Arin Rungjang

Arin Rungjang, Mongkut (2015), two single-channel digital videos (color, sound, 15 min. and 14:30 min.), blueprint paper, copy of King Mongkut crown made with lacquer, gold leaf, gold silk, and synthetic stones (rubies, sapphire, emeralds, diamonds, pearls), and soapstone molds, overall installation dimensions variable, © Arin Rungjang; Jeu de Paume, Paris; Fondation Nationale des Arts Graphiques et Plastiques, Paris; CAPC musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux; Future Perfect, Singapore

When Arin Rungjang speaks about history, he uses a vocabulary associated with rumor and hearsay: history is neither fact nor uncontested. For Rungjang, who was born in Bangkok in 1975, the contention is rooted in how Thai political history is represented in his country today, both in terms of the nation-state’s relationship to colonialism and how the major ideologies of the twentieth century have been instrumentalized to perpetuate various forms of dictatorship.

Rungjang’s project titled 246247596248914102516 … And then there were none revolves around two historic sites, the Democracy Monument in Bangkok and the National Technical University in Athens. The Democracy Monument performs a dual function: while it celebrates the the Siamese victory of the 1932 democratic revolution over the absolute monarchy, the monument’s glorification of power also made it into a manifestation of military tyranny, signaling fascism and the practice of lip service to Thai democracy. The popular uprising of October 14, 1973 saw more than 400,000 people march against the military junta from Thammasat University to the Democracy Monument. To win public sympathy and support, the students based their political activities on the same foundations of legitimacy used by the military: the triumvirate of nation, religion, and monarchy, and subverted them against the junta. The uprising ushered in a period of extreme unrest and violence with the absolute monarchy’s and the military’s growing fear of communism resulting in the Thammasat University massacre on October 6, 1976.

Similarly, the already highly politicized space of the National Technical University became the nexus of the Athens Polytechnic uprising in November 1973, which sought to overthrow the military junta in Greece. Participants in the massive and bloody demonstration have intimated that their protest was inspired by the Thammasat University uprising, of which they learned through radio and oral accounts.

The elements of Rungjang’s presentation at documenta 14 are built on oral and archival materials, which highlight the complexities of ideological conflicts as well as their subjectivity and malleability in how they can be read or narrated. Both 246247596248914102516, a sculptural installation that references the numerological symbolism that shapes much of the Democracy Monument’s ideological signification, and And then there were none, a single-channel video that stages a semi-fictional account of ten students who fled Bangkok in the aftermath of the uprising, deconstruct what monuments perform, which narratives feed the nation-state, and, ultimately, the space we have agreed to call history.

—Hendrik Folkerts

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Arin Rungjang

Arin Rungjang, Mongkut (2015), Installation, zwei Einkanal-Digitalvideos (Farbe, Ton, 15 Min. und 14:30 Min.), Blaupauspapier, Kopie der Krone König Mongkuts aus Specksteinformen, Lack, Blattgold, Goldseide und synthetischen Rubinen, Saphiren, Smaragden, Diamanten und Perlen, Gesamtmaße variabel, © Arin Rungjang; Jeu de Paume, Paris; Fondation Nationale des Arts Graphiques et Plastiques, Paris; CAPC musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux; Future Perfect, Singapore

Wenn Arin Rungjang über Geschichte spricht, dann in Worten, die mit Gerüchten, mit Hörensagen zu tun haben: Geschichte ist weder Tatsache, noch ist sie unumstritten. Rungjang, 1975 in Bangkok geboren, verortet die Wurzel von Zwietracht und Streit in der Art, wie die politische Geschichte im Thailand von heute dargestellt wird – sowohl in Bezug auf das Verhältnis des Nationalstaats zum Kolonialismus als auch in der Art und Weise, wie unter-schiedliche Diktaturen die führenden Ideologien des 20. Jahrhunderts instrumentalisierten, um ihren Fortbestand zu sichern.

Sein Projekt mit dem Titel 246247596248914102516 … And then there were none ist mit zwei geschichtlich bedeutsamen Stätten verknüpft: mit dem Denkmal der Demokratie in Bangkok und der Nationalen Technischen Universität Athen. Das Bangkoker Demokratiedenkmal hat eine Doppelfunktion: Es würdigt den Sieg der demokratischen Revolution von 1932 über die absolute Monarchie und ist gleichzeitig – aufgrund seiner Machtverherrlichung – auch zum Ausdruck militärischer Gewaltherrschaft geworden, ein Symbol für Faschismus und bloße Lippenbekenntnisse zur thailändischen Demokratie. Im Volksaufstand vom 14. Oktober 1973 gingen mehr als 400.000 Menschen gegen die Militärjunta auf die Straße und marschierten von der Thammasat-Universität zum Denkmal der Demokratie. Um sich die Zustimmung und Unterstützung der Öffentlichkeit zu sichern, bedienten sich die Studierenden derselben Legitimation für ihre politischen Aktivitäten wie das Militär – Nation, Religion und Monarchie – und setzten diese als Waffe gegen die Junta selbst ein. Der Aufstand signalisierte den Beginn einer von starken Unruhen und Gewalt geprägten Epoche; die wachsende Angst der absoluten Monarchie und des Militärs vor dem Kommunismus führte am 6. Oktober 1976 schließlich zum Massaker an der Thammasat-Universität.

In ähnlicher Weise wurde der bereits hochgradig politisierte Raum des Polytechnion Athen zur Wiege des Studentenaufstands vom November 1973, der das Ziel verfolgte, die antikommunistische Junta in Griechenland zu stürzen. Wie Überlebende der Militärherrschaft und Teilnehmende an der gewaltigen, blutigen Demonstration berichteten, waren diese Proteste vom Aufstand an der Thammasat-Universität inspiriert, von dem sie aus dem Radio und durch Erzählungen erfahren hatten.

Rungjangs Präsentation für die documenta 14 basiert auf mündlichen Berichten und Archivmaterialien, die die Vielschichtigkeit von ideologischen Konflikten ebenso ausleuchten wie deren subjektive, beliebig formbare Darstellung und Interpretation. 246247596248914102516 ist eine skulpturale Installation und spielt auf die Zahlensymbolik an, der das Demokratiedenkmal einen Gutteil seiner ideologischen Bedeutung verdankt. Der Einkanal-Film And then there were none zeigt die halbfiktive Erzählung von zehn Studierenden, die in den Nachwehen des Aufstands aus Bangkok flohen. Beide Projekte dekonstruieren die Wirkung von Denkmalen, die dem Nationalstaat zugrunde liegenden Narrative sowie letztendlich den Raum, den wir, einer gemeinsamen Übereinkunft folgend, Geschichte nennen.

— Hendrik Folkerts

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook