Andrzej Wróblewski
(1927–1957)

Andrzej Wróblewski, Mother with a Killed Child, 1949, oil on canvas, Grażyna Kulczyk Collection (left), Execution against a Wall, 1949, οil on canvas, Muzeum Wojska Polskiego, Warsaw (right), installation view, EMST—National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

Andrzej Wróblewski, Mourning News I–VI, 1953, ink on paper, private collection/Andrzej Wróblewski Foundation, installation view, Neue Galerie, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

In a life cut short before the age of 30, Andrzej Wróblewski (1927–57) produced an impressive body of work consisting of paintings, drawings, and prints, and spanning both abstraction and figuration. Stepping against the formula of Polish Colourism that held sway in the art academies at the time, and in a bid to embrace the new doctrine of Socialist Realism, Wróblewski developed an original and distinct visual language.

In 1949, the artist created the “Execution” series comprising eight oil paintings with which he aimed to tackle the subject of the Second World War by also revisiting his own dramatic memories. In August 1941, the artist’s father died of a heart attack at their family home in Vilnius, during a search conducted by the Nazis. Later, when relocating to Kraków with his mother, Wróblewski witnessed the war-ravaged cities and countryside. The disfigured, mangled bodies are captured in different stages of transition between life and death, with the colour blue denoting the deceased.

Mother with a Killed Child, while not part of the series, conveys the message in a similar manner.

In the two series of works on paper from 1953 we see citizens of two countries in Europe grappling with different states of emergency. The North Sea flood that struck the Netherlands claiming the lives of over 1,800 people is filtered through the artist’s ironic critique of the economic and social conditions of the country. The other series features street life in the Polish People’s Republic brought to a standstill by the news of Joseph Stalin’s death on March 5, 1953.

Posted in Public Exhibition
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Andrzej Wróblewski
(1927–1957)

Andrzej Wróblewski, Mother with a Killed Child, 1949, Öl auf Leinwand, Grażyna Kulczyk Collection (links), Execution against a Wall, 1949, Öl auf Leinwand, Muzeum Wojska Polskiego, Warsaw (rechts), Installationsansicht, EMST – Nationales Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Mathias Völzke

In seinem Leben, das im Alter von nur dreißig Jahren endete, schuf Andrzej Wróblewski (1927–57) ein beeindruckendes Gesamtwerk, das aus Malerei, Zeichnungen und Drucken besteht, wobei er sich ebenso der Abstraktion wie der Gegenständlichkeit bediente. Indem er sich gegen das Schema des polnischen Kolorismus wandte, das an den Kunstakademien seiner Zeit seinen festen Stand hatte, und gleichzeitig versuchte, sich der neuen Doktrin des Sozialistischen Realismus anzunähern, entwickelte Wróblewski eine originelle und individuelle Bildsprache.

1949 schuf der Künstler seine Serie „Hinrichtung“, die aus zwölf Ölgemälden besteht, in denen er sich mit dem Thema des Zweiten Weltkriegs auseinandersetzte und sich dabei auch seinen eigenen dramatischen Erinnerungen stellte. Im August 1941 starb der Vater des Künstlers während einer Hausdurchsuchung der Nazis in der elterlichen Wohnung in Vilnius an einer Herzattacke. Als er später mit seiner Mutter zurück nach Krakau zog, erlebte Wróblewski die vom Krieg verheerten Städte und Landstriche. Die verstümmelten und verkrümmten Körper werden auf den verschiedenen Ebenen ihres Übergangs vom Leben zum Tod gezeigt, wobei die Verstorbenen durch die Farbe Blau gekennzeichnet werden.

Obgleich Mutter mit getötetem Kind nicht zu dieser Serie gehört, bringt es deren Botschaft auf ähnliche Weise zum Ausdruck.

In den beiden Serien der Papierarbeiten auf Papier aus dem Jahr 1953 kämpfen die Länder Europas mit unterschiedlichen Ausnahmesituationen. So zeigt Wróblewski die Flutkatastrophe, die in jenem Jahr die Niederlande heimsuchte und über 1.800 Menschenleben forderte, aus dem Blickwinkel einer ironischen Kritik an der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Struktur des Landes. Gegenstand der zweiten Serie sind Straßenszenen in der Volksrepublik Polen, in denen alles zum Erliegen kommt, als die Nachricht vom Tode Joseph Stalins am 5. März 1953 eintrifft.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung