Alexandra Bachzetsis

Alexandra Bachzetsis, PRIVATE: Wear a mask when you talk to me (2016), production still, photo: Blommers & Schumm

Alexandra Bachzetsis, Private Song, 2017, performance, Municipal Theater of Piraeus, documenta 14, photo: Stathis Mamalakis

Alexandra Bachzetsis, Studies for Massacre—Seven Stages, 2017, two-channel digital video, installation view, documenta Halle, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

Alexandra Bachzetsis takes the emerging systems of communication that have come to define contemporary culture—pop music, the mass media, and the internet—as the true sites within which contemporary dance is produced. She construes dance as an intersectional language, the result of the criss-crossing of various systems of representation: painting, drawing, architecture, photography, literature, cinema, television, video clips, advertising, fashion, pornography, and YouTube tutorials. Throughout, she documents all forms of contemporary embodiment, from workout routines to rebetiko, to create a living archive of social scores.

Bachzetsis launched her choreographic practice in 2001 with Perfect. Since then she has collaborated with numerous artists on more than twenty-five pieces, including Gold (2004), Show Dance (2004), Undressed (2005), Dream Season (2008), Étude (2012), From A to B via C (2014), and, more recently, the solo PRIVATE: Wear a mask when you talk to me (2016), which splices postures from yoga, porn, football, and other sources to form a kind of report on the formation of gender and desire under a neoliberal regime via ritualistically repeated gestures.

For Bachzetsis, Fred Astaire, Bob Dylan, Michelangelo Antonioni, Alejandro Jodorowsky, and Michael Jackson are as important as Trisha Brown—or Lina Bo Bardi. Her dance engages with the transversal history of image production, from preperspective and medieval flatness to the languages of contemporary art, but also graphic design or digital media, and in so doing she radically displaces traditional accounts of space, movement, body, and subjectivity. Her work demonstrates that the images of mass culture are based on abstract models of vision and movement codified in terms of gender, race, class, age, or disability that constrain bodily action and normalize subjectivity.

Born in Switzerland to a Swiss mother and a Greek father, in 1974, Bachzetsis claims uprootedness, rather than origin and identity, as a political and aesthetic site: “I didn’t have a sense of belonging within language or place; therefore I wanted to establish one for myself, to produce a space where I could exist.” The question she poses is how to produce agency, how to recuperate the erotic, affective, and micropolitical power of gesture within a regulated regime of visibility. From her works’ formal sophistication, from the random flow of codes within and against the tacit score of the normative, streams a sheer unexpected beauty. The endless possibility of improvisation and revolt within a given system of rules radiates from each distorted image and pattern, composed of apparently preset series of bodily interactions.

—Paul B. Preciado

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Private Song

by Alexandra Bachzetsis

July 10–13, 2017, 10–11 pm
Henschel-Hallen, Kassel…

 More
Calendar

School of Gesture - public moments

with Lou Forster, Marina Fokidis, Rasheed Araeen, Gene Ray, Alexandra Bachzetsis, and Mary Zygouri

May 16, 2017, 5 pm: Lou Forster May 17, 2017, 5 pm: Marina Fokidis May 19, 2017, 3 pm: Rasheed Araeen & Gene Ray May 19, 2017, 5 pm: Alexandra Bachzetsis May 21, 2017, 5 pm: Mary Zygouri What is…

 More
Calendar

Private Song

by Alexandra Bachzetsis

Private Song proposes framing as a perceptual strategy for questioning, underlining, or neutralizing the spectator’s relationship to moving bodies on stage. These acts of re-framing produce a phantasmic…

 More
Calendar

In Between
Image and Movement

with Alexandra Bachzetsis and Lenio Kaklea

Reflecting on the process of becoming a dancing body and on the paradoxes of inventing an autonomous gestural language, Alexandra Bachzetsis performs her first piece Perfect, conceived fifteen years ago…

 More
Calendar

Alexandra Bachzetsis

Alexandra Bachzetsis, PRIVATE: Wear a mask when you talk to me (2016), Produktionsstill, Foto: Blommers & Schumm

Für Alexandra Bachzetsis sind die neuen Kommunikationssysteme, die unsere moderne Kultur prägen – Popmusik, Massenmedien, Internet –, die wahren Ursprungsorte des zeitgenössischen Tanzes. Tanz ist für sie die Schnittmenge unterschiedlicher Disziplinen, das Ergebnis sich vielfältig kreuzender Repräsentationssysteme: Malerei, Zeichnung, Architektur, Fotografie, Literatur, Kino, Fernsehen, Videoclips, Werbung, Mode, Pornografie, YouTube-Tutorials. Dabei dokumentiert sie alle Formen der zeitgenössischen Verkörperung, von Fitnessübungen bis zu Rembetiko, und schafft so ein lebendes Archiv sozialer Partituren.

Am Beginn von Bachzetsis’ choreografischer Arbeit im Jahr 2001 stand Perfect, Kollaborationen mit zahlreichen Künstler_innen an mehr als 25 Stücken sollten folgen, darunter Gold (2004), Show Dance (2004), Undressed (2005), Dream Season (2008), Étude (2012) und From A to B via C (2014). In PRIVATE: Wear a mask when you talk to me (2016), einem aktuelleren Soloprojekt, führt Bachzetsis Körperstellungen aus Yoga, Pornofilmen, Fußball und anderen Bereichen zusammen und protokolliert, mittels ritualistischer Wiederholung von Gesten, die Entstehung von sozialem Geschlecht und Begehren unter neoliberalen Bedingungen.

Für die Künstlerin sind Fred Astaire, Bob Dylan, Michelangelo Antonioni, Alejandro Jodorowsky und Michael Jackson ebenso bedeutend wie Trisha Brown – oder Lina Bo Bardi. Ihr Werk beschäftigt sich mit der Geschichte der Bildproduktion und ihren Kreuzungen und Überschneidungen, von der Flächigkeit vorperspektivischer und mittelalterlicher Darstellungen bis zu den Ausdrucksformen zeitgenössischer Kunst, einschließlich Grafikdesign und digitaler Medien. Dabei bricht sie radikal mit traditionellen Beschreibungen von Raum, Bewegung, Körper und Subjektivität. Bachzetsis führt die Bilder unserer Massenkultur auf abstrakte Modelle des Sehens und Bewegens zurück – kodifiziert nach Geschlecht, Rasse, Klasse, Alter oder körperlicher Einschränkung –, die dem Handeln des Körpers Grenzen setzen und Subjektivität normalisieren.

Die Künstlerin, 1974 in der Schweiz als Tochter einer Schweizer Mutter und eines griechischen Vaters geboren, erklärt nicht Herkunft und Identität, sondern Entwurzelung zu einem politischen und ästhetischen Schauplatz: „Weder Orte noch Sprachen vermittelten mir ein Gefühl der Zugehörigkeit. Also wollte ich mir ein solches erschaffen, einen Raum, in dem ich existieren konnte.“ Bachzetsis konfrontiert uns mit der Frage, wie in einem reglementierten System der Sichtbarkeit Handlungsfähigkeit erzeugt, wie die erotische, affektive und mikropolitische Macht der Geste zurückerobert werden kann. Die formale Differenziertheit ihrer Arbeit, der zufällige Fluss von Kodierungen in der und gegen die unausgesprochene Partitur des Normativen, verströmen eine reine, unerwartete Schönheit. Aus jedem verzerrten Bild oder Muster, zusammengesetzt aus scheinbar vorgegebenen Anordnungen körperlicher Interaktionen, spricht die Möglichkeit unbegrenzter Improvisation und Auflehnung im Rahmen bestehender Ordnungen.

— Paul B. Preciado

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Private Song

von Alexandra Bachzetsis

10.–13. Juli, 2017, 22–23 Uhr
​Henschel-Hallen, Kassel…

 Mehr
Kalender

School of Gesture - public moments

mit Lou Forster, Marina Fokidis, Rasheed Araeen, Gene Ray, Alexandra Bachzetsis und Mary Zygouri

16. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Lou Forster 17. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Marina Fokidis 19. Mai 2017, 15 Uhr: Rasheed Araeen & Gene Ray 19. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Alexandra Bachzetsis 21. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Mary Zygouri…

 Mehr
Kalender

Private Song

von Alexandra Bachzetsis

Private Song schlägt die Rahmung als Wahrnehmungsstrategie für Infragestellung, Hervorhebung oder Neutralisierung der Beziehung der Betrachter_innen zu den sich bewegenden Körpern auf der Bühne vor…

 Mehr
Kalender

In Between
Image and Movement

mit Alexandra Bachzetsis und Lenio Kaklea

Welcher Prozess liegt der Entstehung eines tanzenden Körpers zugrunde, und auf welche Paradoxa stößt man, wenn man eine autonome Gestensprache entwickelt? Alexandra Bachzetsis performt ihr erstes, vor…

 Mehr
Kalender