Daniel García Andújar

Daniel García Andújar, Disasters of War: Trojan Horse (2016), digital rendering

The contemporary painter inhabits a world of computers. The Marxist question of the representation and reappropriation of the technology of production is now a matter of interface and coding. Or, as Daniel García Andújar puts it, “We no longer visit the archive. We live inside it.” But what happens to people who cannot access the operating system? What are the new forms of power and oppression, of visibility and opacity that digital technologies create?

García Andújar was born in 1966, during the last phase of the Franco dictatorship, when National Catholicism combined state violence with a new “stabilization and liberalization plan” intended to mark Spain’s arrival into the international market. One day they garroted dissidents, the next day they promoted consumerism on television. His hometown, in southern Spain near the Mediterranean, would soon be devastated by real-estate plundering and frenzied tourism. Holidays for the workers of fascism: You, too, have the right to enjoy your free time!

García Andújar initially worked in painting and design, in his twenties creating album covers for ruta del bacalao records, a kind of techno associated with synthetic drugs like MDMA and the Spanish transition of the 1980s. Eventually he stopped painting and went online, learning to program and becoming part of the first wave of Net art. His work extends into the realm of cybernetics and the reflections of artists like Hans Haacke and Antoni Muntadas on photography and television as systems of representation. In 1996, sidetracking traditional art spaces, García Andújar launched Street Access Machine®, a project for a mobile credit card scanner that would allow homeless people to beg in a world of plastic currency. The machine’s entirely fictional nature did nothing to deter Apple from inquiring about purchasing the technology.

In García Andújar’s work, ideas of community, communism, and assembly aren’t understood as political utopias but rather as training methods, ways of accessing hardware and questioning the property and epistemology of the archive. In a book project for documenta 14, for example, he sifted through information related to the reign of the Greek junta (1967–74) to create an image-text glossary of fascist grammar called LTI—Lingua Tertii Imperii (2016). Here and elsewhere, García Andújar’s goal is to reveal the dominant operating system, expose its flaws, hack it, use it critically, and open up spaces of resistance to the standardizing of language through which the world is created. To democratize democracy is to crack the code.

—Paul B. Preciado

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

The Trojan Horse–Burning the Canon

by Daniel García Andújar

The Trojan Horse sculpture has been conceived as anti-monument and a reflection on the “night games of war” (Reichs Veterans Day, Kassel, June 4 1939) in Germany during the Nazi period. The sculpture…

 More
Calendar

#16 Lingua Tertii Imperii

by Daniel García Andújar

Democracy has become a matter of aesthetics. The stage of the public has become a kind of orchestrated video game or operetta with a few recited parts; this operetta is performed daily for a people overwhelmed…

 More
Calendar

Daniel García Andújar

Daniel García Andújar, Disasters of War: Trojan Horse (2016), digitales Rendering

Zeitgenössische Maler_innen leben in einer von Computern dominierten Welt. Die marxistische Frage nach der Repräsentation und Wiederaneignung von Produktionstechniken dreht sich heute vornehmlich um Schnittstellen und Kodierungen. Oder, um es mit Daniel García Andújar zu sagen: „Wir statten dem Archiv keinen Besuch mehr ab, wir leben darin.“ Doch was geschieht mit jenen, die keinen Zugang zum Betriebssystem haben? Wie sehen die neuen Spielarten von Macht und Unterdrückung, Sichtbarkeit und Intransparenz aus, die durch digitale Technologien hervorgebracht werden?

García Andújar wurde 1966, in der letzten Phase der Franco-Diktatur, geboren, als der Nationalkatholizismus staatliche Gewalt mit einem neuartigen „Stabilisierungs- und Liberalisierungsplan“ verknüpfte, um Spanien reif für den internationalen Markt zu machen. Garrottierungen von Dissident_innen wechselten mit konsumistischer Fernsehpropaganda. Skrupellose Immobiliengeschäfte und ungezügelter Tourismus verwüsteten auch Almoradí, die in der Mittelmeerregion gelegene, südspanische Heimatstadt des Künstlers. Urlaub für die Arbeiter_innen des faschistischen Regimes: Auch du hast ein Recht darauf, deine Freizeit zu genießen!

Ursprünglich beschäftigte sich García Andújar mit Malerei und Design. In seinen Zwanzigern kreierte er Cover für Ruta-del-Bacalao-Alben, eine Art Techno, eng verbunden mit synthetischen Drogen wie MDMA und der Transition im Spanien der 1980er Jahre. Irgendwann entsagte er der Malerei und ging online. Er lernte zu programmieren und wurde Teil der ersten Netzkunstwelle. Kybernetische Prinzipien fließen ebenso in seine Arbeit ein wie die Gedanken von Künstlern wie Hans Haacke und Antoni Muntadas zu den Repräsentationssystemen Fotografie und Fernsehen. 1996 verließ García Andújar die traditionellen Räume der Kunst und initiierte das Projekt Street Access Machine ®, einen mobilen Kreditkartenleser, der Obdachlosen auch in Zeiten der Plastikwährung das Betteln ermöglichen sollte. Trotz des durch und durch fiktiven Charakters dieser Maschine lancierte Apple einen Versuch, die neue Technologie zu erwerben.

Gemeinschaft, Kommunismus, Versammlung sind in García Andújars Werk nicht als politische Utopien zu verstehen, sondern als Übungsmethoden, als Möglichkeit, sich Zugang zur Hardware zu verschaffen, als Befragung der Natur und Epistemologie des Archivs. So durchkämmte der Künstler in einem Buchprojekt für die documenta 14 Informationen zur griechischen Militärdiktatur (1967–1974) und erstellte ein Bild-Text-Glossar der faschistischen Grammatik LTI – Lingua Tertii Imperii (2016). Ziel war es – wie auch in anderen Projekten –, das dominante Betriebssystem mitsamt seinen Schwachstellen aufzudecken, zu hacken, kritisch zu nutzen und Widerstandsräume gegen die Normierung der Sprache zu schaffen, die unsere Welt prägt. Die Demokratisierung der Demokratie macht es möglich, den Code zu knacken.

— Paul B. Preciado

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

The Trojan Horse–Burning the Canon

von Daniel García Andújar

Die Skulptur Das Trojanische Pferd wurde als Mahnmal gegen die „nächtlichen Kriegsspiele“ (Heldengedenktag, Kassel, 04. Juni 1939), die in Deutschland während des Naziregimes entwickelt wurden, entworfen…

 Mehr
Kalender

#16 Lingua Tertii Imperii

von Daniel García Andújar

Demokratie ist zu einer Frage der Ästhetik geworden, die Bühne der Öffentlichkeit nunmehr eine Art inszeniertes Videospiel oder eine Operette mit einigen wenigen einstudierten Rollen. Diese Operette…

 Mehr
Kalender