Anna “Asja” Lācis
(1891–1979)

Anna “Asja” Lācis, Archival and documentary materials, installation view, Grimmwelt Kassel, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Liz Eve

Anna “Asja” Lācis, Archival and documentary materials, installation view, Grimmwelt Kassel, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Liz Eve

1891–1938
Born in Ķempji, Latvia in 1891; moves to Riga in 1898. Studies at Vladimir Bekhterev’s Institute of Psychoneurological Research in St. Petersburg (1912–13), Šanjavskij Cultural University, and Komissarževskij Theater Studio, Moscow (1915–1918). Establishes Experimental Children’s Theater workshop, Orel (1918–1920). Active in Riga (1920–21). Visits Germany and meets Fritz Lang, Bertolt Brecht, Erwin Piscator, Bernhard Reich (1922–23). Assistant to Brecht for production of The Life of Edward II in Munich; meets Walter Benjamin in Capri (1924). Active in Riga; visited by Benjamin (1925). Emigrates to Moscow (1926). Lives in Berlin with Benjamin (1929). Assistant to Piscator for Revolt of the Fishermen of Santa Barbara (1930). Enrols at Gerasimov Institute of Cinematography (VgiK). Theater director in Latvian Skatuve Theater. Postdoctoral studies at Lunačarskij Institute for Theater (1933). Works in Smolensk and Kislovodsk with children, collective farm theaters. Sentenced to ten years forced labor in Kazakhstan (1938).

1924–38
Walter Benjamin meets Asja Lācis in Capri (May–September, 1924). In the fall, Lācis persuades Bertolt Brecht to meet Benjamin. Lācis and Benjamin’s article “Naples,” introducing concept of “porosity,” published in Frankfurter Zeitung (1925). Benjamin makes surprise visit to Riga in 1925 and visits Lācis in Moscow (December 1926–February 1927, see Moscow Diaries). In 1928 Benjamin publishes Einbahnstraße with a dedication: “This street is named Asja Lācis Street, after her who as an engineer cut it through the author”. Book includes chapters on Benjamin’s visit to Riga: “Ordnance,” “Stereoscope,” and “Chinese Curios.” In 1929–30 Lācis and Benjamin live together in Berlin. Around 1929 Benjamin writes “Program for a Proletarian Children’s Theaterupon request by Lācis, based on her Orel experience. Contact between the two is reestablished through letters between 1934–36. Benjamin, in exile, is closely linked with Brecht. Lācis tries to organize Benjamin’s escape to the Soviet Union. Lācis finds out about tragic end of Benjamin only upon return from prison camps. Earlier letters, according to Dagmāra Ķimele, were confiscated by the KGB.

1938–79
In early 1938 Lācis is arrested, imprisoned at Butyrki prison, and sentenced to ten years forced labor in Kazakhstan. She is accused of being part of a secret Latvian fascist nationalist organization at the Latvian Skatuve Theater in Moscow. Majority of Skatuve members are falsely accused, executed, or imprisoned in gulags. Lācis organizes inmates’ theater while in Karaganda. Returns to Latvia (1948). Works at the Valmiera Theater, first as guest then as chief director. Is officially rehabilitated (1955). Re-establishes contact with Brecht and Piscator and officially joins the Communist Party (1955). Marries Reich (1957). Hildegard Brenner publishes a letter by Lācis in Alternative magazine (1956–57). Retires and works on memoirs, writings (1958). In 1967 Lācis’s work is rediscovered in East Germany.Program for a Proletarian Children’s Theater is published illegally in East Germany (1968). Revolutionar im Beruf is released in 1971, later translated into Italian, Spanish, French. Dies in Riga on November 22, 1979.

Posted in Public Exhibition

Anna “Asja” Lācis
(1891–1979)

1891–1938
1891 in Kempji, Lettland, geboren; 1898 Umzug nach Riga. Studierte an Vladimir Bekhterevs Institut für Psychoneurologische Forschung in St. Petersburg (1912–13), der Šanjavskij-Volksuniversität, und dem Komissarževskij-Theaterstudio, Moskau (1915–1918). Gründet das Kinderexperimentaltheater Orel (1918–1920). Spielt in Riga (1920–21). Besucht Deutschland und trifft Fritz Lang, Bertolt Brecht, Erwin Piscator, Bernhard Reich (1922–23). Assistiert Brecht an der Produktion von Das Leben Eduard des Zweiten von England in München; lernt Walter Benjamin in Capri kennen (1924). Spielt in Riga; Besuch von Benjamin (1925). Assistiert Piscator an Aufstand der Fischer von St. Barbara (1930). Schreibt sich am Gerasimov Institut für Kinematografie (VgiK) ein. Theaterdirektorin Lettischen Skatuve-Theater. Postdoktorandin am Lunačarskij Theaterinstitut (1933). Arbeitet in Smolensk und Kislovodsk mit Kindern in kollektiven Bauerntheatern. Zehn Jahre Zwangsarbeit in Kasachstan (1938).

1924–38
Walter Benjamin lernt Asja Lācis auf Capri kennen (Mai–September, 1924). In Herbst überzeugt Lācis Bertolt Brecht Benjamin zu treffen. Lācis und Benjamins Artikel „Neapel“, der das Konzept der Porosität einführt, wird in der Frankfurter Zeitung veröffentlicht (1925). 1925 kommt Benjamin überraschend nach Riga und besucht Lācis in Moskau (Dezember 1926–Februar 1927, siehe Moskauer Tagebücher). 1928 veröffentlicht Benjamin Einbahnstraße mit einer Widmung: „Diese Straße heißt Asja-Lācis-Straße nach der die sie als Ingenieur im Autor durchgebrochen hat“. Das Buch beinhaltet einige Kapitel zu Benjamins Besuch in Riga: „Chinawaren“, „Waffen und Munition“ und „Vergrößerungen“. 1929–30 leben Lācis und Benjamin zusammen in Berlin. Um 1929 schreibt Benjamin auf Lācis Bitte hin das “Programm für ein Proletarisches Kindertheater“, was auf ihre Erfahrung mit Orel zurückgeht. Der Kontakt zwischen den beiden wird 1934–36 wieder durch Briefe aufgenommen. Im Exil steht Benjamin in enger Verbindung zu Brecht. Lācis versucht Benjamins Flucht nach Russland zu organisieren. Lācis erfährt von Benjamins tragischem Tod erst nach ihrer Rückkehr aus dem Lagergefängnis. Frühere Briefe wurden laut Dagmāra Ķimele vom KGB konfisziert.

1938–79
Anfang 1938 wird Lācis verhaftet und im Gefängnis in Butyrki zu zehn Jahren Zwangsarbeit in Kasachstan verurteilt. Ihr wird vorgeworfen, Teil einer geheimen, faschistischen national-lettischen Organisation am Lettischen Skatuve-Theater in Moskau zu sein. Die Mehrheit der Mitglieder am Skatuve wurde fälschlicherweise angeklagt, hingerichtet oder in Gulags inhaftiert. Lācis organisiert ein Theater mit den Insassen während sie Karaganda is. Rückkehr nach Lettland (1948). Arbeitet am Valmiera-Theater, erst als Gast- dann als Chefdramaturgin. Wird offiziell rehabilitiert (1955). Nimmt wieder Kontakt zu Brecht und Piscator auf und tritt offiziell der Kommunistischen Partei bei (1955). Heiratet ((den Regisseur und Theaterdirektor)) Bernhard Reich (1957). Hildegard Brenner veröffentlicht einen Brief Lācis im Magazin Alternative (1956–57). Geht in Rente und arbeitet an ihren Memoiren und anderen Schriften (1958). 1967 wird Lācis Arbeit on Ostdeutschland wiederentdeckt. “Programm für ein Proletarisches Kindertheater“, wird illegal in Ostdeutschland veröffentlicht. (1968). Revolutionär im Beruf wird 1971 herausgegeben und später ins Italienische, Spanische, und Französische übersetzt. Stirbt in Riga am 22. November 1979.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung