Piotr Uklański

Pages from “The Problem of Greece: Germany and Greece—What Was and What Is to Be?,” Signal, no. 12 (June 2, 1941)

In 1711, in an essay for The Spectator, Joseph Addison defined wordplay as a “kind of false wit,” a petulant “jingle of words … comprehended under the general name of Punning.” The fraudulence of this kind of repartee was proven by the sonic emptiness of “a Punn”: housed in a weak shell of meaning, it appeals only to “Mob Readers” who “prefer a Quibble, a Conceit, an Epigram, before solid Sense and elegant Expression.”

It took a century and a half for the visual avant-garde to wean itself from these disparagements—beginning in (the opposite of) earnest in the Symbolist milieu in Paris during the 1880s, when a cadre of witty literati grafted verbal punning to various visual declensions, best elucidated in the quip-filled catalogues produced for exhibitions of Jules Levy’s Arts incohérents beginning in 1883.

Piotr Uklański, born in Warsaw in 1968, is heir to the underbelly of this lineage, which, in the spirit of Tristan Tzara’s “acoustic discs”—rather than Marcel Duchamp’s obsessive spirals and repetitions or Robert Smithson’s word piles—keeps dissolution and commonality in touching distance.

We find it in Uklański’s ski-jumping team, “Boltanski … Polanski … Uklanski” rendered on T-shirts, in gallery office graffiti, and cohabiting with religious paraphernalia in Polmart (2007). Pre-ski, it’s just the first names—Christian, Roman, Piotr—unfurled as a banner a decade ago. A religion, an empire, and … what? … something that Peters out?

Its humour noir can be found in The Nazis (1999), a leporello of masculinist fantasies, postures saturated with vampiric mastery and homoerotic insignia fetishism—a rogue’s gallery of Wehrmacht and Schutzstaffel officers inhabited by a Who’s Who of lionized leading men, from Marlon Brando to Michael Caine.

Its joie de vivre arrived with The Joy of Photography (1997–2007), a festival of technical can-do-ery, like a photographic variant of paint-by-numbers, in which the how-to manual expands into the high art domain, and amateur enunciation is cross-fertilized by commercial imperative. The trans-generic waterfalls and sunsets in this series strike back against the documentary or diaristic denomination of recent photography. Images are grown and harvested within the technical penumbra of the photographic apparatus as set out by one of its leading corporate administrators.

And yet in that “joy,” a kernel of catharsis is still tethered to the release of humor. For it was the cathartic discharge of affect that Freud located at the heart of the social functionality of the joke.

—John C. Welchman

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Piotr Uklański

„Das Problem Griechenlands: Deutschland und Griechenland – was war und was soll sein?“, aus der Zeitschrift Signal, 12, 2. Juni 1941

Im Jahr 1711 bezeichnete der englische Dichter Joseph Addison in einem Essay für die Zeitung The Spectator die rhetorische Figur des Wortspiels als falschen Witz, als bockiges Wortgeklingel. Die Unredlichkeit dieser Art von Schlagfertigkeit spiegle sich bereits in ihrer klanglichen Leere: In einer kraftlosen Bedeutungshülse steckend, spreche das Wortspiel ausschließlich anspruchslose und vulgäre Leser an, die Spitzfindigkeiten, Manierismen und Epigramme gediegener Vernunft und elegantem Ausdruck vorzögen.

Es sollte eineinhalb Jahrhunderte dauern, bis sich die visuelle Avantgarde von dieser abschätzigen Haltung befreien konnte. Erste (ganz und gar nicht) ernst gemeinte Versuche wurzeln im Umfeld des Symbolismus im Paris der 1880er Jahre, als eine Gruppe geistreicher Literaten Wortspiele für allerlei visuelle Spielereien ersann. Dies illustrieren insbesondere die ab 1883 produzierten Ausstellungskataloge zu Jules Lévys Arts incohérents, die voll scharfsinniger Bemerkungen stecken.

Piotr Uklański, 1968 in Warschau geboren, versteht sich als Erbe einer dunklen Spielart dieser Tradition, die – nicht so sehr im Sinne von Marcel Duchamps obsessiven Spiralen und Wiederholungen oder Robert Smithsons Wortanhäufungen, sondern angelehnt an Tristan Tzaras „akustische Diskusse“ – auf Tuchfühlung bleibt mit dem Gewöhnlichen, Zersetzenden.

Dies zeigt sich in Form von Uklańskis Skispringerteam („Boltanski ... Polanski … Uklanski“), auf T-Shirts, als Graffiti in Galerieräumen und zusammen mit religiösen Paraphernalien in Polmart (2007). Avant-Ski beschränkt sich der Künstler auf Vornamen (Christian, Roman, Piotr), entrollt vor einem Jahrzehnt auf einem Transparent. Eine Religion, ein Imperium und … was? ... etwas, das zu Ende geht?

Dieser humour noir findet sich auch in The Nazis (1999), einem Leporello maskuliner Fantasien und Posen, getränkt mit vampirhafter Dominanz und fetischhaften homoerotischen Insignien – ein Verbrecheralbum der Wehrmachts- und SS-Offiziere, bestehend aus einem Who’s who berühmter Hauptdarsteller, von Marlon Brando bis hin zu Michael Caine.

Lebensfreude hingegen spricht aus The Joy of Photography (1997–2007), das die Möglichkeiten des technisch Machbaren auskostet – ähnlich einer fotografischen Variante des Malens nach Zahlen, in der sich ein Handbuch in die Sphäre der hohen Kunst aufschwingt und wo sich amateurhafte Ausdrucksformen und ökonomischer Imperativ gegenseitig befruchten. Die transgenerischen Wasserfälle und Sonnenuntergänge dieser Serie rebellieren gegen die dokumentarische, tagebuchartige Ausrichtung der aktuellen Fotografie. Hier werden Bilder, nach den Anleitungen eines führenden kommerziellen Vertreters des Genres, in der technischen Peripherie des fotografischen Apparats kultiviert und geerntet.

Und dennoch ist in dieser Lebensfreude der Humor an einen kathartischen Kern gebunden – lag doch für Freud in der kathartischen Entladung von Gefühlen die wichtigste soziale Funktion des Witzes.

— John C. Welchman

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook