Ibrahim Mahama

Ibrahim Mahama, NO STOPPING NO PARKING NO LOADING. UNITY HALL. 1957–2057 (2015), jute charcoal sacks on public structure, views of site before and after installation, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana, courtesy Ibrahim Mahama and blaxTARLINES, Kumasi, Ghana

The politics of spaces are determined by their forms—their architecture and infrastructures, or lack thereof—as well as by the ideas, purposes, and intentions that these forms serve. Museums, government buildings, railway stations, or residential quarters are approachable, habitable, frightening, or discomforting according to their spatial politics. These characteristics are absorbed, embodied, and emanated by the individuals who inhabit these spaces.

It is possible to disrupt and subvert the politics of spaces by granting them new forms, imposing new meanings upon them, or divesting them of their intended significance. Ibrahim Mahama’s practice of swathing buildings in fabric should be read within this framework. Born in 1987 in Tamale, Ghana, Mahama regularly envelops buildings—theaters, museums, residential buildings, ministries—in Accra and Kumasi.

The artist uses tattered jute sacks obtained from traders in exchange for new ones. The currency is memory. The sacks—made in Asia, distributed around the world, and used in Ghana to package cocoa, coffee, rice, beans, and charcoal for export to the Americas and Europe—materialize a history of global trade. They are forensic evidence in the artist’s investigation into the worldwide manifestations of the capitalist economy, but they also reveal local relations among the international working class. Those that weave, package, load, and transport them leave their sweat, names, dates, and other coordinates on the sacks. The sacks become skins with scarifications that betray their sociopolitical and economic legacies.

Mahama’s choice of jute as an artist material, draped over buildings and concealing their features, continues a long history of its use as a fabric in West Africa—for window curtains, traditional costumes, and decoration. After collecting the sacks, a group of people the artist calls “collaborators”—mostly intranational rural-urban migrants—stitch together the huge jute sculptures in a convivial atmosphere. The spaces in which this stitching is done—be it a disused railway station, a silo, or the courtyard of his parents’ house—inform the work: the sculpture takes the shape of its place of production as much as it embodies the spirit of that space. The effect is to create a new cartography of these cities, mapping and networking spaces based on the motives and purposes that Mahama concocts between them.

—Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Check Point Sekondi Loco. 1901–2030. 2016–2017

by Ibrahim Mahama

Ibrahim Mahama’s works examine the relationships and paradoxes between different historical spaces through the act of production. It is a re-examination of what it means to produce with materials and…

 More
Calendar

Ibrahim Mahama

Ibrahim Mahama, NO STOPPING NO PARKING NO LOADING. UNITY HALL. 1957–2057 (2015), Jutesäcke für Holzkohle auf Gerüst im öffentlichen Raum, Ansichten vom Ort vor und nach der Installation, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana, courtesy Ibrahim Mahama und blaxTARLINES, Kumasi, Ghana

Die Politik der Räume ist von deren Formen – ihren Architekturen und Infrastrukturen oder dem Mangel daran – ebenso bestimmt wie von den Vorstellungen, Zwecken und Absichten, denen diese Formen dienen. Museen, Regierungsgebäude, Bahnhöfe oder Wohnviertel sind in Abhängigkeit von ihrer Raumpolitik mehr oder weniger zugänglich, wohnlich, einschüchternd oder ungemütlich. Diese Eigenschaften werden von den Menschen, die in diesen Räumen wohnen, absorbiert, verkörpert und auch ausgestrahlt.

Man kann die Politik der Räume durchkreuzen und unterlaufen, indem man den Räumen neue Formen und Bedeutungen aufzwingt oder sie ihrer intendierten Sinngehalte beraubt. Ibrahim Mahamas Einhüllen von Gebäuden in Stoff lässt sich am besten in diesem Kontext verstehen. Der 1987 in Tamale, Ghana, geborene Künstler verhüllt regelmäßig Gebäude wie Theater, Museen, Wohnhäuser und Ministerien in Accra und Kumasi.

Mahama nutzt dafür zerschlissene Jutesäcke, die er von Händlern im Tausch gegen neue erhält. Erinnerung ist die eigentliche Währung. Die Säcke werden in Asien hergestellt, in aller Welt vertrieben und in Ghana zum Verpacken von Kakao, Kaffee, Reis, Bohnen und Holzkohle für den Export nach Amerika und Europa verwendet. In diesen Säcken materialisiert sich die Geschichte des Welthandels. Für Mahama sind sie einerseits forensische Beweismittel bei seiner Suche nach Manifestationen kapitalistischen Wirtschaftens in der Welt, andererseits offenbaren sie lokale Bezüge innerhalb der internationalen Arbeiterklasse. Wer webt, verpackt, belädt und transportiert, hinterlässt auch seinen Schweiß, seinen Namen, Daten und andere Koordinaten auf den Säcken. Aus den Säcken werden Häute mit Narben, die eine soziopolitische und wirtschaftliche Vorgeschichte erzählen.

Mahamas Wahl der Jute zum Material seiner Kunst, mit der er Gebäude überzieht und ihr Aussehen verbirgt, steht in einer langen Tradition der Verwendung von Jute in Westafrika – für Vorhänge, traditionelle Kostüme und Dekoration. Nach dem Sammeln der Säcke vernäht eine Gruppe von Menschen, die Mahama „Mitarbeiter_innen“ nennt – zumeist Landflüchtige aus anderen Ländern – in einer gemeinschaftlich-geselligen Atmosphäre die Säcke zu riesigen Juteplastiken. Die Räume, in denen diese Näharbeit stattfindet – ein aufgegebener Bahnhof, ein Silo oder der Innenhof seines Elternhauses – prägen die Arbeit: Die Skulptur nimmt die Form ihres Herstellungsortes an, sie verkörpert den an diesem Ort herrschenden Geist. Was dabei entsteht, ist eine neue Kartografie dieser Städte. Sie verzeichnet und verknüpft Räume ausgehend von den Motiven und Zwecken, die Mahama zwischen ihnen stiftet.

— Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Check Point Sekondi Loco. 1901–2030. 2016–2017

von Ibrahim Mahama

Diese Arbeit untersucht mittels des Akts der Produktion die Beziehungen und Paradoxa zwischen unterschiedlichen historischen Räumen. Es handelt sich um eine Überprüfung dessen, was es bedeutet, mit…

 Mehr
Kalender