent conflict. Instead…

 More
Calendar

Le fort des fous
von Narimane Mari

JUN
7
Filmvorführung
14 Uhr
Ballhaus, Schlosspark Wilhelmshöhe, Kassel
JUN
8–
SEP
17
Filmvorführung
11 Uhr, 14 Uhr
Ballhaus, Schlosspark Wilhelmshöhe, Kassel
Zum iCal oder Google Calendar hinfügen

Narimane Mare, Le fort des fous, 2017, Filmstill

Ausgehend von Aufzeichnungen frühkolonialer „wissenschaftlicher Forschungsreisen“ und „Befriedungskampagnen“, die von den französischen Kolonisatoren in Nordafrika durchgeführt wurden, folgt der Film einer Gruppe junger Nomaden und Wanderer, wie diese eine imaginär-utopische Gesellschaft bilden. Reenactments, Improvisationen und Interviews, die mit Bewohner_innen von Algier, der Insel Kythira und der Prosfygika Gemeinschaft in Athen performt und geführt wurden, liefern in diesem Werk Beispiele für alternative Zeitlichkeit und autonomen Raum.

Narimane Mare, Le fort des fous, 2017, Algerien/Griechenland/Frankreich, 140 Min.
Auf Arabisch, Französisch, Griechisch und Englisch mit deutschen und englischen Untertiteln


Vom Presse- und Informationszentrum (Friedrichsplatz 4, 34117 Kassel) fährt täglich ein e-Shuttle zu den Filmvorführungen im Ballhaus, Abfahrt jeweils um 10:30 Uhr und um 13:30 Uhr. Kostenlose Tickets für den Shuttle-Service, die zugleich zum Eintritt in die Filmvorführung berechtigen, werden im Presse- und Informationszentrum ausgegeben. Voraussetzung für den Erhalt eines Tickets ist eine gültige Eintrittskarte für die documenta. Besucher_innen, die eigenständig zum Ballhaus anreisen, können Restkarten für die Filmvorführung direkt vor Ort bekommen.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Verwandte Einträge

Narimane Mari

Narimane Maris Debütfilm Bloody Beans (2013), zum 50. Jahrestag der algerischen Unabhängigkeit entstanden, basiert auf einem losen, improvisierten Skript und erzählt von einer Gruppe Kinder, die –…

 Mehr
Künstler_innen

Le fort des fous

von Narimane Mari

Ausgehend von Aufzeichnungen frühkolonialer „wissenschaftlicher Forschungsreisen“ und „Befriedungskampagnen“, die von den französischen Kolonisatoren in Nordafrika durchgeführt wurden, folgt…

 Mehr
Kalender

Le fort des fous (Vorpremiere)

von Narimane Mari

Eine poetische Reise in drei Akten, die sich zwischen der Vergangenheit, der Gegenwart und der Imagination bewegt. Sie stellt den französischen Kolonialismus und die gravierenden Folgen einer kollektiven…

 Mehr
Kalender

Keimena #11: Loubia Hamra (Bloody Beans)

von Narimane Mari

Loubia Hamra ist Narimane Maris erster Spielfilm, eine traumartige Einstellung auf die Gewaltspirale in Algeriens jüngster Vergangenheit. Seine Kraft und Schönheit liegen darin begründet, dass er nicht geradeheraus ein geschichtliches Narrativ in Anschlag bringt, sondern Vergangenheit als Spiel wiederholt…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Fernsehen

#11 Loubia Hamra (Bloody Beans)

von Narimane Mari

Loubia Hamra (Bloody Beans), 2013, Algerien/Frankreich, 88 Min.
Regie: Narimane Mari (Künstlerin der documenta 14)

Loubia Hamra ist das traumähnliche Porträt einer Gesellschaft, die seit Jahrzehnten…

 Mehr
Kalender