Mattin

Mattin, Performance, N. K. Projekt, Berlin, September 6, 2015, Anti-Copyright, photo: Glen Schena

In the desire to explore noise and improvisation in social and political terms, Mattin, along with publishing books, sets up situations for the “exhibition as concert.” This took form, for example, as an improvised concert lasting for two months at the CAC Brétigny in 2010. Thoughts on the exhibition:

Going through different degrees of intensity, nothing has remained static; the production and reception took place simultaneously. By collapsing formats, the potential different usages of the noun noise have been explored, rather than simply perpetuating noise as a musical genre. Playing with different levels of visibility and invisibility, some activities were more formal than others. Interventions by different people took on different forms. A continuously generated performance program, an open invitation to improvise with the material conditions of the exhibition.

Historically, noise—in its many forms—has disrupted established codes, orders, discourses, habits and expectations, aesthetics and moralities. Noise has the potential to exceed the logic of framing, by either being too much, too complex, too dense and difficult to decode, or too chaotic to be measured. On first encounter, noise has the power to suspend values of judgment, such as good or bad, right or wrong—to think of it in moral or ethical terms seems ridiculous. With its epistemic violence, noise brings into crisis the division between activity and passivity, between knowing and feeling. In this awareness and in our incapacity to decipher it, noise exposes our alienated condition and questions our own subjective position. Could it be then that the practice of noise and of improvisation may help us to understand or even counter the level of commodification that our lives have reached? Can we use noise as a form of praxis going beyond established audience/performer relationships? Can we push self-reflexivity to the point of positive feedback?

Mattin, born in 1977 in Bilbao, is an artist whose work responds to the social and economic conditions of experimental music production through live performance, recordings, and writings. Throughout, he investigates the parameters of improvisation, notably the notion of freedom, to test the genre’s very conventions, to make noise. For Mattin, improvisation does not merely entail an interaction between musicians and their instruments but recognizes all the other elements that make up a concert situation. He performs to provoke and to politicize the relations between the active player and the passive audience, transgressing what is understood to be the body of the audience itself, disrupting and constructing its terms anew.

—Pierre Bal-Blanc

Anti-Copyright

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Social Dissonance

by Mattin with Dafni Krazoudi, Danai Liodaki, Ioannis Sarris, and Eleni Zervou

Social Dissonance Score:

Listen carefully.

The audience is your instrument, play it in order to practically understand how we are generally instrumentalized.

Prepare the audience with concepts, questions…

 More
Calendar

Social Dissonance

by Mattin with Dafni Krazoudi, Danai Liodaki, Ioannis Sarris, and Eleni Zervou

Social Dissonance Score:

Listen carefully.

The audience is your instrument, play it in order to practically understand how we are generally instrumentalized.

Prepare the audience with concepts, questions…

 More
Calendar

Mattin

Mattin, Performance, N.K. Projekt, Berlin, 6. September 2015, Anti-Copyrechts, Foto: Glen Schena

Getrieben vom Wunsch, die sozialen und politischen Aspekte von Noise und Improvisation zu untersuchen, publiziert Mattin Bücher und gestaltet Situationen, in denen die „Ausstellung als Konzert“ konzipiert ist. So etwa 2010 in Form eines improvisierten Konzerts im CAC Brétigny, das sich über zwei Monate erstreckte. Gedanken zur Ausstellung:

Der Grad an Intensität variierte, nichts blieb statisch; Produktion und Rezeption fanden gleichzeitig statt. Formate wurden gesprengt, um die unterschiedlichen Verwendungsmöglichkeiten des Wortes noise zu analysieren, statt einfach nur Noise als Musikrichtung weiterzuspinnen. Im Spiel mit verschiedenen Ebenen der Sichtbarkeit und Unsichtbarkeit gestalteten sich manche Aktivitäten formeller als andere. Interventionen von unterschiedlichen Personen nehmen unterschiedliche Formen an. Ein kontinuierlich generiertes Performance-Programm, eine offene Einladung, mit den grundlegenden Bedingungen der Ausstellung zu improvisieren …

Historisch gesehen hat Noise etablierte Codes, Ordnungen, Diskurse, Gewohnheiten und Erwartungen, Ästhetiken und Ethiken durchkreuzt. Er hat das Potenzial, die Logik festgefügter Vorstellungen hinter sich zu lassen: zu viel, zu komplex, zu dicht und kompliziert für Dechiffrierungen, zu chaotisch für Vermessungen. Noise kann bei jenen, die das erste Mal mit ihm in Berührung kommen, Maßstäbe wie gut oder schlecht, richtig oder falsch außer Kraft setzen – ihn nach moralischen oder ethischen Kriterien zu messen, erscheint lächerlich. Mit seiner epistemischen Gewalt bringt er die Unterscheidung zwischen aktiv und passiv, zwischen Wissen und Fühlen ins Wanken. Angesichts dieses Bewusstseins und unserer Unfähigkeit ihn zu entschlüsseln, entlarvt Noise unseren Zustand der Entfremdung und stellt unsere Position als Subjekt infrage. Könnte das Praktizieren von Noise und Improvisation also dazu beitragen, das Ausmaß der Kommodifizierung unseres Lebens zu verstehen oder gar einzudämmen? Können wir Noise nutzen, um althergebrachte Beziehungen zwischen Publikum und Performer_in zu überwinden? Können wir Prozesse der Selbstreferenzialität so weit forcieren, dass positives Feedback entsteht?

Mattin, geboren 1977 in Bilbao, setzt sich mit den sozialen und ökonomischen Bedingungen experimenteller Musik auseinander: in Form von Live-Performances, Aufnahmen und Texten. Stets erforscht er die Parameter der Improvisation – insbesondere die Idee der Freiheit –, um die Konventionen dieses Genres auszutesten. Für Mattin ist Improvisation nicht auf das Wechselspiel zwischen Musiker_innen und Instrumenten beschränkt, sondern berücksichtigt sämtliche Elemente einer Konzertsituation. Er hinterfragt und politisiert das Verhältnis zwischen aktivem Darsteller und passivem Zuhörer. Dabei unterminiert er unsere Vorstellungen über das Wesen des Publikums selbst und dekonstruiert dessen Bedingungen beziehungsweise gestaltet sie neu.

— Pierre Bal-Blanc

Anti-Copyright

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Social Dissonance

von Mattin mit Dafni Krazoudi, Danai Liodaki, Ioannis Sarris und Eleni Zervou

Social Dissonance Score:

Hör genau zu.

Das Publikum ist dein Instrument: spiel es, um praktisch zu verstehen, wie wir allgemein instrumentalisiert werden.

Präpariere das Publikum mit Konzepten, Fragen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Social Dissonance

von Mattin mit Dafni Krazoudi, Danai Liodaki, Ioannis Sarris und Eleni Zervou

Social Dissonance Score:

Hör genau zu.

Das Publikum ist dein Instrument: spiel es, um praktisch zu verstehen, wie wir allgemein instrumentalisiert werden.

Präpariere das Publikum mit Konzepten, Fragen…

 Mehr
Kalender