Douglas Gordon

Douglas Gordon, I had nowhere to go (2016), Super 8 film and video transferred to digital video, color and black, sound, 97 min., © Studio lost but found/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy Douglas Gordon; olddognewtricks GmbH, Berlin; moneypenny filmproduktion GmbH, Berlin

Douglas Gordon’s I had nowhere to go (2016) is a ninety-seven minute film/projected image installation, in which experimental filmmaker Jonas Mekas is heard via voice-over reading passages from his 1991 autobiography of the same title, while his image intermittently appears out of the dark blankness that the black screen of the work is governed by. The work shows almost nothing. Yet in doing so, the film brings Gordon’s previous interventions in cinematic history and materiality to a new point.

Gordon is known for redefining expectations for the moving image and the relationship between sound, text, image, and the human portrait; consider, for example, 24 Hour Psycho (1993), his video installation that stretched the duration of Hitchcock’s Psycho (1960) from 109 minutes to twenty-four hours by projecting two frames per second instead of twenty-four. By contrast, telling the story of Mekas, the founder of Anthology Film Archives, in New York, means to reflect on the history of avant-garde cinema in which Mekas is a key figure, and introduce Gordon’s own aesthetic decisions to its imperatives—the rejection of linear narrative, persistent sound/image correspondence, suppressing the darkness that lies between the frames. As such, the work reflects the historical position of Gordon’s own oeuvre.

In historical terms, the diaristic passages read in the film describe Mekas’s life as a teenager in occupied Lithuania during World War II. Focusing on the memory of the war as told by a bodiless voice enables Gordon’s work to raise the question regarding the (un)representability of the catastrophe of the war, and furthermore, to participate in the cinematic discussion initiated by Claude Lanzmann’s 1985 film Shoah, which avoided using archival images of World War II in favor of spoken testimonies. Gordon, born in 1966 in Glasgow, and now living in Berlin and Glasgow, indeed turns spoken testimony into a definitive nonimage, while the few visual sequences that the work includes demonstrates its disobedience of the distinction between information and aesthetics.

Following Gordon’s (and Philippe Parreno’s) Zidane: A 21st Century Portrait (2006), I had nowhere to go also continues the artist’s practice as an innovative, and to some extent iconoclastic, portraitist. Yet, while Zidane dismantled the persona by means of over-visibility, Gordon’s current film portrait does so by means of under-visibility, which not only obscures appearance on the screen but also questions the viewer’s sense of self and integrity, rendering the differences between history and phenomenology, selfhood and otherness, indiscernible.

—Ory Dessau

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

I had nowhere to go

with Douglas Gordon
Calendar

I had nowhere to go

by Douglas Gordon

Douglas Gordon’s I had nowhere to go (2016) draws from the diaries of Jonas Mekas. Only a few images are shown in the film. Instead, Mekas’s voice recounting his daily life as a young immigrant fills…

 More
Calendar

Douglas Gordon

Douglas Gordon, I Had Nowhere to Go: A Portrait of a Displaced Person (2016), Super-8-Film und Video überspielt auf Digitalvideo, Farbe und schwarz, Ton, 97 min, © Studio lost but found/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, courtesy Douglas Gordon; olddognewtricks GmbH, Berlin; moneypenny filmproduktion GmbH, Berlin

Douglas Gordon, I Had Nowhere to Go: A Portrait of a Displaced Person, 2016, digitales Video übertragen von Super-8-Film und Video, Installationsansicht, Städtisches Kino Stella, Athens, © Douglas Gordon/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, documenta 14, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Douglas Gordon, I Had Nowhere to Go: A Portrait of a Displaced Person, 2016, digitales Video übertragen von Super-8-Film und Video, Cinestar, Kassel, © Douglas Gordon/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, documenta 14, Foto: Mathias Völzke

Douglas Gordons Installation I had nowhere to go (2016) besteht aus einem 97-minütigen Film beziehungsweise einer Bildprojektion, in der via Voiceover die Stimme des experimentellen Filmemachers Jonas Mekas zu hören ist, der Ausschnitte aus seiner 1991 erschienenen gleichnamigen Autobiografie vorliest. Das Bild des Künstlers taucht dabei nur sporadisch aus der leeren Düsternis des schwarzen Bildschirms auf. Diese Arbeit zeigt nahezu nichts und hebt Gordons bisherige Interventionen in die Geschichte und Materialität der Filmkunst dennoch auf eine neue Stufe.

Gordon, 1966 in Glasgow geboren und heute in Glasgow und Berlin lebend, ist bekannt dafür, Erwartungen an das bewegte Bild ebenso einer Neudefinition zu unterziehen wie die Beziehung zwischen Ton, Text, Bild und Porträt. Man denke etwa an die Videoinstallation 24 Hour Psycho (1993), in der Hitchcocks Psycho (1960) durch die Projektion von zwei statt 24 Einzelbildern pro Sekunde von 109 Minuten auf 24 Stunden ausgedehnt wird. Die Geschichte von Jonas Mekas wiederum, Gründer des Anthology Film Archives in New York und zentrale Figur des Avantgarde-Kinos, erlaubt es dem Künstler, über die Entwicklung dieser Kunstform nachzudenken und ihre Gesetze durch eigene ästhetische Entscheidungen zu überformen – indem er sich einem linearen Narrativ ebenso verweigert wie einer konsequenten Ton-Bild-Entsprechung, die das Dunkel zwischen zwei Einzelbildern negiert. Dementsprechend ist I had nowhere to go auch als Auseinandersetzung mit der historischen Position von Gordons eigenem Œuvre zu verstehen.

In historischer Hinsicht beschreiben die im Film vorgelesenen, tagebuchartigen Passagen Mekas’ Leben als Teenager im besetzten Litauen des Zweiten Weltkriegs. Der Fokus auf die von einer körperlosen Stimme vorgetragenen Kriegserinnerungen ermöglicht es Gordon, über die Darstellbarkeit oder Nichtdarstellbarkeit derartiger Katastrophen zu reflektieren. Damit klinkt er sich aber auch in eine filmkünstlerische Auseinandersetzung ein, die auf Claude Lanzmanns Film Shoah (1985) zurückgeht, der gesprochene Zeugenaussagen den Archivbildern des Zweiten Weltkriegs vorzog. Tatsächlich wird das mündliche Zeugnis bei Gordon definitiv zum Nichtbild; die wenigen visuellen Sequenzen seiner Arbeit hingegen verweigern sich einer Unterscheidung zwischen Information und Ästhetik.

In Anlehnung an Gordons (und Philippe Parrenos) Zidane: A 21st Century Portrait (2006) führt I had nowhere to go auch die innovative und in gewisser Hinsicht ikonoklastische Arbeit des Künstlers als Porträtist fort. Während Zidane jedoch auf eine Dekonstruktion der Persona mittels Hypervisualisierung setzt, erzielt Gordons aktuelles Filmporträt denselben Effekt durch das genaue Gegenteil. Dieses fehlende Sichtbarwerden verdunkelt jedoch nicht nur den Bildschirm. Es hinterfragt auch die Selbst- und Integritätsvorstellungen der Betrachter_innen und bringt den Unterschied zwischen Geschichte und Phänomenologie, Selbstsein und Anderssein zum Verschwinden.

— Ory Dessau

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

documenta 14 Filmprogramm tägliche Vorführungen – Freitags

mit Manthia Diawara, Douglas Gordon, Narimane Mari, Jonas Mekas, David Perlov und Wang Bing

10 Uhr

Wu ming zhe (Mann ohne Namen), Wang Bing, Hongkong (VR China), 2010, 92 Min., Mandarin mit englischen Untertiteln, Gloria Kino

Old Aunt China, David Perlov, Frankreich, 1957, 12 Min., Englisch…

 Mehr
Kalender

documenta 14 Filmprogramm tägliche Vorführungen – Donnerstags

mit Manthia Diawara, Douglas Gordon, Narimane Mari, Jonas Mekas, David Perlov und Wang Bing

10 Uhr

Fu yu zi (Vater und Söhne), Wang Bing, Hongkong (VR China)/Frankreich, 2014, 97 Min., Mandarin mit englischen Untertiteln, Gloria Kino

Old Aunt China, David Perlov, Frankreich, 1957, 12 Min., Englisch…

 Mehr
Kalender

documenta 14 Filmprogramm tägliche Vorführungen – Mittwochs

mit Manthia Diawara, Douglas Gordon, Narimane Mari, Jonas Mekas, David Perlov und Wang Bing

10 Uhr

Tong dao (Kohlegeld), Wang Bing, Hongkong (VR China)/Frankreich, 2009, 52 Min., Mandarin mit englischen Untertiteln, Gloria Kino

Old Aunt China, David Perlov, Frankreich, 1957, 12 Min., Englisch…

 Mehr
Kalender

documenta 14 Filmprogramm tägliche Vorführungen – Dienstags

mit Manthia Diawara, Douglas Gordon, Narimane Mari, Jonas Mekas, David Perlov und Wang Bing

10 Uhr

He Fengming, Wang Bing, Hongkong (VR China), 2007, 184 Min., Mandarin mit englischen Untertiteln, Gloria Kino

Old Aunt China, David Perlov, Frankreich, 1957, 12 Min., Englisch, BALi-Kinos
Reminiszenzen…

 Mehr
Kalender

documenta 14 Filmprogramm tägliche Vorführungen – Montags

mit Manthia Diawara, Douglas Gordon, Narimane Mari, Jonas Mekas, David Perlov und Wang Bing

10 Uhr

Tie Xi Qu (Westlich der Gleise), Teil I: Rost, Wang Bing, VR China, 2003, 240 Min., Mandarin mit englischen Untertiteln, Gloria-Kino

Old Aunt China, David Perlov, Frankreich, 1957, 12 Min., Englisch…

 Mehr
Kalender

documenta 14 Filmprogramm tägliche Vorführungen – Sonntags

mit Manthia Diawara, Douglas Gordon, Narimane Mari, Jonas Mekas, David Perlov und Wang Bing

10 Uhr

Feng ai (Bis dass der Wahnsinn uns scheidet), Wang Bing, Hongkong (VR China)/Frankreich/Japan, 2013, 227 Min., Mandarin mit englischen Untertiteln, Gloria-Kino

Old Aunt China, David Perlov, Frankreich…

 Mehr
Kalender