Dimitris Pikionis
(1887–1968)

Dimitris Pikionis, thirteen preliminary drawings for the Acropolis and Filopappou paths and landscaping, 1954–57, Collection Benaki Museum Neohellenic Architecture Archives, Athens, installation view, Athens School of Fine Arts (ASFA)—Pireos Street (“Nikos Kessanlis” Exhibition Hall), Athens, documenta 14, photo: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Dimitris Pikionis, thirteen preliminary drawings for the Acropolis and Filopappou paths and landscaping, 1954–57, Collection Benaki Museum Neohellenic Architecture Archives, Athens, installation view, Athens School of Fine Arts (ASFA)—Pireos Street (“Nikos Kessanlis” Exhibition Hall), Athens, documenta 14, photo: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Dimitris Pikionis, thirteen preliminary drawings for the Acropolis and Filopappou paths and landscaping, 1954–57, Collection Benaki Museum Neohellenic Architecture Archives, Athens, installation view, Athens School of Fine Arts (ASFA)—Pireos Street (“Nikos Kessanlis” Exhibition Hall), Athens, documenta 14, photo: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Hélène Binet, paths and landscaping on the Acropolis and Filopappou, 1989, thirteen black-and-white photographs, collection of Hélène Binet, installation view, Athens School of Fine Arts (ASFA)—Pireos Street (“Nikos Kessanlis” Exhibition Hall), Athens, documenta 14, photo: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Hélène Binet, paths and landscaping on the Acropolis and Filopappou, 1989, thirteen black-and-white photographs, collection of Hélène Binet, installation view, Athens School of Fine Arts (ASFA)—Pireos Street (“Nikos Kessanlis” Exhibition Hall), Athens, documenta 14, photo: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Hélène Binet, paths and landscaping on the Acropolis and Filopappou, 1989, thirteen black-and-white photographs, collection of Hélène Binet, installation view, Athens School of Fine Arts (ASFA)—Pireos Street (“Nikos Kessanlis” Exhibition Hall), Athens, documenta 14, photo: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Dimitris Pikionis, drawings from the series “Inspired by Attica,” 1930s, ink on paper
, Benaki Museum Neohellenic Architecture Archives, installation view, Neue Galerie, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

Dimitris Pikionis, paths and landscaping of Filopappou and the Acropolis, 1954–57, nine black-and-white photographs
, Agni Pikioni Archive, Dimitris Pikionis AMKE, installation view, Neue Galerie, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

Dimitris Pikionis studied architecture in Munich and fine arts in Paris, and then returned to Greece, where he taught at the National Technical University of Athens. His oeuvre includes buildings and urban planning in Athens and the entirety of Greece—including several schools and a playground in Filothei, Athens.

In 1933, in advance of the fourth International Congress of Modern Architecture (CIAM IV)—which took place on the S.S. Patris, bound for Athens from Marseille, and concluded with a conference and exhibition dedicated to modern city planning, held at the Athens Polytechnic—Pikionis published a short text, in which he laid out his own vision of modern architecture in relation to the specific cultural and climatic condition of the site, while slyly deriding the flattening universalism and the grey concrete of the modern movement. In Pikionis’s own work, the typology of modern architecture opens up to vernacular inspirations, to the part-ancient, part-mythical past, and to the natural environment—from which all cultural forms originate and to which they will be ultimately returned.

The landscaping project for the Acropolis and Philopappos Hill, on which he worked between 1954 and 1958, is considered his foremost and most unique achievement. Pikionis’s landscaping took the form of a system of footpaths, individually paved with stones, antique spolia and modern urban rubble, that followed and extended the existing paths on the two hills that had been walked upon, often for centuries. This landscaping is groundbreaking and radical—precisely because it is ultimately modest and thoroughly in situ—a piece of architecture learning from its context. Working collectively with his students and local stonemasons, Pikionis practised the careful and laborious technique of paving using salvaged debris from the violently developing capital of Greece. His landscape design, created in opposition to both industrial and archaeological transformations of land, remains the only urban-scale project ever to take place on the slopes surrounding the Acropolis.

The drawings presented here testify to the architect’s early interest in reading the cultural and natural palimpsest of the Acropolis rock.

Posted in Public Exhibition
Related

Dimitris Pikionis (1887–1968)

When I first visited the Acropolis in 1959 I found myself walking virtually by accident on the adjacent landscape of Philopappou Hill and there I felt, with surprise, the almost literal movement of the…

 More
Notes
OK

Es handelt sich um eine historische Website. Hier erhalten Sie jeweils Details zum Impressum, Datenschutz und weitere Informationen.

Dimitris Pikionis
(1887–1968)

Dimitris Pikionis, 13 vorläufige Zeichnungen für Wege und Landschaftsgestaltung auf der Akropolis und dem Filopappou-Hügel, 1954–1957, Sammlung Neuhellenisches Architekturarchiv, Benaki-Museum, Athen, Installationsansicht, Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen (ASFA) – Pireos-Straße („Nikos-Kessanlis“-Ausstellungshalle), Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Dimitris Pikionis, 13 vorläufige Zeichnungen für Wege und Landschaftsgestaltung auf der Akropolis und dem Filopappou-Hügel, 1954–1957, Sammlung Neuhellenisches Architekturarchiv, Benaki-Museum, Athen, Installationsansicht, Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen (ASFA) – Pireos-Straße („Nikos-Kessanlis“-Ausstellungshalle), Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Dimitris Pikionis, 13 vorläufige Zeichnungen für Wege und Landschaftsgestaltung auf der Akropolis und dem Filopappou-Hügel, 1954–1957, Sammlung Neuhellenisches Architekturarchiv, Benaki-Museum, Athen, Installationsansicht, Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen (ASFA) – Pireos-Straße („Nikos-Kessanlis“-Ausstellungshalle), Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Hélène Binet, Wege und Landschaftsgestaltung auf der Akropolis und dem Filopappou-Hügel, 1989, 13 Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien, Sammlung Hélène Binet, Installationsansicht, Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen (ASFA) – Pireos-Straße („Nikos-Kessanlis“-Ausstellungshalle), Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Hélène Binet, Wege und Landschaftsgestaltung auf der Akropolis und dem Filopappou-Hügel, 1989, 13 Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien, Sammlung Hélène Binet, Installationsansicht, Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen (ASFA) – Pireos-Straße („Nikos-Kessanlis“-Ausstellungshalle), Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Hélène Binet, Wege und Landschaftsgestaltung auf der Akropolis und dem Filopappou-Hügel, 1989, 13 Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien, Sammlung Hélène Binet, Installationsansicht, Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen (ASFA) – Pireos-Straße („Nikos-Kessanlis“-Ausstellungshalle), Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Yiannis Hadjiaslanis

Dimitris Pikionis studierte Architektur in München und Kunst in Paris, um dann nach Griechenland zurückzukehren, wo er an der Nationalen Technischen Universität in Athen lehrte. Sein Werk beinhaltet Gebäude und städtebauliche Planung in Athen und anderen Teilen Griechenlands – darunter mehrere Schulen und Spielplätze in Filothei in Athen.

1933 veröffentlichte Pikionis im Vorfeld des vierten CIAM (International Congress of Modern Architecture), der auf der von Marseille nach Athen fahrenden SS Patris stattfand und mit einer Konferenz und Ausstellung zur modernen Städteplanung am Polytechnikum in Athen endete, einen kurzen Text, in welchem er seine Vision für eine moderne Architektur in Bezug auf spezifische kulturelle und klimatische Bedingungen am Standort darlegte und dabei den flachen Universalismus und den grauen Beton der modernen Bewegung verhöhnte. In Pikionis’ eigener Arbeit öffnet sich die Typologie der modernen Architektur für einheimische Inspirationen, eine teils antike, teils mystische Vergangenheit und die natürliche Umgebung – aus der alle Kulturen stammen und zu der sie alle letzten Endes zurückkehren.

Das Landschaftsbauprojekt für die Akropolis und den Filopappou-Hügel, an dem er zwischen 1954 und 1958 arbeitete, gilt als seine wichtigste und eine einzigartige Leistung. Pikionis’ Landschaftsbau nahm die Form eines Systems aus natürlichen Pfaden an, die individuell mit Steinen, antiken spolia und modernem urbanen Schutt gepflastert waren, und das Wege verfolgte oder verlängerte, die oft bereits seit Jahrhunderten über die beiden Hügel führten. Dieser Landschaftsbau war wegbereitend und radikal – genau weil er letztlich bescheiden und tief am Ort verwurzelt ist – Architektur, die aus ihrem Kontext lernt. Gemeinsam mit seinen Schüler_innen und lokalen Steinmetzen verwendete Pikionis eine sorgsame und aufwändige Pflastertechnik, die aus der sich wild entwickelnden griechischen Hauptstadt gerettete Steinreste nutzte. Seine im Gegensatz sowohl zur industriellen als auch zur archäologischen Verwandlung des Landes entworfenen Landschaften sind weiterhin das einzige je auf den Hängen um die Akropolis realisierte städtebauliche Projekt seiner Art.

Die hier ausgestellten Zeichnungen zeugen vom frühen Interesse des Architekten daran, den Felsen der Akropolis als kulturelles und natürliches Palimpsest zu lesen.

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Verwandte Einträge

Dimitris Pikionis (1887–1968)

Als ich 1959 zum ersten Mal die Akropolis besichtigte, fand ich mich beinahe zufällig in der angrenzenden Landschaft des Philopappou Hügels wieder. Dort fühlte ich zu meiner Überraschung nahezu wortwörtlich…

 Mehr
Notizen