Nathan Pohio

Nathan Pohio, In a Dream of 200,000,000 Horses (What Horses Teach Us. Willow Creek Press calendar 2016) (2016), ceramic pigment on vinyl, 82 × 318.5 × 4 cm

In a particular Māori tradition, objects and bodies would be prepared to travel through a folding of space and time. Rather than considering movement as a passage from a point of departure to a point of arrival, the destination is brought to the traveler. For Māori, the relationship between past, present, and future is neither teleological nor linear—the present is molded by the past being before us, and the future is a present continuous. Transition and nonlinear time, as well as the conflation of departure, destination, and arrival, are the temporal and spatial markers of Nathan Pohio’s traveling objects: the photographic installations Raise the anchor, unfurl the sails, set course to the centre of an ever setting sun! presented in Athens and Kassel.

Pohio, who was born in 1970 into the Waitaha, Kāti Mamoe, and Ngāi Tahu tribes of the South Island of Aotearoa, New Zealand, appropriates two found photographs from 1905 that commemorate the visit of the British Governor General and his wife, Lord and Lady Plunket, to Tuahiwi. In the first, the Ngāi Tahu leaders are represented in full ceremonial dress on horseback—a reference to the traditional Ngāi Tūāhuriri pōwhiri (formal welcome ceremony)—while the representatives of the British Crown are seated in their motorcar. Shot seconds before this is the second, lesser-known photograph, which captures the assembly moving toward the marae (meeting grounds) where the pōwhiri ceremony begins—the act of getting ready for the camera, an image of transition and becoming.

These photographs were taken at a time when Ngāi Tūāhuriri were in legal dispute with the British Empire over land ownership. The image resonates with New Zealand’s colonial history and the reclaiming of land prior to and following the Treaty of Waitangi, which continues to determine Māori politics today. Pohio’s installation revolves around images signifying the hospitality and rituals of welcoming that are inherent to Māori culture. Foreigners who wish to enter Māori territory are inaugurated to the land through the pōwhiri ceremony designed to offer a clear path to mutual respect.

By displacing these images to Athens and Kassel—cities foreign to the land and the people depicted—Pohio proposes a movement from one place to another, from one time to another. As much as his installations are an entryway, welcoming people through a gesture of hospitality, the work pulls different spaces and aligned temporalities toward it.

—Hendrik Folkerts

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

The Gesture of Hospitality

with Nathan Pohio, Hendrik Folkerts, and Candice Hopkins

Nathan Pohio comments on rituals of hospitality within Māori culture and the political implications of being a host and being a guest.

 More
Calendar

Nathan Pohio

Nathan Pohio, In a Dream of 200,000,000 Horses (What Horses Teach Us. Willow Creek Press calendar 2016) (2016), Keramikpigment auf Vinyl, 82 × 318,5 × 4 cm

Es gibt eine Māori-Tradition, der zufolge Objekte und Körper bereit sind, durch eine Auffaltung von Zeit und Raum zu reisen. Bewegung wird dabei nicht als Fortbewegung zwischen Ausgangs- und Zielpunkt gesehen, vielmehr wird der Bestimmungsort zum Reisenden gebracht. Für die Māori ist die Beziehung zwischen Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft weder teleologisch noch linear: Die Gegenwart ist von den Ereignissen vor unserer Zeit geprägt, während die Zukunft als Fortsetzung der Gegenwart verstanden wird. Wandel und nicht lineare Zeitvorstellungen sind – ebenso wie das Zusammenfallen von Abreise, Zielort und Ankunft – die zeitlichen und räumlichen Markierungen für Nathan Pohios reisendes Objekt, die Fotoinstallation Raise the anchor, unfurl the sails, set course to the centre of an ever setting sun!, zu sehen in Athen und Kassel.

Pohio wurde 1970 als Mitglied der auf der Südinsel von Aotearoa/Neuseeland beheimateten Stämme Waitaha, Kāti Mamoe und Ngāi Tahu geboren. Seine aktuelle Arbeit greift auf zwei Fotografien aus dem Jahr 1905 zurück, die den britischen Generalgouverneur und seine Frau, Lord und Lady Plunket, bei einem Besuch in Tuahiwi zeigen. Auf dem ersten Bild sehen wir die Stammesführer der Ngāi Tahu hoch zu Ross und in voller Festkleidung – ein Verweis auf pōwhiri, die traditionelle, formelle Begrüßungszeremonie der Ngāi Tūāhuriri –, während die Repräsentanten der britischen Krone in ihrem Automobil sitzen. Die zweite, weniger bekannte Aufnahme entstand wenige Sekunden davor. Sie zeigt die Versammlung auf ihrem Weg zum marae (Versammlungsort), wo das Begrüßungsritual beginnt – ein Akt der Vorbereitung auf die Kamera, ein Bild des Übergangs und Werdens.

Die Fotografien stammen aus einer Zeit, als die Ngāi Tūāhuriri in einem Rechtsstreit mit dem britischen Empire lagen, in dem es um Landeigentum ging. Sie zeugen von der kolonialen Vergangenheit Neuseelands und dem Kampf um das Land vor und nach dem Vertrag von Waitangi, der die maorische Politik bis heute bestimmt. Im Zentrum von Pohios Installation stehen Bilder, die die Gastfreundschaft und Begrüßungsrituale der Māori zum Ausdruck bringen. Fremde, die Māori-Territorium betreten möchten, werden durch die Zeremonie des pōwhiri in das Land eingeführt, die einen Weg zu gegenseitigem Respekt eröffnen soll.

Pohio versetzt diese Aufnahmen nach Athen und Kassel – Städte, die dem abgebildeten Land und seinen Menschen fremd sind – und deutet damit eine Bewegung von einem Ort zum anderen an, von einer Zeitperiode in eine andere. Seine Installationen fungieren nicht nur als eine Art Eintrittspforte, indem sie die Menschen mit einer Geste der Gastfreundschaft willkommen heißen – das Werk tritt auch in Beziehung zu unterschiedlichen Räumen und den damit verbundenen Ausdrucksformen der Zeit.

— Hendrik Folkerts

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

The Gesture of Hospitality

mit Nathan Pohio, Hendrik Folkerts und Candice Hopkins

Nathan Pohio beschäftigt sich mit Ritualen der Gastfreundschaft in der Kultur der Māori und mit den politischen Konsequenzen, Gastgeber oder Gast zu sein.

 Mehr
Kalender